We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay”
Review of West County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West County Hotel
Ranked #87 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Monaghan, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed for one night while I went to a show in Dublin and found the staff very pleasant and helpful. The decor was a bit dated but this was fine as the atmosphere in the hotel was great. Had dinner on the night of the stay and found it very nice and reasonably priced. After our show we went back to the hotel for a few drinks and were pleasantly surprised at the music being played in the bar. The room was very clean and and comfortable and we slept very well. The hotel was busy but the staff always had time to make sure everything was okay for you. All in all a great stay and will definatley be back.

Room Tip: We were in the front over the main entrance and thought it might be a bit noisey but no we never hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Alorse83,

Thank you for reviewing The West County Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind comments on our friendly staff, atmosphere and bedrooms.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,
Gary Spain,
General Manager,
The West County Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    128
    49
    12
    7
See reviews for
59
102
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just stayed here for four nights with family and once again had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The staff are all wonderful and nothing is too much trouble.We also attended a function there during our stay and the proffesional way the staff dealt with us was refreshing. As my Mother has stayed here on many occasions, she loves to see the same familiar faces amongst the staff and they are on first name terms with her which she loves. special thanks to Patricia, Mary and Daughter and James in the restaurant .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meeeeeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Meeeeeesh,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. Reviews are very important to us and allow us to improve our product and service for future guests.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind comments. I will pass these on to our team here and I am sure Patricia, both Mary's and James will be delighted with the compliments.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Gary Spain,
General Manager,
The West County Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollesley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Visited for one week with elderly friend, and was amazed by the friendliness and courteous nature of the wonderful staff here. The food was excellent, rooms were clean and tidy. Small drawbacks were the tired nature of my room with poor, difficult to control shower, broken toilet seat and noisy pipe work. These are minor issues as everything else was very good. Would definitely visit again. Special mention to Kelly from bar staff who was a delight.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suffolkbirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear suffolkbirdie,

Thank you for reviewing The West County Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind comments. I will pass these on to our team here, and especially Kelly, who will be delighted with the review.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,
Gary Spain,
General Manager,
The West County Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Recently stayed for a weekend with 30+ people and ran a function over 3 days. The staff could not have been any more helpful. The service we got was second to none, the facilities are excellent, food delicious and staff very pleasant. Our overseas guests were full of praise for the venue and can't wait to come back. If you are need a venue I would recommend the hotel, it can cater for your every need. A great hotel with great staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Derek C,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. Reviews are very important to us and allow us to improve our product and service for future guests.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind comments on our friendly staff, service and hotel facilities.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Gary Spain,
General Manager,
The West County Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuam, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed five nights in the West County Hotel and my stay was very enjoyable. My room was very comfortable and warm without being too stuffy as hotel rooms can often be. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The bar food was delicious with plenty of variety however the breakfast menu was a little limited with poor variety in the buffet.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annamjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear annamjen,

Thank you for reviewing The West County Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind comments on our friendly staff, bedrooms and food served at the hotel.

We will be reviewing our breakfast menus in the coming weeks and we will try and facilitate more variety for our guests.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,
Gary Spain,
General Manager,
The West County Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalkey Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A group of family and friends stayed here for a celebration nearby. The hotel and restaurant staff could not have been more helpful, welcoming and warm. Yes, the decor is old-fashioned, but so is the service, and I mean that in the nicest possible way. Great value for money, and a convenient location for the West or points along the M50. We had a really lovely family gathering and the experience was enriched by our stay in the West County. Thank you to everyone there!

Room Tip: Lovely views at the front, quieter at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SETDalkeyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear SETDalkeyIreland,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. Reviews are very important to us and allow us to improve our product and service for future guests.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind comments on our friendly staff, service and location.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Gary Spain,
General Manager,
The West County Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Didn't stay here, but had a lunch and a dinner recently. The lunch (turkey, stuffing, veg, gravy) was bland. And my dinner of pasta with chicken and mushrooms with cream sauce was not much better. For the first time in a long time, I resorted to putting salt on both meals. And the garlic bread (€2 extra, with the pasta) was two TINY pieces, both overdone and dry.

Service was generally good, though one of the barmen was a bit abrupt.

The bar and lobby area seem to have been done up recently and are nice, but the hotel is otherwise showing it's age, and doesn't look very appealing from outside.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mambero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear mambero,

Thank you for reviewing The West County Hotel on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your meal at the hotel.

If you wish to discuss your experience in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me using the following email: garyspain@westcountyhotel.ie

Thank you for choosing The West County Hotel and we hope your experience do not deter you from visiting in the future.

Kind Regards,
Gary Spain,
General Manager,
The West County Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#66 of 151 in Dublin
1,345 reviews
Uppercross House Hotel
#77 of 151 in Dublin
329 reviews
Dergvale Hotel
#75 of 151 in Dublin
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tara Towers Hotel
#119 of 151 in Dublin
747 reviews
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West County Hotel

Property: West County Hotel
Address: Chapelizod | Old Lucan Rd, Dublin 20, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#39 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — West County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your West County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing