We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and stylish”
Review of The Marker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marker Hotel
Ranked #2 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is based by the quays very close to the centre of Dublin. There are some great bars and restaurants nearby and Temple Bar ids less than a 15 minute walk or 5 minutes in a cab.
The rooftop terrace is very chic with fantastic views and if you're lucky enough to have a sunny day you can spend hours up there.
Bedrooms were stylish, spacious and comfortable, my only complaint was the breakfast which was 'buffet style' (always a euphemism for cheap and not very cheerful) which you don't expect from a 5 star hotel. When I saw the runny scrambled eggs and the ageing bacon my heart sank. Raj the excellent restaurant manager cheered me up again by listening intently to my moaning and promising to submit my thoughts to the Management. Lets hope that by the time you stay there a freshly cooked option is available.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear DJH4,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Marker Hotel on Tripadvisor.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I have shared your comments with the Team and especially Raj who, I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. I am delighted to read that you had the opportunity to enjoy the local area with its great variety of bars and restaurants. Apart from the buffet option we always offer an a la carte menu and the chef is always happy to prepare your eggs boiled or fried if you prefer so.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Marker Hotel in the future.

Warm Regards,
Stephan de Vries
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,755 - 2,761 of 3,409 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed with my wife for our first year wedding anniversary and we were most disappointed. For a 5 star hotel we felt the hotel was very basic. The staff were very helpful and friendly but it was not what we expected from a 5 star hotel we both agreed it was over rated and especially when the staff knew it was our anniversary there was no nice touches which we have previously received in other hotels. I would not recommend the hotel for a special occasion.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Michael D,

I would like to thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at The Marker Hotel.

As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation. Therefore I am delighted that you have taken the time to provide us with your comments in order for us to improve our service in the future.

Thank you again and I do hope that we have a future change for you to have the real "Marker Experience".

Warm Regards,

Stephan de Vries
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Excellent location, staff, food and facilities. Near enough to walk to the city centre as long as mobility isn't an issue but far enough away not too feel too touristy. Probably not so good if you have children. Swimming pool and gym excellent. Not cheap, but well worth the money. Only had one meal there, fish and chips, best fish and chips for ages. Had a drink one night at the rooftop bar. Wonderful views of Dublin.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mountino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Mountino,

Thank you very much for posting a review of your recent stay on Tripadvisor.

I have to agree with you that our location is just outside of the tourist area but is a nice walk along the Liffey to the city centre. I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy the rooftop on one of the beautiful days we had last week!

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Stephan de Vries
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Marker is a very nice hotel with a lovely rooftop bar and friendly staff. I just wish it were closer to the city center. It is a 18 min walk and there are very few conveniences nearby (ie pharmacy, restaurants, grocery). I was in need of some pharmacy items as my bag was lost. The hotel has no shop and we didn't feel like walking or taking a taxi to the nearest pharmacy. As with all hotels we stayed at on this trip there is no ice machine or vending- only a mini bar. I also did not like the lack of a top sheet. There is only the duvet.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellyhende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Kellyhende,

Thank you for posting a review of The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

Even though we are not right in the city centre, there are a few more options how to reach it either by public transport or by availing one of our complementary guests services like our Bikes or the Marker Car.

The Grand Canal area is an upcoming part of Dublin with restaurants and other facilities opening up all the time, indeed there are at least 10 restaurants and bars within less than 10 minutes walk and the nearest pharmacy & convenience store are just next door.

We do not have ice machines on the floors but this can be easily obtained by calling Room Service 24 hours a day, the same as for extra sheets or pillows that are available on request.

We thank you again for having stayed with us.

Kind regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for one night while on a business trip. Great, modern and new hotel. Customer service is second to none!
Beautiful hotel overlooking the canal with all the amenities you would expect. Only issue for me was the low lighting everywhere, but that's probably just my age!
Breakfast had lost of choice and the chef made me an amazing bowl of porridge with honey. Great start to the day.
Quite expensive per night but it is a city centre hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Punam71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Punam71,

I am glad to know that you enjoyed your business trip and that my Team looked after you starting from our Chefs to make you a special porridge! maybe the next time you might come for pleasure and can enjoy the other facilities that The Marker has to offer like our Spa and Wellness area with its magnificent pool, jacuzzy, sauna and steam room.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The architecture alone draws you into the Marker Hotel, fingers crossed its service delivers on the all important first impression... Thankfully this is one of the very few hotels that truly ticks all the boxes, from reception to restaurant to spa, but the piece de resistance has to be Dublins only roof top bar and is the best for cocktails, the downside and there has to be one, expect long queues, and if the sun is out....

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S12MMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear S12MMO,

Thank you for reviewing the Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am glad that you liked the design of the Hotel and we are indeed becoming very famous (among other things) due to the Rooftop Lounge as there is nothing like this in Dublin town especially on a sunny day there is nowhere else where you can enjoy the sunshine while sipping at your favourite cocktail and have a bite to eat.

Even when the Rooftop is full we always make sure to prioritise our residents and we do the very best to accommodate everyone.

Thank you again for the comments.

Warm regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is an excellent hotel, with great rooms and restaurant (for breakfast or dinner). Its stylish and modern and having only recently been built is in great condition. The service is attentive and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble (although we were not particularly demanding guests) and the rooms are so well insulated that it is very quite inside. The one downside, is that it is a good fifteen to twenty five minutes walk into Dublin City centre, and while the area around the hotel is relatively well served for bars, and some restaurants, you will want to go into town. In the end we were using a least one taxi a day (10 euros) to get back, having walked in, and if you come back to the hotel before going out in the evening as we did a couple of times, then the taxi costs mount up. This, of course is not the hotel's fault, but if you tire easily and do not fancy a lot of walking, and are not keen on cabs you might be better staying nearer town.

Room Tip: You will need to factor in the costs of taxis into your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jazzzy-guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Jazzzy-Guy,

Thank you for reviewing the Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are indeed still a brand new hotel and you can see it and even feel it everywhere starting with the plush carpets to absolutely every last single details.

it is true that the Hotel is located around 15-20 minutes walk from town but beside a taxi, there are a few other means on transportation like Public Transport and we also provide bike rental and even the Marker Car all complimentary of use for our guests.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,403 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,040 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,601 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,098 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker Hotel

Address: Grand Canal Square | Docklands, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £194 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marker Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extraordinary, surprising and luxurious, the Marker Hotel is the perfect urban retreat for those who crave the unconventional, yet still expect the exceptional standards of service that are the signature of a member of The Leading Hotels of the World(R). One of Dublin's most visually arresting landmarks, the Marker Hotel offers a distinct blend of urban style and luxury. Located right in the heart of the Docklands, Dublin's most prolific cultural hub, it's the perfect base from which to explore our capital city. The hotel features a ground floor bar and restaurant as its centre piece, with 187 guest rooms over six floors. It also features a Rooftop Lounge, a striking space overlooking Dublin city, which blends indoor and outdoor areas the perfect space to enjoy lunch, cocktails and dinner. The Marker's spa features five spacious treatment rooms with a designated relaxation area and a 23 metre infinity pool. Further amenities include a jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and fitness suite. The Marker's Conference and events facilities will contain nine adaptable spaces with capacities ranging from 20-250 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing