We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Barge Holiday!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sceal Eile

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Bathroom Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Living Room
Bathroom
Living Room
Living Room
Moving down the Central Line
Living Room
Bathroom
Living Room
Bathroom
Living Room
The Marina photo by C.Nolan
Living Room
Bathroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Sceal Eile Cruising down the Central Line
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Four Person Bedroom
Kitchen
The Four Person Bedroom
Kitchen
The Building
The Building
The Four Person Bedroom
The Building
Kitchen
The Four Person Bedroom
The Building
The Four Person Bedroom
Kitchen
The Four Person Bedroom
bath and shower
The Four Person Bedroom
Living Room
Bathroom
Bathroom
Living Room
Bathroom
Paddle Boarding in the Outer Basin
Bathroom
The Building
Living Room
The Building
bathroom
Living Room
The Four Person Bedroom
sofabed
The Four Person Bedroom
Living Room
The Building
Moorhen Nesting on The Grand Canal
The Building
Living Room
The Building
The Four Person Bedroom
Waterfront Cafe
The Building
Living Room
The Building
Bolands Mill
The Building
Living Room
The Building
The Four Person Bedroom
The Four Person Bedroom
Bord Gais Energy Theatre
The Four Person Bedroom
Lock 3
The Four Person Bedroom
The Four Person Bedroom
The Four Person Bedroom
Scéal Eile moored in the Marina
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dublin, County Dublin

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
NatalieDo...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Amazing Barge Holiday!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I, along with my parents stayed on the "Sceal Elie" from 12th-14th July 2013 and what an excellent time we had both staying on the barge and getting the opportunity to experience the 7 locks.

We arrived and met with Trish, who owns the barge along with her husband Mick, on a beautiful sunny day on 12th July and Trish introduced us to the wonderful barge. Once we met the lovely Trish and saw the level of standard for your comfort whilst staying on the barge we knew this was going to be an amazing experience and a lovely family holiday. Trish showed us everything we needed to know about the barge and how all the facilities worked and they really have thought of everything. The barge was like a home from home experience and anything you needed Trish and Mick had already thought of it.

The living area was lovely with a wood burning stove which would be really cosy in the winter but we were very lucky with the weather in that the sun shone for the entire weekend and the heat was scorching, so we had no need for the stove. There is also a sofabed (which my husband and I slept on as the bunk beds and double bed are both in the same bedroom) which is very comfortable as well as a tv, dvd player with dvds, radio, board games, wifi, laptop cables, etc, etc. The kitchen was fully equiped with a full gas cooker and fridge. The only thing we missed was an ice box within the fridge but honestly they have thought of everything else and it is a little unreasonable to moan about having no ice box.

The bathroom was lovely with a corner bath/shower and fully working toilet, no problems here.

The bedroom was very nice with a lovely risen double bed and bunk beds that would be suitable for children if staying as a family. There was also wardrobe hanging space in the bedroom.

We expected to eat out for all meals but we were so impressed with the barge, scenery and facilities we cooked steaks one of the nights and ate them on the deck of the barge in the sunshine, it was the nicest meal of the holiday even though we also ate in some lovely restaurants.

On Saturday 13th July my husband (the skipper) received the hour long lesson from Trish and Mick on how to operate the barge, and despite some nerves and feeling a little overwelmed at the 17 and a half ton monster he would be steering he soon got the hang of it and Trish and Mick made sure that he was completely comfortable before leaving us to it after the first lock. Stephen the lockkeeper as an interesting character and we have to admit we were not impressed at first with his manner and impatience but we soon won him around and by the time we were coming back through the locks we had had some nice chats with him and he got a nice tip at the end. We chose to do the maximum 7 locks from Grand Canal to Portobello and back, Going through the locks was an amazing experience and it was lovely that so many people stopped and waved, took photos and videos and generally seemed interested that these locks are being used again. The barge was pretty easy to negotiate through the locks and we got better and better at it with each lock and by the time we were on our way back to dock we were very comfortable and enjoying the experience a lot better. We had dreaded coming back through the very narrow bridge to get back into the dock but we literally sailed through effortlessly and we were extremely proud of my husband's skills which he had picked up quite quickly. It was a relief to get the barge moored and secured afterwards but we would definitely like to experience this again and do even more locks. We would also book this barge again merely for accommodation purposes as the location is very good and it is a very relaxing and laid back type of holiday and good for the soul.

All in all, the accommodation and barge/locks experience was faultless and this is a credit to Trish and Mick,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Experiencing the locks on Grand Canal
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jos D
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience (and fun)”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This was one of the most memorable stays that we have had.
We were looking for an apartment in Dublin and my father jokingly sent this through to me, and now so glad he did.
As part of the deal you get one hours boating instruction with the owners, Trish and Mike, and get to practice turns, reversing, mooring, and finally, doing donuts with a 17 tonne barge. After the instructions you can then go cruising up the Grand Canal. And importantly, we didn't hit anything.
The barge is newly furnished, and well equipped. Upon arrival, there was basic food supplies, milk, a selection of fresh muffins, and a bottle of wine.
This was a fantastic experience and could not recommend highly enough!
This

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A completely new experience
Liked least: Using Booking.com, which complicated the booking and paying process
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol E
Racine, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun and different place to stay in Dublin, loved it!”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Had stayed on a barge in Paris a few years ago, so we were thrilled to find out that there was a barge to rent in Dublin. Reservations and communications with Trish were smooth with fast response.

Traveled with my husband and two daughters, 17 and 25, and we all found the barge to be better than we dreamed. It is a beautiful vessel, with everything you will need. We took a taxi from the airport, Trish met us at the Waterways Visitor Centre and explained how to use everything (and even had some special treats waiting for us).

It is close to a grocers, coffee shops, bakery and restaurants. We walked every day to Trinity College area, (about 15 minutes) and toured from there, so the location is nice. The beds were very comfortable with fluffy linens. We had a king bed, which is rare and the girls were in the same room in bunk beds. There also is a fold out futon/couch in the main room, too. We made a fire the first night as it was chilly and it kept us warm until morning.

We only stayed for 2 nights, so did not take the barge out to cruise, so we will have to return someday to try that. Wish we could have stayed longer! Thanks again, Trish and Mick.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it is such a unique place to stay in Dublin, as well as the pride and care of the owners.
Liked least: Not a thing.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniellem...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A totally different way to see dublin”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed onboard the barge with our 12week old baby and found it very homely and spacious enough for all the things brought with having a young baby. Trish and her partner were very helpful throughout the booking process and also when we wanted to take the barge out they were brilliant teachers and filled us with confidence enough so that we took the barge out through a few of the locks ourselves. We could not recommend this holiday any more highly. If you are looking for something a bit different in Dublin this is definitely a stay for you!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We only wish we could have stayed longer!!”
Reviewed 27 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This barge is like staying in your own B&B, only better. It is comfortable, in an ideal location in Dublin and the owners (and their two girls) are wonderful. They went out of their way to provide us with information before and during our stay. We wanted to travel around Dublin using public transportation and the barge is situated within a couple minutes walk of several buses and the light rail train. An added "plus" is the hospitality shown by the other barge owners in the Marina who went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.
The barge has a complete kitchen, a coal stove (for those cool Irish nights) and an incredibly comfortable king-sized bed.
We have traveled extensively throughout the US, Europe and Asia; this is one of the finest accommodations that we have ever found. We're already beginning to plan a return trip with our 2 grandchildren.
Our opinion is the you can't go wrong in booking this barge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The is so unique and outdoes your 'typical' hotel room in every way
Liked least: There was nothing that we didn't like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chartolle
Meux, France
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in April 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olivierp1...
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Vie à bord
Liked least: Le mauvais temps : pas de possibilité de navigation
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing