We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just visiting the lobby for supper”
Review of The Marker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marker Hotel
Ranked #2 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is a fab location if you are going to Bord Gais theatre and you want to have an informal sit down meal in the lobby of the hotel which is both luxurious and comfy with many different types of seating to suit your needs. The waiting staff are pure 5 star level, so it makes for a very nice experience. The kitchen closes at 10pm so we just got in there after our theatre around that time and my husband was ravenous so they allowed him to have something and I saw them do it for about another 2-3 tables after us that came in so I like this kind of flexibility. Having said that in line with the times that the shows finish in Bord Gais they could probably do with opening this until at least 11pm or so as I think they would still have a steady flow as lots of people coming and going still at that time we were there. Of course being 5 star, the prices are extortionate, I actually can't believe they have a cocktail menu that costs as it does in the current climate averaging from 13.50 to 20.00 and they are possibly the smallest cocktails I have ever seen in my life. Unless you are loaded you actually wouldn't be able to have many rounds of drinks and you can see a lot of people come in for one and are gone which again is something they need to look a, as if they were more reasonably priced I think people could afford to stay there longer but again of course they are looking for a certain type of clientele and therefore missing out on a whole pool of people who are coming from the theatre but don't want to spend that type of money after paying such high prices already for their tickets, excellent location of course and we didn't get the chance to experience the rooftop bar as it is only open Fridays and Saturdays or something like that.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KildareHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear KildareHarley,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are indeed ideally located right next door to the Bord Gais Theatre and we do offer pre theatre menu at The Brasserie Restaurant or at The Bar.

We have an extensive drinks and cocktails list with very competitive and better prices than other 5 star hotels in Dublin; in addition to that our expert Barmen prepare weekly special cocktails and of course tailor made to suit each and one of our guests.

We hope to have you visiting us again very soon and maybe next time to stay over!

Warm regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,855 - 2,861 of 3,412 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Superb. For 5 star they know what they are doing. Turn down service is top. Service level purely from the greeting, assistance and the "hello's" provided made one feel special. Location is also very very good. Excellent size bathrooms and super shower

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LenJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear LenJackson,

I appreciate you taking the time to post a review of The Marker Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are indeed conveniently located in an area surrounded by several companies and close to the Convention Centre.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Marker Hotel!

Warm regards

Stephan de Vries
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed in The Marker for the first time in March 2014 - stunning room and great service. From the second you enter the hotel you know you are entering a different class of hotel.

We checked in around 12 noon and were shown to our room on the first floor. Every aspect of the hotel is done to a high specification, inlcuding the lobby, the hall way to the rooms and the resturants. The room itself was huge, even though it was 'Basic' by The Markers standards. The bathroom was stunning with the heated floors, bath, shower and large feel to it.

In short, I couldnt fault the hotel as it was flawless, and having a 5* hotel in Dublin for around €180 per night was excellent value in my opinion. Would stay there again without doubt.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Chris M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of The Marker Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you were able to check in upon arriving at 12.00 in the afternoon and that you enjoyed the room, lobby and restaurants.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm regards

Stephan de Vries
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Hotel is located in Canal Square which also houses a number of small cafes, a Spar etc and is an easy 15/20 minutes walk to Grafton Street. Plenty of staff across the hotel. I found the reception staff and breakfast servers the best during our stay. Unfortunately, the staff at the Roof Top Bar not so good as my husband had to wait at the table a good 10 mins before having to signal to someone he wanted to order a drink as no one had approached us for service. This happened again when we wanted to order a second round. In a 5 star hotel, you expect that the staff will anticipate what you want before you even ask for it. Did this ruin our stay? Absolutely not, was the only blip the entire stay so it was annoying as it would have been a flawless overnight stay from start to finish otherwise.

The room was beautiful. I loved the deep Cadbury purple carpet and the bathroom was a place that you could stay in all day. Floor to ceiling grey marble with separate full bath and a shower that would easily fit 4 people. Lovely quality shower gel, shampoo etc The bathrobes were extremely rough and I believe had been washed numerous times without fabric softener. No big deal though.

Breakfast was excellent, plenty of selection and unlike the Roof Top Bar, the staff couldn't service the table enough and always seemed to be close by if anything else was required. Breakfast service was the best we received during our stay.

The hotel is very stylish, very modern but I do think it could benefit from a little more personality in the bar area just beside reception. But this is just a personal note.

I found the location of the hotel very refreshing as it seemed to be an emerging hip new area to visit. I would definitely stay at The Marker Hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Recommend a room with a view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McAuley2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear McAuley2007,

Thank you for posting a review of The Marker Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you like the design and the location of the hotel. We are in the process of enhancing the bar and terrace area. I am disappointed to read about the blip in service at the rooftop, however your feedback enables us to perfect also this area of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Marker Hotel in the near future!

Warm regards

Stephan de Vries
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights for our anniversary and it was a wonderful, luxurious stay. The check-in service was excellent, the staff were attentive and friendly. The room was lovely and the spa is fantastic. Can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LenaBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear LenaBall,

I really appreciate the time you took to review The Marker Hotel.

The team will be delighted to read that you found them very attentive and friendly! I have to agree that the rooms are lovely and the spa is fantastic.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Warm regards

Stephan de Vries
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Top class hotel. Dublin s finest . Rooftop Bar is a must see. really good and attentive staff. will be back. The hotel itself is really modern and there is a really nice vibe. The grand canal square area is a great new area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oige89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Oige89,

Thank you for your review of The Marker Hotel.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your time in the hotel and yes, the Rooftop Lounge is a must especially now that the weather is getting better and the days sunnier.

Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards

LIli Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Had a really lovely stay in The Marker Hotel. Service excellent, rooms super. Very nice decorating, crispy modern look. Good food. Very nice situated in business district. On walking distance of the center of Dublin.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank villetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Villeta,

Thank you for posting a review of The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

the Team and I are delighted to read your lovely comments and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Yours sincerely

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,406 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,044 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,605 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,104 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker Hotel

Address: Grand Canal Square | Docklands, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £194 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marker Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extraordinary, surprising and luxurious, the Marker Hotel is the perfect urban retreat for those who crave the unconventional, yet still expect the exceptional standards of service that are the signature of a member of The Leading Hotels of the World(R). One of Dublin's most visually arresting landmarks, the Marker Hotel offers a distinct blend of urban style and luxury. Located right in the heart of the Docklands, Dublin's most prolific cultural hub, it's the perfect base from which to explore our capital city. The hotel features a ground floor bar and restaurant as its centre piece, with 187 guest rooms over six floors. It also features a Rooftop Lounge, a striking space overlooking Dublin city, which blends indoor and outdoor areas the perfect space to enjoy lunch, cocktails and dinner. The Marker's spa features five spacious treatment rooms with a designated relaxation area and a 23 metre infinity pool. Further amenities include a jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and fitness suite. The Marker's Conference and events facilities will contain nine adaptable spaces with capacities ranging from 20-250 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing