We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, moderd & comfortable hotel in Dublin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Marker Hotel
Ranked #2 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Clean, moderd & comfortable hotel in Dublin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on business - chose this spot due to colleague recommendation and proximity to my office in Dublin. The staff was welcoming and professional. Rooms were very clean and comfortable (the bed sheets could have been slightly higher quality & I would have liked more pillow options). However, the lovely bathroom was a nice surprise: heated marble floors, a huge soaking tub and wonderful Malin + Goetz products. Would definitely stay again if I returned to Dublin.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rdnycgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Rdnycgirl,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to know that our Team looked after you during your stay.

The bathroom and its toiletries are indeed wonderful and we hear nothing but raving comments about them.

Thank for having chosen us for your stay in Dublin and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,100
    477
    106
    47
    16
See reviews for
308
1,187
81
695
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I visited The Marker for the first time earlier this month for a girls weekend away in Dublin and it was just sublime!

The rooms were done to a very high standard and the bathrooms were heaven, heated floors, walk in shower and a bath I could have stayed in all day given half the chance! The reception staff in particular were great, very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Unlike some front of house staff they really took the time to engage with us and have a chat rather and weren't standoff ish in anyway at all.

We didn't eat at the hotel but we sampled a number of drinks from the bar! Wine list was great and our waiter did a fine job in recommending what we should have based on what we fancied and the cocktails were fab! A little pricey but in that kind of setting you kind of expect to pay a little more.

The roof top bar is definitely worth a stop, the views over the docklands was great and even though it was freezing and we were outside, we had a heat lamp and fresh blankets to keep us toasty.

Next time I'll make sure to visit the spa and the leisure facilities which I didn't get to this time round. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LissAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear LissAustin,

Thank you for posting a review of The Marker Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to read that you and your girlfriends had a great weekend.

I must agree with you that the bathrooms are sublime and the bubble bath might be the best way to start a relaxing weekend away.

The rooftop Lounge is indeed amazing even during this cold winter, we do have an inside area and we provide blankets and hot water bottles for the adventurous people that rather have a seat in the outside.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcoming you all back very soon and maybe this time you can experience the fantastic Spa and Wellness Centre.

Kind regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed at this fabulous hotel during the All-Ireland in September 2013. The staff were excellent and the facilities top notch. We particularly enjoyed the swimming pool which is a decent 20m from what I recall. The rooms were luxurious with in room mirroring from your tablet to TV and secure Wi-Fi. I particularly liked the ceiling to floor window which gives a great few of the refurbished Docklands area and the Bord Gas energy theatre. The underfloor heated marble bathrooms were fantastic. The patio bar on the top floor was great craic if a little adventurous with Irish weather. The bar in the hotel lobby pours a better pint of Guinness than the storehouse at St James' (perhaps its the new piping??)

In short if you can afford to stay here you won't regret your booking particularly if you are seeing a show across the road in the theatre. The only thing to be aware of is that this 5 star is out of the city centre. Realistically it's a five minute taxi journey to Dublin City Centre. This contrasts to the Westbury (excellent) and the Fitzwilliam (mediocre) both of which have central locations i.e. their doorsteps are at the centre of the city but generally they do cost more. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MPK18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear MPK18,

Thank you for posting a review of The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you are not the first one to mention that a Guinness’ pint is even better than in the Guinness’ Storehouse!
The Spa & Wellness Centre is amazing specially if you get to enjoy a fantastic treatment performed by our excellent therapists and then spend the rest of the evening in the pool or Jacuzzi.

I thank you again for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm Regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We had a fantastic stay in the Marker on Saturday night. Room was gorgeous, food ( both dinner and breakfast) was beautiful and service was second to none. A truly beautiful hotel with staff who are willing to go the extra mile

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dublingals2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Dublingals2014,

Thank you for posting a lovely review of The Marker Hotel.

I have passed your comments to our team and they are delighted with them.

I thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here for our anniversary the weekend refresher deal. From check in to departure they could not do enough. The pool is one of the best I have swam in in the world. The treatments in the spa were seriously good Anya the beauty therapist was amazing. The room service was great the only thing I could fault was there is no bubble bath in the bathrooms and with a bath that big would of been nice they did offer to go to a shop to get some tho. Would stay again in a heart beat. Thanks to all the staff to making our anniversary so special.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjr11hw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Sjr11hw,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that you spent your anniversary with us and that we helped to make it special.

I have passed your comments to Ania and she is delighted that you enjoyed the treatment and the rest of the Spa & Wellness facilities.

On behalf of The Marker Team, I thank you again for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you both back soon.

Warm regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We recently had the pleasure of staying with you in the Marker Hotel - Saturday the 25th of January.
From start to finish, I can only describe it as exceptional in every facet. It was the first time my wife and I had been away for a night since our daughter was born, which is nearly 2 years ago at this stage.
I had been looking for a nice hotel as a treat for the night and I contacted several other hotels, which I would have perceived to be in the same bracket.
Although we were working off a budget, there were a number of factors which helped in making a decision. I hadn't heard of the hotel (much to my embarrassment), the hotel web-site looked very good, had been given very excellent reviews on trip advisor / booking.com / hotels.com etc. Most importantly, however, having contacted all the hotels directly, it was The Marker that stood out with regard to the manner in which the initial query was dealt with, to the booking itself. I spoke with Alison, in reservations, and she wonderful to deal with - from explaining the offer involved and informing us that we would be upgraded based to a Superior room on same (also it was a B&B rate) - very professional and personable. As a customer I came of the phone feeling like it was going to be special and that we were going to be looked after very well. We were not to be disappointed.
From the moment we arrived in the hotel on Saturday afternoon (early) everyone we encountered was so helpful, friendly (which is not always the case in 5 star hotels) and there also seemed to be a great atmoshere amongst the team. There was a sense that the staff working there knew they were working somewhere special and were taking great pride in making it even more so.
Of the staff we had the good fortune of meeting all were excellent, can only remember a few names- Barry who looked after our car and give us a tour of #310, Gary at the front desk - who checked us in and out on our departure was professionalism personified. We also met Killian & the team in the Roof top bar - a great experience. Also all the staff we encountered in the Brasserie (for breakfast -fantastic food) and the Bar were very polite, helpful and friendly - Godfrey in particular. The food (and wine) was excellent - Smoked salmon & Nutri Box. Often forgotten are the staff, we as guests, don't get to see that much of - Housekeeping in this case provided some lovely touches - turn down service, slippers etc. We also received a lovely treat (mini Tiramisu) in the room from the Guest relations team, The views from our room were magnificent - also the cleanliness and room facilities. Swimming pool was beautiful - had to go in twice as I dropped the key for the locker at the bottom of it!!!!
Apologies to the French gentleman who retrieved, packed our car and left two bottles of water for us on check-out- I didn't get a chance to thank him.
Once again we would like to thank you and your team for making our night in Dublin a truely memorable one.
A fantastic hotel with superb staff.

Room Tip: South facing room would have the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Keith W,

Thank you for posting a review of The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you chose The Marker over other hotels in Dublin; We realise that our guest has a variety of choices and it is important to us to personalise every interaction and give that bit extra to every single of our guests to make their experience the best that we could possible offer.

I thank you again for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed in The Marker over the New Year. Arrived early, around 13:00 and our room was ready. Upgrade to a corner suite, great room, with a fantastic view over Grand Canal Dock. Dinner in the Brasserie restaurant, late night cocktails in the roof top bar and a sumptuous breakfast the next morning. The staff we so friendly and helpful, they made our stay amazing. A definite "Will be Back".

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lcas_irl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Icas_Irl,

Thank you for posting a review of The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that my team looked after you and made your stay a memorable one especially as it was New Year’s!

We have heard nothing but great comments of that night.

On behalf of my team, I thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you
back.

Kind regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,042 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,700 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,277 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker Hotel

Property: The Marker Hotel
Address: Grand Canal Square | Docklands, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marker Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extraordinary, surprising and luxurious, the Marker Hotel is the perfect urban retreat for those who crave the unconventional, yet still expect the exceptional standards of service that are the signature of a member of The Leading Hotels of the World(R). One of Dublin's most visually arresting landmarks, the Marker Hotel offers a distinct blend of urban style and luxury. Located right in the heart of the Docklands, Dublin's most prolific cultural hub, it's the perfect base from which to explore our capital city. The hotel features a ground floor bar and restaurant as its centre piece, with 187 guest rooms over six floors. It also features a Rooftop Lounge, a striking space overlooking Dublin city, which blends indoor and outdoor areas the perfect space to enjoy lunch, cocktails and dinner. The Marker's spa features five spacious treatment rooms with a designated relaxation area and a 23 metre infinity pool. Further amenities include a jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and fitness suite. The Marker's Conference and events facilities will contain nine adaptable spaces with capacities ranging from 20-250 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Marker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing