We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coolest place in Dublin”
Review of The Marker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Marker Hotel
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Coolest place in Dublin”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Myself and my fiance had a fantastic time at the super-cool rooftop bar in the Marker Hotel this evening. We would recommend it to anyone seeking a unique experience and the best view over the rooftops of Dublln ranging from the bay to the mountains and Croke Park to the Aviva. Spectacular views and great service from Paul and all the staff. Also had great bar food downstairs. If you are in Dublin and want to impress and have a really enjoyable time, give it a try. /we loved it and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear Teresa C,

Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that you had a fantastic time in our super Rooftop bar and that our team looked after you.

We at The Marker hotel strive to give all of our guests a unique and memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming back very soon

Warm Regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,336
    509
    113
    50
    17
See reviews for
350
1,310
89
769
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Town, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

only stayed in this hotel for one night as we were going to a concert in the Aviva stadium which was only a 20min walk! would definitely stay here again the staff were very helpful and friendly. we had to wait an hour to get to the rooftop terrace as they only let so many people up at a time so i would recommend booking this in advance if you can. Also the breakfast was lovely. kaz and stef xxx

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, General Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Karen G,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Marker Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I apologise as you had to wait to go up to our very popular Rooftop Bar but we do give preference to our residents.

I hope we can see you again in the near furture to keep enjoying the facilities at The Marker Hotel!

Warm regards

Charlie Sheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Great hotel, friendly staff, pretty cool design... loved it.
I thought the location would be too far out of the Center but actually it was only about a 20 minute walk or a short taxi ride. It is also a few minutes walk away from a train station.
The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet. It did get a little too warm, especially at night and unfortunately, we couldn't work the air-con. In all fairness, we didn't ask anyone to look into it.
Slightly disappointing that the roof top bar was closed especially as we had the most incredible weather.
We didn't eat at the hotel so could not rate the breakfast or restaurant.
The spa was a delightful way to end the day before getting ready to go out, there is a big pool, a jacuzzi, sauna and eucalyptus steam room. We were lacking in time for treatments, unfortunately.
I would definitely stay here again. I only hope those lovely new and bouncy cream carpets in the hallways stay so clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayoulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, General Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Kayoulla,

Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and got the opportunity to experience the great facilities on our Spa & Wellness Centre.

Thank you for your review of the Marker Hotel on Tripadvisor and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm Regards

Charlie Sheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I stayed here for 3 weeks on a work trip, and was thoroughly impressed. The service, friendly staff, cleanliness of the hotel were all top notch. The rooms were lovely - huge comfy beds and pillows, slippers, robes, TV (lots of Sky channels), wifi throughout the hotel, and the bathrooms with rain showers! The spa was also incredible - a decent size pool long enough (23m) to do proper lengths! There was also a sauna, eucalyptus steam room and jacuzzi - very nice to relax in after a long day!

Also tried the roof top bar - stunning views, with sofas, chairs and heaters on the roof, however it was raining when we were there so would be even better in the sun! (Drinks are very expensive up here though.)

There were a couple of things throughout my stay - like I asked them to hold a bag of sushi in the fridge overnight and by the morning they couldn't find it. This was frustrating, however they offered me complimentary room service dinner as compensation (costing about €40 - a lot more than the sushi!).

The second thing was one night the lights in my room didn't work so at 1am when I realised this (after a night out) I was informed Iwould have to move rooms for the rest of my stay. this was also a bit annoying, however they upgraded me to a Super King deluxe room, offered to help me move my belongings and then gave me complimentary room service breakfast.

So even though there were a couple of problems, the staff dealt with them far and beyond what was necessary, and this more than made up for it. They always dealt with things with a smile and did their best to keep people happy.

If it was raining, I would be offered an umbrella on my way out - and after having stayed there a few ngihts, staff started to know my name and would always ask me how my meal was, or how my day was. It was the little things like this - as well as the manager making a point of coming to see me to make sure everything was ok with my visit, that made the difference between here and other hotels.

A really great hotel to stay - perfect location for the Convention Centre/ Bord Gais Theatre, and the food is delicious, great breakfast, friendly helpful staff and luxury rooms and spa!

Room Tip: I stayed in three rooms over 3 weeks and all were ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claireaustin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, General Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Claireaustin123,

Thank you very much for your lovely and detailed review of The Marker Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Team here made you feel at home; We thrive to make every guest feel special and comfortable during their stay.

I am also delighted that you got the opportunity to enjoy the full hotel facilities like our Spa & Wellness centre & very popular Rooftop Bar.

I look forward to welcoming you back again at The Marker Hotel.

Warm regards

Charlie Sheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed for one night (Sat 23/06/13) with my daughter, on our way to the Josh Groban concert at the O2..just a short walk away
As its a new hotel, opened just in April..one would expect it to be spotless clean ..AND YES IT WAS.
What made it special for us was the exceptionally friendly and helpful staff ,valet parking and 5 star room ( + the slippers and chocolates ). Parking was a bit steep at €20 for overnight,but that is the only minus we could find
On the morning of our departure, the "Gentleman" who brought our car to the door .handed us 2 bottles of complimentary water for our journey back to Cork ( Nice touch Lads )
Only just discovered that that the Hotel is under the very capable hands Of Charlie Shield..who provided an exceptional level of service when he was in the Clarion here in Cork for many years...Up Cork Charlie ..show the Dubs how its done.Marian

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, General Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Martin M,

Thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor.

The team here at The Marker hotel are delighted that your experience was everything that you would have expected and that we made your stay a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Warm regards

Charlie Sheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

stayed there for a quick weekend trip while in Europe. Wonderful hotel, great staff, rooms, location and bars. A quick walk and your right in the middle of all the local pubs and live music. Across the "green" is the Dublin Arts theater and science complex. By the way, thank you Marker for a wonderful 2 floor Spa. And unlike much of Dublin- the rooms were absolutely silent at night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1johnkl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, General Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear 1johnkl1,

Thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor.

Glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you had the opportunity to experience our Spa facilities.

We look forward to see you again in the near furure.

Warm Regards

Charlie Sheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We just stayed for a Saturday night at the marker, I was a little worried as its not really rated on trip advisor but this is because its only recently opened. If you like modern / chic decor, a friendly atmosphere with polite and helpful staff, spotlessly clean everywhere and stunning views from the rooftop bar and terrace then look no further, I can't rate this hotel highly enough and in my opinion it is now THE best hotel in Dublin. Drinks are a bit expensive but I guess you have to expect that in a 5 star hotel with views over Dublin that you will not find at any other hotel. Truly a fantastic experience and we will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DB11TMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, General Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear DB11TMC,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I have shared your lovely comments with the Team here and we are extremely proud that you consider us the best hotel in Dublin.

Thank you again for your review.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards

Charlie Sheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,192 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,834 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,800 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker Hotel

Property: The Marker Hotel
Address: Grand Canal Square | Docklands, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marker Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extraordinary, surprising and luxurious, the Marker Hotel is the perfect urban retreat for those who crave the unconventional, yet still expect the exceptional standards of service that are the signature of a member of The Leading Hotels of the World(R). One of Dublin's most visually arresting landmarks, the Marker Hotel offers a distinct blend of urban style and luxury. Located right in the heart of the Docklands, Dublin's most prolific cultural hub, it's the perfect base from which to explore our capital city. The hotel features a ground floor bar and restaurant as its centre piece, with 187 guest rooms over six floors. It also features a Rooftop Lounge, a striking space overlooking Dublin city, which blends indoor and outdoor areas the perfect space to enjoy lunch, cocktails and dinner. The Marker's spa features five spacious treatment rooms with a designated relaxation area and a 23 metre infinity pool. Further amenities include a jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and fitness suite. The Marker's Conference and events facilities will contain nine adaptable spaces with capacities ranging from 20-250 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Marker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing