We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice treat for a weekend in Dublin”
Review of The Marker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marker Hotel
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A nice treat for a weekend in Dublin”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Great location, although a bit out of town. Surrounded by nice bars and restaurants and only 10 mins walk from the main sites.

Rooftop bar is lovely, although they may ask for a reservation, so worth planning ahead.

Rooms are nice furnished and laid out, although wardrobe space is a bit limited. Spa is a good space to relax for a while, with a decent sized pool and jacuzzi/sauna etc.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nellpapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear nellpapa,

We very much appreciate the time you took to review your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and had the opportunity to use the Rooftop Bar & Terrace and our Spa & Wellness facilities.

We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Dublin.

Warm regards,
Stephan de Vries
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,495
    529
    125
    53
    18
See reviews for
387
1,393
94
810
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. I would recommend to ring in advance to book the valet parking as it could cost €30. The staff really make this hotel. They are all so friendly. We has a room on the third floor, nice view, beautiful bathroom with great shower. The turn down service was lovely as we were rushing out for a meal and when we came back the room was cleaned again, with slippers left out and chocolates, a lovely touch. The breakfast was very good, plenty of variety. My husband said the Irish breakfast was great, the bacon was very fresh as he finds in most hotels it isn't always the case. They even had flaxseed. We did get to see the rooftop bar. The views are fantastic. It can get quiet busy later on I. The evening and sometimes can be closed for private functions. Maybe check with the hotel beforehand if you want to see the rooftop bar. It was our anniversary, lovely little pastry in room wishing us a happy anniversary. It is a good 15/20 minute walk into the city but you can get the luas also. There is a spar close by and also another grocery shop straight across the road from the hotel. They do a nice selection of wine and also wine from the chiller. When we were leaving 2 bottles of water left in the car for us. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear martina m,

Thank you very much for your lovely review on Tripadvisor!

We always prioritise our Hotel Residents that want to go up to the Rooftop Bar & Terrace, however unfortunately at peak times we are not always able to accommodate everyone indeed. The accommodation team will be thrilled to hear that their turndown service was very much appreciated by you!

The local public car parking that is available does charge more than our over nightly rate of € 20,- for the valet parking service.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dublin!

Warm regards,
Stephan de Vries
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I spent 4 nights at this stylish and very comfortable hotel. The staff was friendly, professional and ready to assist at any time. Another bonus is that the size of my room was quite large, in comparison to most of the hotels I've stayed at in Europe. The hotel is located in the Docklands area of town, about a 20 minute walk from the Trinity University/tourist area. This is both a good and a bad thing depending on the nature of your visit. The positive is that the area is very quiet, has great views of the river and docks,and you're much more likely to strike up a conversation with a local Dubliner. The negative, for me, was that I often took taxis (about 6-7 Euro each way) to get to the Trinity College area to catch tours just because I didn't feel like always walking the longer distance. If I had to do again, I likely would have stayed somewhere a bit closer to tourist area, but I can't say enough good things about the Marker.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Sheandra,

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us.

Your review is very kind and the Team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned depending on the nature of the visit, we are in the middle of the Docklands area and about a 20 minute walk away from the city centre.

I hope the nature of your next visit will allow you again to stay with us!

Warm Regards,

Stephan de Vries
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Very Nice new area, beautiful and modern. Well connected to Temple Bar and Dublin City Center. I definitely recommend it. There is a lovely restaurant at the other side of the canal, were we ate delicious seafood. Very well connected to Dublin Airport as well. Loved it. Great view from the terrace.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adri31_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Adri31_11,

Thank you for your review of The Marker Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that you loved the hotel and the local area including the new seafood restaurant 'Mourne'. We are indeed conveniently located within a 20 minute walk from the City Centre and are very close to one of the frequent airport transfer coach stops.

I hope we can welcome you back with us soon!

Warm regards,
Stephan de Vries
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

One of the newest hotels in Dublin... really cool architecture, rooms very spacious, attentive staff. Received a free upgrade. Gym and spa facilities top notch. Food really good, although a little pricey. Close to good restaurants and bars. Will be returning.

Room Tip: get one overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJHItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear JSHItaly,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor!

I am thrilled that you reserved with us after looking at the pictures and that we did look as good as in the pictures!

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Stephan de Vries
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

stylish and comfortable hotel and the best service we have ever experienced. a lot of thanks to the shift manager UNNI for his great attitude helping us. the pool, gym and spa area are modern and efficient. we really enjoyed our staying very much
to improve : lack of closet space in the room. the food variety and quality in the bars. needed more light for shaving in the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gidi06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Gidi06,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor!

On behalf of Unni thank you for staying with us, it was his pleasure to assist you! We have taken your constructive feedback on board and shared with the department heads.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Warm Regards,
Stephan de Vries
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for a 3 day break in August. All aspects of our stay were top notch. All staff from the time of our arrival to when we left were friendly, helpful and professional. The rooftop bar was a real treat, a lovely way to end the day. The views from rooms at the front of the hotel are great watching people kayaking in the quay, there is a good choice of cafe's eateries nearby if you choose to stay local (the food at the hotel was great too). The room was spacious, immaculately clean and the bed was so comfy we stept really well each night. We even found we were the only people in the pool/Jacuzzi/steam and sauna area which is well worth a visit. After many years of staying in hotels on a regular basis we have very high expectations and The Marker certainly is one of the few places we have stayed that met them 100%

Room Tip: Choose higher floors at the front of the hotel for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnTour3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear OnTour3,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.

What a compliment it is for us after all your years of travelling to be ranked among a few places that met your expectations 100%, Thank you! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in Dublin, The Docklands Area and The Marker Hotel.

I have to agree with your room tip; booking one of our Deluxe Rooms at the front of the hotel just gives that little bit extra.

We hope to be able to welcome you back when you are back in Dublin.

Warm regards,

Stephan de Vries
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,287 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,945 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,548 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker Hotel

Property: The Marker Hotel
Address: Grand Canal Square | Docklands, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marker Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extraordinary, surprising and luxurious, the Marker Hotel is the perfect urban retreat for those who crave the unconventional, yet still expect the exceptional standards of service that are the signature of a member of The Leading Hotels of the World(R). One of Dublin's most visually arresting landmarks, the Marker Hotel offers a distinct blend of urban style and luxury. Located right in the heart of the Docklands, Dublin's most prolific cultural hub, it's the perfect base from which to explore our capital city. The hotel features a ground floor bar and restaurant as its centre piece, with 187 guest rooms over six floors. It also features a Rooftop Lounge, a striking space overlooking Dublin city, which blends indoor and outdoor areas the perfect space to enjoy lunch, cocktails and dinner. The Marker's spa features five spacious treatment rooms with a designated relaxation area and a 23 metre infinity pool. Further amenities include a jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and fitness suite. The Marker's Conference and events facilities will contain nine adaptable spaces with capacities ranging from 20-250 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing