We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back again”
Review of West County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
West County Hotel
Ranked #89 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Higher Bebington
Level Contributor
122 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“back again”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

the West is a grand location in Chapelizod, a village with much history. The hotel is clean and comfortable and has everything the traveller needs . Even for us smokers! The staff are wonderful. Working Daft hours mind you Patrick! Buses run all the time to city centre 2 euro 50 cents exact change needed. The food is good although there was a small hiccup with my chowder easily resolved. There's music on a Saturday night that starts at 10 30 pm.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Ann,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay yet again. I will pass on your compliments to our team here and we would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The West County Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    128
    49
    12
    7
See reviews for
58
102
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here in Jan 2014 and had a great time, the room is basic but clean although the bathroom is very small, we stayed 2 nights and our 2nd night we were upgraded to a better room due to my husband falling in the small bath, the staff were great + very helpful to us, the breakfast was good + we stayed for dinner 1 night and were given very good service food was nice,

staff were very good in giving information on bus tours and bus to Dublin City centre from the hotel, the hotel is in a excellent location near Phoenix Park.

We also found a wonderful Restaurant not far from the hotel called Anglers Rest the best food I have ever tasted it is a bit expensive but worth every euro, you do need a car to get to it if you drive from the hotel to the village turn left at the lights and over the bridge turn left again and continue for about 3 mile you will drive up a hill and at the top take a left down to the bottom of the road the Anglers Rest is on the right hand side you will need to book as its very popular.

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel and would book it again, I cant understand anyone giving bad reviews on this hotel, yes it is a older hotel yes the furniture is a bit dated but they are doing the rooms up and they keep it very clean and the staff are very helpful in anything you might need, car parking is free, + the bus stop is across the road so what more could you ask for.

Thank you to all the staff and Management of this hotel are weekend stay was wonderful.

Room Tip: Top floor front facing last room on the end. Just turn to the right hand side when you come out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mckinneybelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Mckinneybelfast,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

Thank you for your compliments on our friendly staff, cleanliness and quality of food. We are delighted you enjoyed the local village of Chapelizod, and as you mentioned, there are some great spots in the village for food and entertainment.

We look be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The West County Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Groupon deal! Fantastic value for money! Staff very friendly. Helpful. Short bus ride into city!!! Had great one night stay! Rooms very clean & warm. Bar nice. Entertainment on the Saturday night!!! Couldn't fault it for the money. Would return .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ennauzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Ennauzs,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

Thank you for kind words on our friendly staff, our cleanliness and value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The West County Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Just by chance we stopped of at this hotel today for lunch, and we were delighted we did so, as the carvery lunch was great food and great value,also we read the reviews when we got home and would have to say the staff were so friendly and class at what they do,also the tea and coffee at 1euro is the icing on the cake, will defo come back,thanks again,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happywacky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear happywacky12,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to the hotel. Our carvery lunch is quite popular among locals and guests alike, and we are delighted you enjoyed your meal and found it to be of very good value.

I will pass on your feedback to our team here and we would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The West County Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

While our stay in the West County Hotel was comfortable and we certainly got value for money with our Groupon Deal... Breakfast was excellent, would recommend the poached eggs. Our evening meal was good, but the menu choice wasn't very exciting. Our room was clean and warm, but the decor could do with an update, especially the shower / bath, when filling the bath the shower continues to run and vise versa.
All the Staff were very pleasant and inviting.

We would be happy to stay at your hotel again.

Barbara & Terence Allen

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Barbara and Terence,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you for your positive comments on our cleanliness, food and friendly staff.

I will investigate the issues you mentioned with the shower and bath, as this should not be the case and we hope to have this sorted quickly.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to our hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan
Marketing Manager
The West County Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibiza_rox
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Ive realised after staying here that I
can sometimes be too over generous with my stars maybe giving 5 when 4 is more fitting and that I should reserve the 5's for a truely excellent experience that was head and shoulders above the rest like we experienced at West County Hotel.
The staff are brilliant, the best ive encountered in any hotel, from the welcoming girl on reception to the lovely Dolores who served us at dinner and came over to us several times during our stay asking if we were enjoying ourselves and giving us advice about Dublin, it really did make a difference to our trip.
The deal we got on our stay here was amazing. We paid €74 for 2 people for b&b and an evening meal and all 4 of our group agreed that the food was outstanding, the best by far weve had in Dublin.
The hotel is a short walk to Phoenix Park and it is around €15 into the city centre though I understand there is a frequent bus service right outside the hotel.
We travel to Dublin a couple of times a year and usually stay right in the centre, however, after finding this little gem I have absolutely no doubt we will return here time and time again. If i could give 10 stars I would!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibiza_rox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear ibiza_rox,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted to read of your positive experience at the hotel. I will pass on your comments to Dolores and the rest of our team here, who will sure to be as equally happy with your feedback.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Gary Spain,
General Manager,
The West County Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My dad and I booked 2 single rooms for a funeral on New Year's Eve. We had nice triple rooms on the first floor the first night which were very clean with comfortable beds. Breakfast was very good and the receptionist told us that they would move us to second floor rooms at the back for the next night as they were having music for New Year's Eve. I thought this was very thoughtful and it was carried out without any fuss while we were out. We weren't overly disturbed by the partying downstairs.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in dublin. It has buses into town outside the door and is easily accessible to the motorway for the airport and west of Ireland. Decor and plumbing are a little dated but the helpfulness of the staff can't be beaten.

Room Tip: For extra peace and quiet I'd go for a back room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear lilalien,

Thank you for reviewing the West County Hotel on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read you had a very comforting stay. Thank you for you kind words on our breakfasts, location and friendly staff.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The West County Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
1,324 reviews
Uppercross House Hotel
#77 of 151 in Dublin
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tara Towers Hotel
#122 of 151 in Dublin
730 reviews
Sandymount Hotel
#28 of 151 in Dublin
2,164 reviews
Maples House Hotel
#98 of 151 in Dublin
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West County Hotel

Property: West County Hotel
Address: Chapelizod | Old Lucan Rd, Dublin 20, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — West County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your West County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing