We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place”
Review of The Marker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marker Hotel
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Just back from a trip to Dublin with my Girlfriend who booked it all for my 40th. The hotel is fantastic, could not fault it in anyway and wouldnt change a thing. The staff are really friendly and helpful. They allowed us to check in early and check out late with no problem at all. Room is very spacious and everything you would expect. Spa is very nice too, although could be doing with a few more loungers. Breakfast was good. We didn't eat in the hotel as we wanted to head into town for the criac! Room service appeared shortly before we were ready to head out with a lovely couple of strawberry cakes on a beautiful plate with Happy Birthday in drizzled chocolate, what a lovely touch! Would definitely go back, need to find an excuse soon. Other hotels need to live up to this sort of standard!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris4Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Chris4Scotland,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your 40th Birthday, what a fabulous present you got from your girlfriend!

I have passed your lovely comments to the Team and they are so happy that they helped out to mark this special occasion to you.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcoming you both back very soon.

Warm regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,501
    529
    125
    53
    18
See reviews for
389
1,394
94
811
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gorey, Wexford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The Marker is a very stylist hotel located right where you want it to be in Dublin. The service is excellent, not in your face, but just there when you need it and very professional. The only real criticism I would have was that we stayed close to Christmas and there was a Christmas party on the night we stayed which meant the bar was packed and we couldn't get a seat anywhere. We didn't eat there though so it didn't make a huge difference. We left and went to a nearby pub for a drink and a seat before we got a taxi to the restaurant. Breakfast in the morning is also excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Neil K,

Thank you for your review of The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and let me assure you that we have looked into improving the seating situation in the bar especially during the Christmas period and we have added a few extra tables to avoid this occurrence happening again.

Thank you again for visiting The Marker Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Spent 2 nights in the Marker recently. Drove into the Marker car park. Its like entering the Bermuda triangle. No signage where to go. Met a nice guy who brought us up in the 'staff' car park. So we had an amazing journey through the kitchen and onwards into the foyer. Moved past slightly amused staff to reception. Mary had booked the weekend as a wedding anniversary presenet and had paid for the 2 nights up front. Girl at reception told us we had only paid for 1 night and tried to charge us for the 2nd night. Luckily Mary had the original print out and the receptionist agreed all in order. Went to the room. No complaints. Nice luxury, great views of the Canal Docks and the historically significant Bolands Mills. Decided to avoid the €25 per person breakfast and ate in a nice cafe in town next morning. Used the pool Saturday afternoon and enjoyed the facility. Went to Pichet Saturday night and decided to be a bit lazy and order breakfast to the room for Sunday. Decided to be clever as we always end up with too much breakfast food, so ordered 1 fried breakfast and coffee. Boy were we disappointed, 1 Museli (inedible), 1 sausage, 1 egg, 1 white pudding, 1 half tomato, 1 hash brown. No rasher or anything else of interest. €25 euro + tip. Very poor value. Booked out of hotel and the receptionist tried to charge us for the 2nd night. The fact we had left the 'voucher' with the original receptionist seemed not to have travelled. Not 5 star.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 9Hostages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear 9Hostage,

Thank you for posting a review of The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I would like to apologise for the shortcomings that you experienced during your stay specially that I didn’t get the opportunity to resolve them before you check out.

Unfortunately there is no direct access to the hotel by Q car park but we do give the option to our guest to pre book their car and avail of the Valet car park.

We also have the option to add breakfast in advance for 15 euros comparing to the usual charge of 19.50 euros in The Brasserie.

I have talked to the Front Desk team to ensure that payment instructions are double checked and follow to avoid this situation arising again.

I thank you again for your valuable feedback and I hope we get the opportunity to welcoming you both back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The design of the room represents the triumph of form over function.
The bathrooms are so dark that it is well nigh impossible for a man to shave or a woman to apply makeup.
There is not enough shelf space or drawer space for more than one person staying more than one night.
The light switches by the bedside are so far away that only NBA players could reach them without getting out of bed.
Too bad that the staff was friendly and knowledgeable. They have to listen to guests complaining about these irremediable design flaws

Room Tip: There is no street noise so either side of the hotel is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sushisdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Sushisdad,

Thank you for recent review of The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry that you didn’t like the design of the room and especially that it wasn’t brought to our attention as I am confident that we could have done something to improve your stay, for example, to bring you a movable storage space etc.

I do hope we get the opportunity to have you back with us.

Kind regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Marker for 2 nights. From the moment we checked in the vibe was relaxed, friendly yet highly efficient. The staff made their jobs appear effortless, however i am sure it is anything but. I was fortunate to co incide our trip with my birthday and the cake sent to our room was incredibly thoughtful. We relished every moment of our stay. The rooftop bar, lobby bar, spa etc etc was faultless. We relaxed and felt like we had been away a week and not just 3 days. We can't wait to return. Many thanks to all who made our break so memorable and special.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Liz B,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to know that the team looked after you and what better reward from their training and love of the job than to read this lovely review and to know that they really made your stay a special one.

I thank you again for your lovely comments and we can not wait to welcoming you back very soon!

Warm regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at The Marker for just one night for a fleeting visit to Dublin on business and a bit of rugby pleasure! I was so impressed with the Hotel. The staff were so helpful and courteous and the whole ambience was slick, stylish and elegant. The rooms are large enough with lovely pillows and a great view. My only complaint was I hate a wet room as the floor stays wet and then when you are going in and out to do your make up or look at your appearance, your feet get wet! But saying that the shower room was very spacious and well equipped! Breakfast was really lovely and just spot on and we ate later on after the rugby in the bar in the lobby and had the best fish and chips I have had in years!! Great location too - near enough town and the rubgby without being on top of the chaos and crowds! Infact a lovely walk into town! Would definitely come back!!

Room Tip: Rooms higher up have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Ali24,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to red that you enjoyed your stay and I have to agree with you, the fish and chips served in the Bar are just amazing, specially the minty mushy peas.

The hotel is ideally located to be within walking distance on the main Concert and sports venues and also town, I think walking along the quays is lovely particularly on this time of the year where
you can admire the different Christmas decorations.

Thank you again for your lovely comments and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My Wife and I plus my Daughter her husband and their 10 month old baby stayed at this hotel over a weekend.
The décor was very luxurious and modern in the public areas. Very high ceilings and minimal with hints of colour.
The standard rooms we had were quite big with a super king sized bed, 2 chairs and a desk chair. The bed was very comfortable. Even the air-con worked properly. Tucked away in a hidden recess was the mini-bar, fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. A nice touch was a 2 cup cafetiere with good quality ground coffee. Other additions were a free laptop sized safe, full sized umbrella, iron and board, sewing kit etc.
The bathroom, as the bedroom had high ceilings, a full sized bath set into marble and a good sized glass shower. Very spacious. With the usual toiletries.
We had breakfast each day where the service was attentive, quick and extremely polite. The actual breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice with top quality produce.
We ate in the hotel bar one evening and again the service was excellent and the food was well priced and of a high quality. We respectively ate steak, beef-burger and steak and Guinness casserole. They are all recommended.
The corridors are dark wood with down-lighters that give a very dark feel which I did not like.
Similarly the pool area was also dark with music that was too loud. The impression did not impress our 10 month old who took a while to settle to the surroundings when we entered at about 5.45pm.
I was extremely unimpressed when we were approached by a member of staff who told us to leave the pool as children were only allowed in between 10-12 noon 3 and 5pm over the weekend. There was no one else in the pool at the time. We were checked into the pool by a staff member who provided towels so that staff member did not know either and/or did not tell us at that time. We were not informed of this prior to booking or when we checked in. It was only after the ejection that we saw a temporary notice in one of the 2 lifts.
The location of the hotel is in the business area and about a 20 minute walk from Grafton Street but the area is modern, elegant and quiet. There are some bars, cafes, restaurants and convenience stores in the immediate area but they are all a little over priced. It is a 2 minute walk to the bands of the River Liffey.
Apart from the nonsense of the pool the hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Roger E,

Thank you for posting such a detailed review of The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay.

I am sorry for the confusion regarding the children’s hours of access on the swimming pool, we have made aware to our team the importance of communicating this information to all of our guest specially the ones with children; we implement these hours so the families that use the Spa and Wellness facilities are comfortable and secure.

I thank you again for your lovely review and I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you and your family in the near future.

Warm regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,291 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,947 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,549 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker Hotel

Property: The Marker Hotel
Address: Grand Canal Square | Docklands, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marker Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extraordinary, surprising and luxurious, the Marker Hotel is the perfect urban retreat for those who crave the unconventional, yet still expect the exceptional standards of service that are the signature of a member of The Leading Hotels of the World(R). One of Dublin's most visually arresting landmarks, the Marker Hotel offers a distinct blend of urban style and luxury. Located right in the heart of the Docklands, Dublin's most prolific cultural hub, it's the perfect base from which to explore our capital city. The hotel features a ground floor bar and restaurant as its centre piece, with 187 guest rooms over six floors. It also features a Rooftop Lounge, a striking space overlooking Dublin city, which blends indoor and outdoor areas the perfect space to enjoy lunch, cocktails and dinner. The Marker's spa features five spacious treatment rooms with a designated relaxation area and a 23 metre infinity pool. Further amenities include a jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and fitness suite. The Marker's Conference and events facilities will contain nine adaptable spaces with capacities ranging from 20-250 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing