We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A yarners haven!”
Review of This is Knit

This is Knit
Ranked #21 of 179 Shopping in Dublin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dublin's best location for quality knitting and crochet supplies. Traditional Irish Tweed and exclusive locally hand-dyed yarns a speciality.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A yarners haven!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I'd been recommended This is Knit from a Dublin-based friend on Ravelry who described it as her 'favourite place in the whole city'. She wasn't exaggerating: the selection of yarns, the helpfulness and friendliness of the team - even the shop's location in the beautifully boutique Powerscourt Center - all makes for a perfect little haven from the bustle of the city.

Be warned though: they stock some of the most beautiful wools and yarns that you could ever wish to fondle (including their own gorgeously dyed brand from a local yarnist) - I only popped in to get a spool of crochet Cotton, and still ended up leaving with enough extra little 'treasures' for a years worth of projects (and a considerably lighter wallet ;) )!

A beautiful shop - visit if you dare.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thisisknit, Owner at This is Knit, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks so much David - we're delighted you enjoyed your visit and that you found our selection so enticing! :)

You're very lucky to have picked up some of our "Townhouse Yarns" as this line was only launched within the last two weeks. You're an early adopter!

We hope we'll see you again if you get back to Dublin for another trip.

Lisa & Jacqui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little bit if knitting heaven”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This little shop is just full of wonderful yarn both designer brands such as Louisa Harding and Debbie Bliss Firm favourites like Malibrigo and Noro and Irish indie yarns like Coolree and hedgehog fibres. There is also a good range of essential needles and supplies.
The staff are friendly informative and knowledgeable and will spend ages helping you find the perfect yarn for a project.
There are also great workshops with designers though these need booked ahead .
The more you visit the more the girls feel like friends and you leave with a bag full of goodies a head full of ideas and a smile on your face

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Maybe best yarn shop in Ireland?”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

OK I haven't been to them ALL, but this is just a great destination on its own. Great selection of lovely quality yarns. A nice bargain bin to rummage through too. It's far for me to visit from Belfast, but when I get down to Dublin I do stop in. Sadly hasn't been in a while.

I am looking forward to taking classes there in May. I've heard really good things :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank nearly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant wool shop”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is one of the best wool shops I have visited. What a choice of yarns. The staff are so knowledgeable on everything to do with knitting. Even when I rang about ordering more wool for a project the girl was helpful and it arrived by post a day later.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank annie0803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gorgeous shop”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I find I am unable to visit Dublin without being drawn into This is Knit, as if by some irresistible force. There is a fantastic selection of beautiful yarn (towards the more luxury end of the market), lovely helpful staff and a good selection of notions and books. Beware: time passes strangely inside. Chances are you'll come out clutching a bag of yarn to find it has got dark and you can't remember where you left the car or your spouse.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank safetyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thisisknit, Owner at This is Knit, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thanks Safetyfox for such a great review. We're delighted you enjoyed your visit.

There have been a number of cases of missing spouses / friends / family over the years alright - thankfully there's plenty in the area to keep them entertained!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed This is Knit also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to This is Knit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing