We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding experience (and fun)”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sceal Eile

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Bathroom Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Living Room
Bathroom
Living Room
Living Room
Moving down the Central Line
Living Room
Bathroom
Living Room
Bathroom
Living Room
The Marina photo by C.Nolan
Living Room
Bathroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Sceal Eile Cruising down the Central Line
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Four Person Bedroom
Kitchen
The Four Person Bedroom
Kitchen
The Building
The Building
The Four Person Bedroom
The Building
Kitchen
The Four Person Bedroom
The Building
The Four Person Bedroom
Kitchen
The Four Person Bedroom
bath and shower
The Four Person Bedroom
Living Room
Bathroom
Bathroom
Living Room
Bathroom
Paddle Boarding in the Outer Basin
Bathroom
The Building
Living Room
The Building
bathroom
Living Room
The Four Person Bedroom
sofabed
The Four Person Bedroom
Living Room
The Building
Moorhen Nesting on The Grand Canal
The Building
Living Room
The Building
The Four Person Bedroom
Waterfront Cafe
The Building
Living Room
The Building
Bolands Mill
The Building
Living Room
The Building
The Four Person Bedroom
The Four Person Bedroom
Bord Gais Energy Theatre
The Four Person Bedroom
Lock 3
The Four Person Bedroom
The Four Person Bedroom
The Four Person Bedroom
Scéal Eile moored in the Marina
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dublin, County Dublin

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Jos D
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience (and fun)”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This was one of the most memorable stays that we have had.
We were looking for an apartment in Dublin and my father jokingly sent this through to me, and now so glad he did.
As part of the deal you get one hours boating instruction with the owners, Trish and Mike, and get to practice turns, reversing, mooring, and finally, doing donuts with a 17 tonne barge. After the instructions you can then go cruising up the Grand Canal. And importantly, we didn't hit anything.
The barge is newly furnished, and well equipped. Upon arrival, there was basic food supplies, milk, a selection of fresh muffins, and a bottle of wine.
This was a fantastic experience and could not recommend highly enough!
This

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A completely new experience
Liked least: Using Booking.com, which complicated the booking and paying process
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol E
Racine, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun and different place to stay in Dublin, loved it!”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Had stayed on a barge in Paris a few years ago, so we were thrilled to find out that there was a barge to rent in Dublin. Reservations and communications with Trish were smooth with fast response.

Traveled with my husband and two daughters, 17 and 25, and we all found the barge to be better than we dreamed. It is a beautiful vessel, with everything you will need. We took a taxi from the airport, Trish met us at the Waterways Visitor Centre and explained how to use everything (and even had some special treats waiting for us).

It is close to a grocers, coffee shops, bakery and restaurants. We walked every day to Trinity College area, (about 15 minutes) and toured from there, so the location is nice. The beds were very comfortable with fluffy linens. We had a king bed, which is rare and the girls were in the same room in bunk beds. There also is a fold out futon/couch in the main room, too. We made a fire the first night as it was chilly and it kept us warm until morning.

We only stayed for 2 nights, so did not take the barge out to cruise, so we will have to return someday to try that. Wish we could have stayed longer! Thanks again, Trish and Mick.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it is such a unique place to stay in Dublin, as well as the pride and care of the owners.
Liked least: Not a thing.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniellem...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A totally different way to see dublin”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed onboard the barge with our 12week old baby and found it very homely and spacious enough for all the things brought with having a young baby. Trish and her partner were very helpful throughout the booking process and also when we wanted to take the barge out they were brilliant teachers and filled us with confidence enough so that we took the barge out through a few of the locks ourselves. We could not recommend this holiday any more highly. If you are looking for something a bit different in Dublin this is definitely a stay for you!

Date of stay: June 2013
Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We only wish we could have stayed longer!!”
Reviewed 27 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This barge is like staying in your own B&B, only better. It is comfortable, in an ideal location in Dublin and the owners (and their two girls) are wonderful. They went out of their way to provide us with information before and during our stay. We wanted to travel around Dublin using public transportation and the barge is situated within a couple minutes walk of several buses and the light rail train. An added "plus" is the hospitality shown by the other barge owners in the Marina who went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.
The barge has a complete kitchen, a coal stove (for those cool Irish nights) and an incredibly comfortable king-sized bed.
We have traveled extensively throughout the US, Europe and Asia; this is one of the finest accommodations that we have ever found. We're already beginning to plan a return trip with our 2 grandchildren.
Our opinion is the you can't go wrong in booking this barge.

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The is so unique and outdoes your 'typical' hotel room in every way
Liked least: There was nothing that we didn't like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chartolle
Meux, France
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in April 2016
Google Translation

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olivierp1...
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Vie à bord
Liked least: Le mauvais temps : pas de possibilité de navigation
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.