We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for travelers who need a decent bed to sleep in.”
Review of Dublin Citi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dublin Citi Hotel
Ranked #75 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for travelers who need a decent bed to sleep in.”
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Location is great, right in the thick of it! Room is dated yet clean. Food is delicious. Bar and restaurant service is sporadic, but this is by no means unusual for this part of the world. If you require a centrally located, clean place to stay that is not going to break the bank then the Citi Hotel is for you! I would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrvlWrtr16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OMAR_DC, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Thank you for your feedback. At Dublin Citi Hotel we are always trying to provide our guests a very comfortable and a pleasant stay. Being located in the heart of the City is an added advantage to all our guests. We are just minutes away from most of the major tourist attractions.

We would be delighted to offer you the best price possible. All our return customers are eligible for a 10% discount.

We greatly appreciate your response and Hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    430
    203
    67
    58
See reviews for
80
333
97
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I really cannot complain anything about Dublin citi Hotel. The location is great. Chris at front desk was very helpful. Noise was expected; but actually It was not that bad! The ear plugs in the room made us laugh! Bar downstsair provide good meals and drinks. Overall our stay was pleasent!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frogirl1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OMAR_DC, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Thank you for your feedback. At Dublin Citi Hotel we are always trying to provide our guests a very comfortable and a pleasant stay. Being located in the heart of the City is an added advantage to all our guests. We are just minutes away from most of the major tourist attractions. There is noise on the weekends but is very quiet and peaceful during the weekdays.

Our in house Bar and restaurants are top class and most people say we make the best chicken wings in Dublin. In addition all our guests get free entry into the nightclub, food and beverages on a discounted price.

We would be delighted to offer you the best price possible. All our return customers are eligible for a 10% discount.

We greatly appreciate your response and Hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We found the tapas-style Irish food in the Citi Bar delicious, filling and great value for money. One of the best meal deals we found in Dublin. Cannot rate the hotel as we did not stay there.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredjournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback. At Dublin Citi Hotel we are always trying our best to provide the best customer service possible. The room are regularly inspected to make sure everything is in place. We have a 24/7 maintenance and housekeeping staff to take care of all our customer needs.

Having an in house bar and restaurant is an added bonus to our guests. We have live music with well known bands everyday. In addition, all the guests get free entry into the nightclub and also great offers on food and beverages.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Was booked into this hotel for 2 nights. Room was acceptable but not outstanding. The location of this hotel is great if you want to be right in the thick of activity around Temple Bar and if you are planning not being in bed until the very early hours. If however you do plan going to bed at a decent hour and trying to sleep then this isn't the place to stay. As others have said the hotel is part of a pub which reverts to a loud nightclub in the evening which is open until the very early hours with all the attendent loud music, loud people, drunks, sirens etc. It is also on one if the main city roads which is close to the police station so there is continual noise from heavy traffic and police pursuits etc. In short it was impossible to sleep here either during the night or during the day and after the first night I checked out and went to stay somewhere where it was possible to get some sleep.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arnage_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
We appreciate your patience and time for the review of our hotel. Being located amidst the busy streets and central locale of Dublin, Dublinciti Hotel has a lot of advantages coupled with some disadvantageous. The weekends tend to be noisy due to the crowd on the streets as well in the night club attached to our hotel. The weekdays are much calmer. Being an old and historic hotel, we have done our best to equip the rooms with all the facilities. Each floor has its own WLAN router for speed and connectivity. Our kitchens provide one of the best 'Full Irish Breakfasts' along with a new menu with alternatives for breakfast. We at Dublinciti Hotel are trying our best to better the amenities in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

I am not going to bad mouth this hotel because our stay was most enjoyable.. Initially when i walked into the bedroom i was gutted cos i like a little bit of luxury while i'm away. The room was tiny ~ Room 302. You couldn't swing a cat in it!!!! Bathroom was clean, decor in bedroom definately needs a revamp. I asked the receptionist Chris if we could move to another room he was most helpful. Explained i would have to check out in the morning and re-book again. Anyway in the end we didn't bother moving. Excellent location, we were up for a concert in The Olympia just a few doors away and plenty of bars to choose from. Bar food in hotel was lovely Tapas top notch. I would stay again after all my moaning we didn't spend much time in the room anyway.... i know typical woman!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angiepangies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
We apologise for the inconvenience cause. Our maintenance and housekeeping staff are very committed in keeping the rooms and the premises clean and tidy at all times.

As we are situated on a busy city centre road, there can be traffic noise which is why we provide earplugs for your convenience.

We will take your review under serious consideration and make sure no such inconvenience is caused to any of our guests.

We greatly appreciate your feedback!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Awful very disappointed!!!! Wardrobe looked as though it came from a junk shop, perpetual noise all night long with traffic and seemingly endless people shouting and screaming on the streets as well as in the hotel corridors, hardly slept the two nights we were there. I Phoned ahead to have a bottle of champaigne in the room was it there NO CHANCE.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dublin666666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
We appreciate your patience and time for the review of our hotel. Being located amidst the busy streets and central locale of Dublin, Dublinciti Hotel has a lot of advantages coupled with some disadvantageous. The weekends tend to be noisy due to the crowd on the streets as well in the night club attached to our hotel. The weekdays are much calmer. Being an old and historic hotel, we have done our best to equip the rooms with all the facilities. Each floor has its own WLAN router for speed and connectivity. Our kitchens provide one of the best 'Full Irish Breakfasts' along with a new menu with alternatives for breakfast. We at Dublinciti Hotel are trying our best to better the amenities in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
227 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

I stayed here in March 2009 and forgot to review this hotel! I was here for three nights over St. Patricks Day before touring Western Ireland. We sought out a hotel in the Temple Bar area that would be close to all the attractions. We got a great rate, about 60 euros and the hotel was in a great location. Temple Bar was right behind us which was convenient for anytime we wanted to eat and drink. All the attractions we wanted to see were close walking distance. The view from our room was right over the street to watch the awesome parade too! The rooms were decent and just what we expected for the price we paid. Sure the management wasn't pleasant and the noise could be annoying, but when you're there FOR St. Patricks Day, how much can you complain? If you're a traveler who is looking for a decent, clean place in a good location, for a good price to save money for the other parts of your trip, then you can't go wrong here. If you want a better nights sleep, then definately don't stay next to the party square of Dublin!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christie584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OMAR_DC, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Thank you for your feedback. At Dublin Citi Hotel we are always trying to provide our guests a very comfortable and a pleasant stay. Being located in the heart of the City is an added advantage to all our guests. We are just minutes away from most of the major tourist attractions.

We would be delighted to offer you the best price possible. All our return customers are eligible for a 10% discount.

We greatly appreciate your response and Hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Mercantile Hotel
#113 of 151 in Dublin
396 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#79 of 151 in Dublin
2,226 reviews
The Central Hotel
#92 of 151 in Dublin
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#26 of 151 in Dublin
1,431 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#82 of 151 in Dublin
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dublin Citi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin Citi Hotel

Property: Dublin Citi Hotel
Address: Dublin Citi Hotel 46-49 Dame Street | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Arch Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Dublin Citi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in a 19th-century building in Dublin’s Temple Bar district. It offers a 24-hour reception, comfortable rooms with free Wi-Fi, an award-winning 4-floor bar and a nightclub.Guests can explore Dublin Castle and Trinity College, both are just a 5-minute walk away. The hotel is a 10-minute walk from Henry and Grafton Street, Dublin’s premier shopping areas.Rooms at The Dublin Citi Hotel of Temple Bar have a warm or fresh décor. They feature a TV, ironing equipment and tea/coffee-making facilities. They include bathrooms with baths, showers and hairdryers.Dublin Citi Hotel has a partnership with Crunch Fitness in Temple Bar, which allows guests to enjoy complimentary access to the premises (GYM, POOL, SAUNA...) during their stay.The vibrant Trinity Bar has 3 bars, an all day bar menu and 11 screens showing live sporting events. It has regular comedy and music nights. The modern Havana Club is open until late on Friday and Saturday nights and has an LCD floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Dublin Citi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Arch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing