We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exciting stay - wonderful experience!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sceal Eile

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Bathroom Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Living Room
Bathroom
Living Room
Living Room
Moving down the Central Line
Living Room
Bathroom
Living Room
Bathroom
Living Room
The Marina photo by C.Nolan
Living Room
Bathroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Sceal Eile Cruising down the Central Line
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Four Person Bedroom
Kitchen
The Four Person Bedroom
Kitchen
The Building
The Building
The Four Person Bedroom
The Building
Kitchen
The Four Person Bedroom
The Building
The Four Person Bedroom
Kitchen
The Four Person Bedroom
bath and shower
The Four Person Bedroom
Living Room
Bathroom
Bathroom
Living Room
Bathroom
Paddle Boarding in the Outer Basin
Bathroom
The Building
Living Room
The Building
bathroom
Living Room
The Four Person Bedroom
sofabed
The Four Person Bedroom
Living Room
The Building
Moorhen Nesting on The Grand Canal
The Building
Living Room
The Building
The Four Person Bedroom
Waterfront Cafe
The Building
Living Room
The Building
Bolands Mill
The Building
Living Room
The Building
The Four Person Bedroom
The Four Person Bedroom
Bord Gais Energy Theatre
The Four Person Bedroom
Lock 3
The Four Person Bedroom
The Four Person Bedroom
The Four Person Bedroom
Scéal Eile moored in the Marina
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dublin, County Dublin

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
misha3pos...
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exciting stay - wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Forget about 5 star hotels - try something completely different: you get a suite with a wonderful soft kingsize bed, and you exchange utmost, boring luxus against something real: really utmost friendly hosts with a great open-mindedness and awareness in a place that really left us speechless: we never tried a houseboat before an living almost on water level, very close to nature and nearly outside - but in a shelter that gives you as much of a home feeling as we could imagine. We are overwhelmed of this place!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerryjone...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dublin from a different angle”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 for a stay in August 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed on the barge for 2 nights. It's a great alternative to conventional hotels, and we enjoyed seeing Dublin from a different angle. The marina is quiet and secure and only a 15 minute walk from the city centre. There are plenty of coffee shops, restaurants and grocery shops nearby.
Arranging our stay on the barge was really easy. Trish replied promptly to my emails.
When we arrived we met with Trish, who is very welcoming and helpful. She explained everything we needed to know, which is a bit more than in a hotel room. It is useful to have a good look at all the appliances and the electricity system, because it is a lot harder to find your way around in the dark. The barge is clean and has a really homely feel, and it's nice to see the city lights reflecting on the water through the windows.
We did not have enough time to take the barge out to cruise, and hope to return soon.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
231Nadine
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Christmas holiday!”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I cannot express how happy with were with our Christmas holiday on board Sceal Eile. From the very first contact with Trish I was treated with respect and care and this continued right up to our time of departure. They are undoubtedly doing this out of love and the care and attention to their visitors is outstanding.
Mick and Trish went out of their way to make it the most memorable Christmas we have had so far (and we’ve previously spent time in Boston, Scotland and Amsterdam). There was a big Christmas tree on board with presents under it, strings of twinkly lights and decorations and lots of goodies to make us comfortable on our first night.
We had big plans for visiting Dublin but we were so cosy on board with the log burner and central heating that we didn’t venture too far at all. The barge was moored in Grand Central Quay and from here we were surrounded by restaurants, coffee bars, supermarket and delicatessens. It was perfect and only 15 mins walk to the centre!
The wifi was constant so my teenage daughter was very happy and we spent a blissful week being rocked by the crazy winds that hit Dublin. Being on the barge in the bad weather was much more exciting than being on land and it added to the enjoyment of the holiday.
The bad weather inevitably caused a small electrical issue but Mick fixed it with such speed that it didn’t impact on us at all. And, whilst back on board he refilled the coal buckets and water tank so we didn’t have to! It is these small touches that make them such great hosts.
I highly recommend the Sceal Eile, you will not be disappointed. From the amazingly comfy beds, fully equipped kitchen (yes I cooked Christmas dinner on board) and the fantastic welcome you receive this is an outstanding way to spend time. And if you’re as lucky as we were you’ll see the cormorants catching crabs!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillerina
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“inside you're in a cosy cottage in the country, step outside you're in the heart of the city”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our short weekend break on the barge. Location is great, secure and quiet with close access to restaurants, cafés and supermarkets. The barge has a well equipped kitchen, is warm and cosy and the beds are very comfy. It proved an ideal alternative to a hotel room travelling with two young children with a separate bedroom and living area. There were colouring books, toys and a DVD player to provide some distraction and the stair gate, fire guard and high chair ensured all were safe. Trisha is warm, friendly and highly attentive and accommodating. A fantastic relaxing break. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget46...
Cape May, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed on the barge in December, just before Christmas. We were warm and cozy thanks to the coal burning stove. The kitchen and bathroom were just great, everything you could possibly need. We couldn't wait to climb into the inviting bed at night for a great night's sleep. The locks were under repair but we did sail around the basin.
The rest of our traveling partners stood in Dublin hotels and teased us about never wanting to leave the barge! We even hosted an afternoon lunch.
Thank you Trish & Mick for your generous hospitality and for providing this Dublin jewel for us nautical travelers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The barge and the location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophiaSco...
England
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A stay with a difference”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a stay in the Dublin Barge. It was a wonderful experience. We met with Trish who went over everything we needed to know and was extremely friendly.
The barge was very clean and homely. Towels and tea/ coffee and milk were supplied. We hardly felt it move so there was no motion sickness. The area that the barge is in is really nice and felt safe especially as we were behind secure gates. There was a 20 minute walk to the centre but there were also nice restaurants and supermarkets within the immediate vicinity.
We would definitely stay again when we return to Dublin. Thank you Trish!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bizzylizz...
Cornwall, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful mini break”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I have been meaning to write this for a couple of months! We had a brilliant three days on Sceal Eile in Dublin in August. This was SO much better than staying in a hotel and we loved every minute of it. We moved the boat through the locks and back and negotiating locks and bridges all went without a problem that to some help from the owners Trish and Mick who were so lovely and helpful. It was great to be able to walk into Dublin for the evenings and then return to the comfort of our own little oasis. The double bed was really comfortable. Altogether a unique and wonderful experience and a fabulous way to experience Dublin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Not staying in a hotel with other people!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$165
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing