We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service with a bad attitude!”

Malones Fish and Chips
Ranked #1,652 of 2,547 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Fast food, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service with a bad attitude!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I've been here a few times always just to grab a bite to eat before or after a night out because it's location is so handy, and I have never had a pleasant experience EVER. The first time we went my friend ordered a chicken breast only to discover that her 'meat' was purple which completely turned us off our meals. The second time I discovered a drunk man in the bathroom vomiting all over himself which needless to say was enough to turn my stomach again. Despite there being a security guard outside the bathroom supposedly monitoring who was using the bathroom. Its also worth mentioning that the staff are ignorant and always seem to be trying to get you out of the place. Not that all the blame is to be put on them, I'm sure they have witnessed some sites from Dame Lane - I know I have.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
505 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Standard Chipper”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have gotten food here numerous times. It is just a standard chipper, which serves nice chips. It opens late, which is good for food after a few drinks. There is seating which is also good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeenanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great chippers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

One of the best chippers in Dublin, good value especially the meal deals. I grab a Cod and Chips here whenever I am in the area. always well cooked and presented with salt, vinegar and sauces and a drink or coffee. This is just a sit in or take out chip shop, but great service and pleasant staff.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best fish and chips in Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

I love fish and chips, in this place i eat a very best fish and chips, many time i eat chicken menu (very good).

Helpful?
1 Thank Antowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Fish and Chip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

If you want good fish and chips with no frills then Malones is for you. Small eat in restaurant at rear very clean. Friendly staff who gave us a sample go try before we bought. Cooked when ordered piping hot. Great value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malones Fish and Chips also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Malones Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing