We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fell at the last hurdle...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cleaver East

Cleaver East
Ranked #333 of 2,546 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in the heart of Ireland's capital city, on East Essex Street in the popular Temple Bar area. Oliver Dunne who currently holds a Michelin Star for Bon Appetit Restaurant in Malahide has created an exciting dining experience at Cleaver East located within The Clarence Hotel. The ethos of Cleaver East is to deliver the highest standard of food and cuisine at really affordable prices. Open seven days a week, Cleaver East offers great food, friendly service, classic cocktails, affordable wines with Irish and International Craft Beer! We welcome group reservations at Cleaver East and offer semi-private dining facilities.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fell at the last hurdle...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Great food - interesting twists and lovely presentation - done a great job on the interior versus the old Tea Rooms which were always a bit austere, and created a buzz. Really enjoyed it and then... They started to set for breakfast around us. Come on, guys, if you want to be taken seriously as a restaurant, you have to stop thinking like a hotel or you will always be a just a hotel dining room. That said, we would go back, but go for the early bird which has the dual benefit of good value and no breakfast set up going on.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham D, General Manager at Cleaver East, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Simon,
Many thanks for your feedback from your recent experience at Cleaver East. Delighted you enjoyed your first visit and our popular Cleaver twists, hopefully see you soon for an Early Bird.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    122
    99
    50
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little morsels of deliciousness!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Two girls from South Australia were despairing of any good food in Dublin when we happened on Cleavers East. From the first mouthful we were hooked. We decided on the goats cheese parfait, crab cocktail, scotch egg, pork belly and lamb breast - all to share. Each serving an absolute taste sensation. The staff were the most friendly and helpful that we have found in our travels. We were lucky to be there on Thirsty Thursday where cocktails were 5 euros each! Highly recommend that you make this restaurant a must!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Flic59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham D, General Manager at Cleaver East, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review, delighted you enjoyed our delicious tasting plates and friendly service during your travels...and took advantage of our fantastic Thirsty Thursday special. We will hopefully see you again in the near future, in the meantime you can spread the word to Australia for us! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lonerganmm
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Small plate concept”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Food is as delicious as it is beautiful. Loved the butternut squash risotto and the piri piri chicken was fabulous (spicy and flavorful). My husband had the lamb and it was perfect. They list the food allergens each dish contains on the menu so that was a plus. My husband has celiac and I have a tree nut allergy and am lactose intolerant. My only complaint is that there are no lactose-free desserts.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank lonerganmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham D, General Manager at Cleaver East, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to send on your feedback from your recent dining experience with us.
I am delighted you enjoyed the concept and content of the menu and found the food allergens to
be useful to your food intolerances. Many thanks for the constructive criticism in relation to the desserts, if you are joining us again, please just let us know and we will look after you for something sweet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Taste sensation, very good value lunch with a lovely sense of occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We ate lunch on a Friday in late April. Found the lunch option very good value. Tried the tuna, lamb, veal, pork belly, scallops, all were really delicious. I'd recommend trying the bread - delicious pesto with two types of warm, fresh bread. While we're not used to being charged for bread in this country, I think it is better to have the option of choosing whether you want it or not. I never usually eat it as it ruins my appetite but found this extremely tasty. We tried two desserts - both fab - you must try the black forest gateaux and the banoffi. Really, really good. Very much enjoyed our experience, a real taste sensation, service was impeccable with very good coffee and a perfect Irish coffee to finish off. Loved the dining space. Very New York. Will return. Big fan of Oliver Dunne's food, and admire him all the more as he is self taught and very talented.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OrlaithMul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham D, General Manager at Cleaver East, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi Orlaith, many thanks for your lovely review, I am delighted you thoroughly enjoyed your first dining experience at Cleaver East. Hopefully we will see you again soon and you can sample the rest of the tasting plate menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
161 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Don't miss this restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is in the famed Clarence Hotel in Temple Bar. It serves modern european style dishes in a tapas format (all small plates). We loved it! We had a family of 4 and got the 9 dish special and all shared. It was plenty for us!! And the wait staff is so knowledgable with wine pairings and suggestions on dishes. Highly recommend you have a nice dinner there!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KPDandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham D, General Manager at Cleaver East, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review of Cleaver East. I am delighted you enjoyed a lovely meal and enjoyed great service while on holiday in Dublin. Please pop in again the next time you are visiting Ireland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cleaver East also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Cleaver East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing