We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
West County Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Drury Court Hotel(Dublin)
US$346
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$328
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sandymount Hotel(Dublin)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$357
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$278
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dublin Skylon Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sheldon Park Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
106
141
56
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
141
56
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrebus stop rightcarvery lunchfrequent buseswithin easy reachfirst floorirish breakfastfantastic staycomfortable hotelstayed here for one nightbooked this hoteltaxiirelandironhairdryerreceptionistguinness
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 322 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I was coming to Dublin to do the Great Ireland Run and decided to book this hotel as the cost was reasonable and it was close to the Phoenix Park.

We arrived at 5.30 pm on Saturday. The receptionist explained that the lift was out of action and we were booked on the second floor. As my parents aren't that mobile, she thankfully moved us to the first floor. We made a reservation for dinner in the restaurant for 6.30 pm.

Dinner was lovely. We ordered from the early bird menu and the food was lovely and the cost was reasonable.

The room was basic but cosy. There was tea and coffee making facilities, a small toilet, a bath and shower, a tv with alot of channels, a ironing board and iron, and a hairdryer!

There was music in the bar until 12 but after that we heard nothing and had a great nights sleep.

Breakfast was lovely. There was a great selection. My parents had porridge. We also had a fried breakfast with plenty of bread and self service for cereals and juices.

The only cons I have is that the room got very hot during the night and when I had a bath in Saturday evening, the water was only tepid. Apart from that I would strongly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here in the future!

There is a bus; no. 66 and 67, that stop directly outside the hotel and go to the city centre (Merrion Square).

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Anniebannie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Anniebannie1981,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

Thank you for your kind words on our friendly staff, location and menus. I am sorry that the lift was out of order during your stay and I am glad to read it did not affect you too negatively.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your breakfast. We try and make sure our guests have ample choice and quality for the most important meal of the day and I am delighted to read you enjoyed this.

We are currently beginning plans to upgrade all bathrooms in the hotel and this should improve the quality in this area. We will also check the heating in the bedrooms to ensure an adequate temperature is kept at night. Unfortunately, with the changeable weather, this can be a difficult task, but we will try and improve this process.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The West County Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Such an experience, and not in a good way. Stayed here for a family function in March 2014. While the hotel looks cold and uninviting from the outside, the interior holds even less charm. The precast structure appears to have had little spent on it since construction, and you would wonder if, even back in the day, it ever looked well.

Watch out for the lift, internal concertina doors do not quite close together and little hands easily pass through the gap making contact with passing structure (really, I kid you not)

Staying in a family room, ensure that your family are small as space is a premium. Toilet and shower, while dated appear clean(ish) but unfortunately in our particular room the bath didn’t function. When one of the little people required a little (post vomit) cleaning we had to use the sink, and then discovered that there was no hot water. Reception were cheerful but initially unhelpful, and ultimately sent up an overworked and under qualified barman who no-doubt pours a great pint, but knew nothing about taps, baths or vomit covered children. Anyway, used the in room kettle to boil enough water to wash the child in tepid water, in the sink and all was well.

Watch out in the car park, at night time its badly lit and when pushing around a buggy there are several potholes that will have you knee deep in water, really, I’m not joking, smaller holes aren’t so bad but are still deeper than the wheels on a standard buggy.

Breakfast the next day was again not quite what you would expect from a modern hotel, but was consistent with the overall experience. Checking out the girl at reception, who was the same one on as the previous evening (who sent up the barman to fix the bath) was again cheerful and pleasant to such an extent that you'd be left wondering if “all was well”! No allowance was made for any issues encountered.

Our whole experience was like being transported back in time to some soviet era theme park, complete with shabby precast, faded decoration, lack of maintenance and was made even more authentic by our bath time woes.

All in all I'd give it a miss, there are plenty of laneways, bus shelters and public parks that offer better accommodation at far better value. If your thinking about it….don’t!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LadyfromKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear LadyfromKildare,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on TripAdvisor. We fully appreciate all reviews and use them to improve our product and service to better the experience for future guests.

I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. I apologise for the issue you experienced with the lack of hot water in your room. Unfortunately, as was explained to you on check-in, we were aware of this issue from early afternoon on the day you were to check-in, but we could not get a plumber out until the very next day and could not reallocate you another bedroom as we were fully booked up on the night.

In relation to our car parking facilities, I can assure you that there are no large potholes in the public car parking areas. Towards the back of the hotel, the ground surface can be uneven, but this area is clearly marked with signs indicating no access for the public. The area is not lit for these reasons.

Finally, I am disappointed over your choice of wording used to describe a member of our staff in your comments. I find the comment "you'd be left wondering if “all was well”!" to be particularly insulting and degrading, particularly when the reasons for this is because the said member of staff was overly friendly.

Overall, I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. If you would like to discuss your stay in further detail, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The West County Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

This is a great little hotel. Yes it's dated but what it offers, more than makes up for the decor.

A very friendly staff, good food, value for money and location (3 mins from the M50 motorway and 20 mins into Dublin).

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Newrytraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Newrytraveller1,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

Thank you for your kind words on our friendly staff, our value for money and our location.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The West County Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was a hotel on a groupon offer and it was lovely. The decor is a little dated but when you look past that you find a lovely hotel with amazing and very friendly staff. Couldn't have asked for more lovely people. This is a great hotel and with a little bit of updating would be even better! Food was top notch and service again was brilliant. Definitely visit again. And as a side note the woman running the kids club on Sunday 23rd march was stunning! dmansmith@hotmail.co.uk message me

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smithy878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Smithy878,

Thank you for reviewing the hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind compliments on our service, food and friendly staff. I will pass on your compliments to our team here and especially Catherine in the Kid's Klub, who will be delighted with the feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Gary Spain,
General Manager,
The West County Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

What a lovely hotel! The staff are so helpful they really couldn't do anymore for you! The food I really enjoyed! Portion size also fab! So handy for nipping in and out of Dublin city! Bus runs every half hour and there is any amount of them! Rooms clean and bed extremely comfortable! The hotel is well heated and all rooms are comfortable and very homely! Im already planning my next trip down!
Its definitely not the hilton but for this price it is Amazing value and I was made feel so welcome id choose this family run hotel over some posh place any day!
Go stay! Try it! You will agree! :)
Sarah xxx

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsmcd79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your very kind review of the hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your compliments to our team here and we would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan
Marketing Manager,
The West County Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews