We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of The Marker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marker Hotel
Ranked #2 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Back from 3 nights in The Marker and what a great hotel. We managed to make the most of what the hotel has to offer during our time there. On our first evening we had a lovely meal in the brasserie. The staff in the brasserie were all very pleasant, made recommendations and it was good to see it reasonably busy for a midweek evening which made for a nice atmosphere. The hotel has a very contemporary design, the music playing throughout the brasserie/reception and bar area gives a good vibe. After our meal we enquired about a visit to the rooftop lounge.We had to wait only a minute to be taken up to the lounge and seated. The lounge was particularly lovely given the glorious weather we're been experiencing and really lovely to look out across Dublin at dusk. Closing at 11pm is a good move as anyone wanting a 'big night' out will have to go elsewhere.

Our room in the hotel was really nice, again, like the hotel, it's very modern. The bed was fantastic and the bathroom lovely too and stocked with some nice toiletries. Maybe a luggage rack would be good so as to not spoil the white leather bench that seems to be used for luggage at present. Our room looked out onto a square area with a playground at the back of the hotel and it was so quiet and peaceful we both had 3 great nights sleeps.

Each evening of our stay we made use of the spa facilities. A perfect chill out. The pool is fantastic, as is the jacuzzi. The jacuzzi is probably one of the bigger jacuzzi's I've seen in a hotel. There's also a sauna and steam room. We easily spent an hour in the spa each evening. The changing room area is kept well too and again has nice shower products to use after the spa experience.

The doorman on the hotel on two days of our stay was a very friendly guy, keen to see how we were enjoying our trip to Dublin and in particular if we were enjoying our stay at the hotel.

The hotel's location is excellent for anyone wanting to be a little out of the city centre, it's located right beside the beautiful Bord Gais Energy Theatre but a walk into the main city centre would take roughly 15mins.

Overall, the hotel was spotless and the servicing of the rooms was excellent, any staff we spoke with were all very welcoming and accommodating. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to this hotel and I don't think it will be long before it creeps into the top 10 hotels in Dublin.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OBTraveller18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Dear OBTraveller18,

Thank you sincerely for taking the time to review The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that our service exceeded your expectations and you got the opportunity enjoy all our facilities including the Spa & Wellness Centre and of course our very popular Rooftop Bar.

Thank you again for the great recommendation

I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,423 - 3,429 of 3,709 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

Recently stayed at The Marker for my second visit in two months.

The staff, the food, the spa, the internet services cannot be faulted. Honestly, I will no longer stay in any other hotel in Dublin.

I would also highly recommend booking a meal as the food in this hotel is simply amazing!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room upgrade if they have it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Nick H,

Thank you very much for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

Your comments regarding our Team, the facilities and the hotel in general are a delight to read.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Marker Hotel very soon.

Warm regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

From the moment we arrived until we checked out, we enjoyed exceptional service from friendly and dedicated staff. The room was spotlessly clean, spacial and the most comfortable nights sleep I have ever had away from home. The attention to detail is superb in all areas, especially the wonderful breakfast served to our room for an extra €5.

The wellness area (included in the price) has a great ambiance with a nice pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Fresh juice or herbal tea was there for us after our relaxation.

We did venture up to the rooftop bar but it was full (understandably), but even without a drink it was worth going up for.

It is a bit out of the way if you want to spend the night in the city centre, although its only a 10-15 walk along the quays. But we were made to feel special during our one night stay and for that the walk was well worth it.

We will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrMinestrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Dear DrMinestrone,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip advisor, following your recent stay at the hotel.

I have shared your comments with the entire team here at The Marker Hotel and they are extremely proud to have made your stay such a memorable one.

I do hope that you will return to stay with us soon and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I am only writing a review of the rooftop bar at this hotel as I have not actually spent a night in the hotel. Although all being well would love to stay soon!

We went in to the hotel on Saturday afternoon after a matinee performance in the Bord Gais theatre. When we arrived we were told the wait to go to the rooftop bar would be about 30 minutes so we left our number and got a table downstairs to wait. The bar was really busy and there was a great atmosphere about the place. The staff were also very friendly. Within about 15 minutes we got a call that we could make our way upstairs.

The views from the terrace are absolutely stunning. You can literally see right across all of Dublin. The vibe was great and our wine was lovely. I'll definitely go back and bring friends when they are in Dublin! From other reviews it sounds like the spa is also worth checking out so I have that on my list too!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank victoria_jamison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Victoria Jamison,

Thank you for writing your kind review of The Marker Hotel& the Rooftop Bar on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that you had a truly enjoyable visit and that the atmosphere at the hotel more than met with your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel very soon.

Warm Regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

June 2013

Breakfast is excellent although but be aware it is not included in the price of the room. You have a wide range of foods and juices!

The rooftop bar is amazing! The view is breathtaking and the cocktails are pretty good. Only negative point, they wouldn't let us up there at first... They didn't think we were staying at the hotel. It actually happened again the next day, we were asked to show our keycards although we spent the previous night drinking cocktail on the roof and ate in the hotels' restaurant.

Don't forget to visit the spa: sauna, hamman, jaccuzzi, pool... it's all there!

The location is good, right by the docks. But to access the center (Trinity college) you have to walk for 20 minutes - a shuttle system would be great!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurence16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Laurence16,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Dublin and thank you for your review of The Marker Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that you found our Rooftop Bar amazing, I apologise if you had to wait and the fact that we asked you to show us your room’ keys is because we wanted to minimize the waiting period for you as we give preference to our hotel guests.

I thank you again for your review.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Marker Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Myself, my mum and sisters stayed here for one night! The hotel is absolutely beautiful, very modern, clean and the rooms are so stylish!! The spa and pool are lovely annd very relaxing!! The staff are very friendly and couldnt do more for us!! Very helpful and accommodating :) We are all going back in January and will for sure be staying here again!! Excellent customer service!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca062013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Rebecca062013,

Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and our superb facilities and staff surpassed your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you next January!

Warm Regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Lovely location, helpful service and nice because the hotel is new but a little bit too expensive to be very good value for money. Disappointing that the roof terrace wasn't open yet as we really wanted to to up there and suspect it would have added to our stay. Good spa facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clo155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Clo155,

Thank you for your review on TripaAdvisor.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am sorry that our Rooftop Bar wasnt open when you visited the hotel but now you have another reason to come back beside our superb Spa & Wellness Centre!

We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards

Lili Torres

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 152 in Dublin
3,569 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,302 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 152 in Dublin
4,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 152 in Dublin
4,765 reviews
1 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#7 of 152 in Dublin
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker Hotel

Address: Grand Canal Square | Docklands, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £164 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marker Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extraordinary, surprising and luxurious, the Marker Hotel is the perfect urban retreat for those who crave the unconventional, yet still expect the exceptional standards of service that are the signature of a member of The Leading Hotels of the World(R). One of Dublin's most visually arresting landmarks, the Marker Hotel offers a distinct blend of urban style and luxury. Located right in the heart of the Docklands, Dublin's most prolific cultural hub, it's the perfect base from which to explore our capital city. The hotel features a ground floor bar and restaurant as its centre piece, with 187 guest rooms over six floors. It also features a Rooftop Lounge, a striking space overlooking Dublin city, which blends indoor and outdoor areas the perfect space to enjoy lunch, cocktails and dinner. The Marker's spa features five spacious treatment rooms with a designated relaxation area and a 23 metre infinity pool. Further amenities include a jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and fitness suite. The Marker's Conference and events facilities will contain nine adaptable spaces with capacities ranging from 20-250 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing