We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay”
Review of West County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West County Hotel
Ranked #84 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

While our stay in the West County Hotel was comfortable and we certainly got value for money with our Groupon Deal... Breakfast was excellent, would recommend the poached eggs. Our evening meal was good, but the menu choice wasn't very exciting. Our room was clean and warm, but the decor could do with an update, especially the shower / bath, when filling the bath the shower continues to run and vise versa.
All the Staff were very pleasant and inviting.

We would be happy to stay at your hotel again.

Barbara & Terence Allen

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Barbara and Terence,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you for your positive comments on our cleanliness, food and friendly staff.

I will investigate the issues you mentioned with the shower and bath, as this should not be the case and we hope to have this sorted quickly.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to our hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan
Marketing Manager
The West County Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Ive realised after staying here that I
can sometimes be too over generous with my stars maybe giving 5 when 4 is more fitting and that I should reserve the 5's for a truely excellent experience that was head and shoulders above the rest like we experienced at West County Hotel.
The staff are brilliant, the best ive encountered in any hotel, from the welcoming girl on reception to the lovely Dolores who served us at dinner and came over to us several times during our stay asking if we were enjoying ourselves and giving us advice about Dublin, it really did make a difference to our trip.
The deal we got on our stay here was amazing. We paid €74 for 2 people for b&b and an evening meal and all 4 of our group agreed that the food was outstanding, the best by far weve had in Dublin.
The hotel is a short walk to Phoenix Park and it is around €15 into the city centre though I understand there is a frequent bus service right outside the hotel.
We travel to Dublin a couple of times a year and usually stay right in the centre, however, after finding this little gem I have absolutely no doubt we will return here time and time again. If i could give 10 stars I would!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ibiza_rox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear ibiza_rox,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted to read of your positive experience at the hotel. I will pass on your comments to Dolores and the rest of our team here, who will sure to be as equally happy with your feedback.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Gary Spain,
General Manager,
The West County Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My dad and I booked 2 single rooms for a funeral on New Year's Eve. We had nice triple rooms on the first floor the first night which were very clean with comfortable beds. Breakfast was very good and the receptionist told us that they would move us to second floor rooms at the back for the next night as they were having music for New Year's Eve. I thought this was very thoughtful and it was carried out without any fuss while we were out. We weren't overly disturbed by the partying downstairs.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in dublin. It has buses into town outside the door and is easily accessible to the motorway for the airport and west of Ireland. Decor and plumbing are a little dated but the helpfulness of the staff can't be beaten.

Room Tip: For extra peace and quiet I'd go for a back room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear lilalien,

Thank you for reviewing the West County Hotel on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read you had a very comforting stay. Thank you for you kind words on our breakfasts, location and friendly staff.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The West County Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Our booking in was very pleasant the foyer was bright and inviting, we were BB and evening meal. The rooms were very clean but a bit dated, breakfast was beautiful. The food in the bar was nice nothing special, not a very big choice of food but adequate, we are returning in January and February on groupon deals, so we are looking forward to it, not far out of main city centre very pleasant.

Room Tip: Pleasant clean but a bit old fashioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylviamcc38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Sylviamcc38,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the new year.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The West County Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed for one night only €75 B&B for two sharing. Our room was clean and spacious décor was a little dated. Beds comfortable breakfast very good. Patricia in the dining room was an excellent waitress. All of the other staff were helpful pleasant and efficient. If you are visiting Dublin on a budget this hotel is well worth a visit even if its a bus ride from the city centre.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeronicaL495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Veronica,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

Thank you for your kind words on our friendly staff, value and cleanliness. I will pass on your compliments to our team here, especially Patricia whom you mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The West County Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel on Sat night 23rd for a family Party. On check in the receptionist was professional, bright and bubbly and welcoming , The room tho bathroom a bit dated was fine and bedroom , clean and warm I ordered room service before joining party and the service was prompt and food good. Joined party and great function room, party food was 1st class the band brilliant and atmosphere mighty.
The downer came when band finished at 12.45ish. the bouncer policed and started ordering us out within mins of the band finishing., the non residents im sure must have felt bullied out of the place ,
.When all the non residents had left. we started a sing song as we usually do at family get togethers . ( friends and family who had travelled from Uk and Longford, Roscommon, Kilkenny Galway and other parts of Ireland.who don't get together often) and the sing song and a couple in the residents bar had been okayed by the Birthday Boy when booking ..

The bouncer and the night manager acted like a pair of twits. One of the residents put eyes up in air and asked " am I in Fawlty Towers " .
After reasoning with them and making them aware they were dealing with functional people not a bunch of thugs ( as they were treating us like ) . they still would not give in. but when they eventually seen sense.
I I think the most reasonable person there who saw the big picture was the waiter. not sure of his name but he was the guy that was barman , also the guy who took my sandwich too room after arrived. The guy who called himself the manager . hadn't the guts to come and apologise but sent the barman/waiter to say the compromise and give us a room and a few drinks.and both the ignorant bouncer and manager disappeared after that.
Despite the ignorance we continued with the celebrations . we really wanted the sing song more than the drink. .and we did it.
If you planning a celebration .and booking here . be prepared for .it to end at 12.30 and the mindset. we have your money . now ye can go to bed! ,and the night staff to treat you like you rolled in there out of the slums !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 50thbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Girl at reception very friendly and helpful, rooms old fashioned but warm and clean. Attending a family 50th held in a nice function room. We had been led to believe by management the night before that it would be ok for a sing song and a few drinks in the residents bar because the main bar would be closing at 12:30. Around 1:30a.m we started our sing song when the bouncer demand us to stop singing on our second song he came back all aggressive grabbing people drinks and even spilt drink on one of the guests. The night manager attitude was almost as rude. After almost an hour passing by, only for the barman i think his name was Zac.. showed some customer care he sorted out a small room were we could sing and have a few drinks..not ideal but went a little way towards an apology which the night manger and bouncer refused to give. I have never seen a bouncer with such bad manners.this man was near 50 himself and should surely have known how to treat well behaved paying customers.
i would not recommend this hotel and will not be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrianK1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#71 of 151 in Dublin
1,427 reviews
Uppercross House Hotel
#77 of 151 in Dublin
353 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castle Hotel
#54 of 151 in Dublin
2,056 reviews
Tara Towers Hotel
#114 of 151 in Dublin
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West County Hotel

Address: Chapelizod | Old Lucan Rd, Dublin 20, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#39 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £77 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your West County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing