We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional Manager”
Review of West County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West County Hotel
Ranked #84 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel on Sat night 23rd for a family Party. On check in the receptionist was professional, bright and bubbly and welcoming , The room tho bathroom a bit dated was fine and bedroom , clean and warm I ordered room service before joining party and the service was prompt and food good. Joined party and great function room, party food was 1st class the band brilliant and atmosphere mighty.
The downer came when band finished at 12.45ish. the bouncer policed and started ordering us out within mins of the band finishing., the non residents im sure must have felt bullied out of the place ,
.When all the non residents had left. we started a sing song as we usually do at family get togethers . ( friends and family who had travelled from Uk and Longford, Roscommon, Kilkenny Galway and other parts of Ireland.who don't get together often) and the sing song and a couple in the residents bar had been okayed by the Birthday Boy when booking ..

The bouncer and the night manager acted like a pair of twits. One of the residents put eyes up in air and asked " am I in Fawlty Towers " .
After reasoning with them and making them aware they were dealing with functional people not a bunch of thugs ( as they were treating us like ) . they still would not give in. but when they eventually seen sense.
I I think the most reasonable person there who saw the big picture was the waiter. not sure of his name but he was the guy that was barman , also the guy who took my sandwich too room after arrived. The guy who called himself the manager . hadn't the guts to come and apologise but sent the barman/waiter to say the compromise and give us a room and a few drinks.and both the ignorant bouncer and manager disappeared after that.
Despite the ignorance we continued with the celebrations . we really wanted the sing song more than the drink. .and we did it.
If you planning a celebration .and booking here . be prepared for .it to end at 12.30 and the mindset. we have your money . now ye can go to bed! ,and the night staff to treat you like you rolled in there out of the slums !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 50thbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Girl at reception very friendly and helpful, rooms old fashioned but warm and clean. Attending a family 50th held in a nice function room. We had been led to believe by management the night before that it would be ok for a sing song and a few drinks in the residents bar because the main bar would be closing at 12:30. Around 1:30a.m we started our sing song when the bouncer demand us to stop singing on our second song he came back all aggressive grabbing people drinks and even spilt drink on one of the guests. The night manager attitude was almost as rude. After almost an hour passing by, only for the barman i think his name was Zac.. showed some customer care he sorted out a small room were we could sing and have a few drinks..not ideal but went a little way towards an apology which the night manger and bouncer refused to give. I have never seen a bouncer with such bad manners.this man was near 50 himself and should surely have known how to treat well behaved paying customers.
i would not recommend this hotel and will not be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrianK1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the west county and had a very enjoyable stay.

There wasn't anything to complain about, everything was spotless (very clean), staff were very helpful with buses and directions, food was brill and breakfast was lovely, best in a long time.

The rooms were comfortable and warm with everything we needed. Beds were very comfy and clean. Bathroom was small but we did not need any bigger.

The bar was busy and music went on til late but we easily slept through this. Everyone is very cheerful and it was good to see it lively rather than quiet and dreary.

Small fare for buses in and out of city which took 10/15 mins depending where we got off at. The First couple times we found it confusing but got the hang of it.

Overall, very good hotel stay which I will remember for it's customer service , food, craic and cleanliness!

We would definitely return again
:-)

Myles & Andrea
Co.Derry

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank AndreaMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear AndreaMcK,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words on our customer service, cleanliness and location.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan
Marketing Manager,
The West County Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Just one member of staff who would be more suited to a roudy pub in a rough area nearly spoiled a family celebration, rude and agressive just because we were singing before 1.30 even though the party organiser had OK'd this with the hotel at time of booking. Food fine party room fine all other staff nice, with exception of this horrible man and the night manager.

20 people had dinner and stayed overnight and 100 people at a catered party deserved better treatment...bad form.

old and dated hotel could not recommend it, no need for this behaviour unacceptable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
6  Thank trishmc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear trishmc2013,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. All reviews are very important to the hotel and allow us to improve our service for future guests.

I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. We have discussed your comments at managerial level here at the hotel. As you may have known, the function room in the hotel is directly under some bedrooms and we must find a balance to look after both function guests and overnight guests in these rooms. Howvever, we take your comments on board and will implement a new system and will aim to improve this balance to the benefits of both types of guests.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The West County Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed in the West County recently for 2 weeks whilst working in Dublin. I was a bit nervous as I had never heard of this hotel before. The hotel is not 4 star luxury but it is spotlessly clean and warm and so comfortable. The staff are fabulous very friendly and helpful. I am coeliac and every night the bar man sat with me and suggested all the items I could eat for that night. He was great and remembered every night to come over and do this. The rooms were lovely and clean and suited us perfectly as we had study to do in the evenings. The sockets in the room are away from the bed, but this still was manageable. The wow factor of this hotel has to be the food. The food was delicious, they had a few different menus which gave great variety to us as we were staying for a few nights. There was the bar menu, an full al carte and then a specials menu. Every night the 4 of us were blown away at how great the food was. The breakfast is cooked to order in the mornings and again the staff are so bright and cheery that even on the earliest start we had they were always there with a big cheery smile and a good morning. The staff in this hotel in the bar, restaurant, reception and housekeeping are a credit to the owners of this hotel, but to those who work in the kitchen you are the most treasured for this business. Well done!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed whilst on a business trip to Dublin. Great welcome on arrival had me smiling before I even got to my room. All parts of hotel were clean, tidy and every member of staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Add to that the food......Irish hospitality at its best! A definite top of the list for places to stay - I'll be there again next trip. Thanks to all.

Room Tip: 2nd floor- front facing have been refurbished this year - very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear David C,

Thank you for your comments.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at The West County Hotel. Thank you for your kind comments on our cleanliness, friendliness and quality of food.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The West County Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I have stayed many times here
And the staff are indeed very helpful
Laura is an asset to this hotel
Also lots of safe parking for us bus drivers
I will be back again
looking forward to my next visit
Also great deal in the hotel with dinner included

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Kevin B,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoy your stays at the hotel. Thank you for your kind words on our friendly staff. I will pass on your comments to the team here.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The West County Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#70 of 150 in Dublin
1,436 reviews
Uppercross House Hotel
#78 of 150 in Dublin
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aberdeen Lodge
#6 of 150 in Dublin
598 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,044 reviews
Tara Towers Hotel
#113 of 150 in Dublin
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West County Hotel

Address: Chapelizod | Old Lucan Rd, Dublin 20, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#39 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £73 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your West County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing