We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not enough seats in the waiting and refreshment areas.”

Bord Gais Energy Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$53.95*
and up
Dublin Dinner Cruise by Guinness Barge
Ranked #37 of 530 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Bord Gáis Energy Theatre raised its first curtain on March 18, 2010 and has since been presenting world class performances to almost 2 million audience members from across Ireland and the world. With a diverse repertoire of genres ranging from musicals to folk concerts and from opera to ballet, coming to the theatre allows you an escape. You can get to a Broadway or West End theatre, Russian ballet or German opera, all from just a few minutes away from home. In an iconic building, designed by renowned architect Daniel Libeskind, the theatre is a pinnacle of entertainment in the heart of Dublin’s city centre. Home to the Circle Club, the theatre provides for those who wan to experience a little bit more during their theatrical experience. Here is a place to relax and enjoy the performance while taking in the magnificent views of Grand Canal Basin, food, and friends.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not enough seats in the waiting and refreshment areas.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Along with many places in Ireland, there seems to be an assumption that all patrons are young and able-bodied. I know that having people stand is a way of maximizing sales to floor space - but if you pretend to be a premier entertainment outlet, you should cater for families and the disabled. Shame on the management.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tim_mcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    140
    25
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place for plays”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have been here several times and always enjoyed it. The theatre is quite large and has comfortable seating and the view is excellent no matter where you are sitting. I have seen several musicals including Wicked and Singing in the Rain, as well as performances of The Nutcracker, and I was not disappointed with any of them. Each performance completely transforms the stage.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank S_M_L6776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great venue”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The most modern theatre venue in Ireland, with perfect views no matter where you sit! I always look forward to seeing shows there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LuvToTravelAndEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry, england
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heartbeat of Home”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Great venue, seating very comfortable, we had a fab view of the stage, really good acoustics, drinks were ok in terms of price, modern, well organised theatre in a great location.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank littlepatsy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
209 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Great venue”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I just attended my first show at the Bord Gais and it is an amazing venue.
We had seats three rows from the front, but it didn't seem to matter where you sat as the views were good from all angles.
We walked from the town centre and back with no problems, but there was ample parking and plenty of taxis available after the show as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bannergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bord Gais Energy Theatre also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Bord Gais Energy Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing