We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unaccomodating. Terrible management staff!!”
Review of West County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West County Hotel
Ranked #87 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
1 review
“Very unaccomodating. Terrible management staff!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I am absolutely appalled by how we were treated during our stay at this hotel. The management staff are atrocious. Very judgemental and unwelcoming. We arrived at lunchtime on 10th August in a group of 52 football fans travelling from Glasgow to Dublin for the Celtic and Liverpool game. Upon arriving at the hotel we had no option but to sit in the bar area for quite some time as the rooms weren't ready. We had nowhere to store our luggage therefore taking up quite a lot of floor space within the bar area. This caused us to be given looks that weren't that friendly. We spent a considerable amount of money in the hotel bar and all left for the match quite the thing. Upon returning to the hotel we were greated by freshly printed off posters everywhere stating there were no football colours allowed within the hotel bar area. We were made to change or were simply turned away. This wasn't an issue and everyone got changed and came back down for drinks. We were then made to feel intimidated by the constant presence of door stewards hovering around us the rest of the evening. Going as far as to follow us up and down the corridors to our rooms. The following morning as we came down for breakfast we were greeted by another new sign posted on the bar door saying there was no access until 12:30. This is understandable if we had been trying to purchase alcohol but we simple wanted some juice as the hotel vending machine had none. We were told off the manager he could offer us a glass of tap water but that we could not access the bar area until the state time. This left a group of 52 people no choice but to linger around the reception area to be stared at off a manager standing with his arms folded in an aggressive manner. A coach pulled up outside just around 11:30am or thereabouts and dropped off a group of guests, these guests walked straight into the bar no questions asked. A member of our group inquired as to why they could enter the bar and we couldn't to be told simply that they were allowed and that they had nowhere else to go because of us. 12:30 finally arrived and some of us went into the bar area hoping to buy a drink before our journey to then be told after waiting for over and hour and a half in reception that the management had decided we had had enough and he reserved the right to not serve us. Asked why he simply stated it was his choice and he did not have to disclose why. We were then told it best we leave and get on our bus as other guests looked on. I am both embarrassed and offended by how we were treated. It was an absolute disgrace. Never again will I use this hotel and I'm sure many others will agree. Appalling!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear RoxOH,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I'm sorry to read your experience at the hotel did not match our high standards.

I have passed on your comments to our team here and we will continue to improve our service to all customers and guests to ensure our high standards are met.

If you wish to discuss your stay in greater detail, please do not hesitate to contact me using the details below.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The West County Hotel.
Tel: 01 626 4011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    128
    49
    12
    7
See reviews for
59
102
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We booked West County Hotel because it was a great price for the two day break. We arrived at 11am and check in is normally 2pm but this wasn't a problem at all as the receptionist arranged for us to have our room early and we thought this was ideal. Normally hotels make you wait til 2pm on the dot so we were impressed that the West County Hotel managed to give us our room early.
The hotel is clean and presentable, a little dated but It was nice. The room was a great size, clean, tidy and with no issues at all. We got breakfast too and really enjoyed our freshly made breakfast,
The hotel also has the Liffey Bar which we popped into and was nice. It also does food too but we didn't get the chance to have a meal here.

The hotel is located in Chapelizod which is just outside Dublin city centre. At first I felt it was bit out of the way but there was buses every 20 minutes that took you into the city centre for a couple of euros. It was a nice walk down to Heuston Station from the hotel and takes roughly 50 minutes.

The hotel staff are really helpful and friendly and went out the way to help us and makes us feel welcome. They also have various deals and noticed they had a deal with the Vue cinema so dinner at hotel with ticket to the cinema for 21euros which was great for anyone looking for a wee night out while there.

We have been to Dublin a few times and normally opt for the City centre hotel but this time it was nice to see a different sided of Dublin and it was a really nice area.

If you are looking for a great hotel in Dublin at a great price the I would recommend staying at the West County Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leann2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Leann2910,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your two night stay.

Thank you for your kind words on our friendly staff, our value and cleanliness. We try and do our best to accommodate every guest at the hotel, and I am glad to read we managed to check you in early on the day you arrived.

We also try and offer the best value around, and I am glad to read you were happy with our offers. Our cinema deal is very popular among guests and locals alike, and we will continue to strive to bring guests the best value around in Dublin.

Overall, thank you for your review and we would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The West County Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Me and my wife stayed here for 1 night, came to Dublin for a football game, we are frequent visitors to Dublin and stayed in many hotels there, although our stay was ok breakfast was what you needed. There was a coach of traveling supporters staying here the same night, I found the staffs attitude towards them atrocious they where made to remove there tops before entering the bar. They where all well behaved and me as a resident didn't mind them at all they were all just having fun and never caused any trouble or rowdiness. On the morning of checking out, the hotel would not provide any drink not even water or soft drinks. As a hotel providing for its residents I found this disgraceful after a party of maybe 50 people had paid and stayed here they where treated like something you could stand in, as a guest observing this, it was disgraceful. Although our stay was just ok nothing special we had no problems and found the staff helpful, they really made this coach party seem as if they shouldn't b there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoopsman67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Hoopsman67,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I'm sorry to read your experience at the hotel did not match our high standards.

I have passed on your comments to our team here and we will continue to improve our service to all customers and guests to ensure our high standards are met.

If you wish to discuss your stay in greater detail, please do not hesitate to contact me using the details below.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The West County Hotel.
Tel: 01 626 4011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a very dated hotel, but was clean, comfortable and reasonably priced with all necessities. The lady on reception was very friendly and helpful and had good knowledge of the frequent buses into the city. The breakfast was ordered rather than buffet and although nothing to write home about, we had pretty good Irish breakfasts all round. By car it was near enough one road into Dublin so easily accessible.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 87Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear 87Rose,

Thank you for taking the time to review The West County Hotel on Tripadvisor. Reviews are very important to us and allow us to improve the customer experience at the hotel for future guests.

Thank you for your kind words on our price, cleanliness and friendly staff.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The West County Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here from monday to friday last week in july. We arrived early and they booked us in stright away.the room was very clean, we had a great veiw from the front of the hotel.Yes the hotel could do with updating but then the price would go up. The location was great we had hired a car as we did want to travel around, but the bus stops were right outside the hotel. The staff on reception was so helpfull and very friendly, Barmen chatty friendy and informative, giving us good directions. Wow the breakfast first class. great start to the day, Breakfast staff brilliant quick and welcoming. Only had one evening meal as we were out most nights, had the steak it was cooked to perfection. Would definitly stay here again no doubt about that. Thanks to all the staff from Mike and Carole.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel, great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carole d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Carole and Mike,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay.

If you are returning to Dublin in the future, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel where we would be delighted to welcome you back to stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Gary Spain,
General Manager,
The West County Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We liked everything about this hotel. It is located on a bus route which carried us into the heart of Dublin for some sightseeing. The restaurant and bar were excellent. A space behind the hotel was provided for our motorbikes. All of the staff was really good and fun to deal with. The rooms were comfortable and clean. We will certainly stay here again if we are in Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjanderson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear tjanderson5,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words on our cleanliness, staff and parking facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The West County Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed for one night in a double room and I have to say it was one of my favorite stays. Hotel could really do with being updated though. Staff were really friendly and helpful, would definitely return! Breakfast in the morning was lovely too. As we were heading to a concert, reception had some travel options printed out and left for people to take, which I thought was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Laura S,

Thank you for taking the time to review The West County Hotel. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Gary Spain,
General Manager,
The West County Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#68 of 151 in Dublin
1,344 reviews
Uppercross House Hotel
#80 of 151 in Dublin
328 reviews
Tara Towers Hotel
#119 of 151 in Dublin
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dergvale Hotel
#74 of 151 in Dublin
356 reviews
Sandymount Hotel
#26 of 151 in Dublin
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West County Hotel

Property: West County Hotel
Address: Chapelizod | Old Lucan Rd, Dublin 20, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#39 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — West County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your West County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing