We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing. Will return”
Review of Dublin Citi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dublin Citi Hotel
Ranked #74 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is by far the best place I've stayed in dublin. Not only is the location incredible but the staff was amazing. We were robbed and Becky at the front desk went above and beyond helping make sure we received funds from home. Always friendly and with a smile. The rooms were clean and cozy. Bar below was great craic good priced drinks. I will definitely return every year!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback.
At Dublin Citi Hotel we are always trying our best to provide the best customer service possible. The room are regularly inspected to make sure everything is in place. We have a 24/7 maintenance and housekeeping staff to take care of all our customer needs.

Having an in house bar and restaurant is an added bonus to our guests. We have live music with well known bands everyday. In addition, all the guests get free entry into the nightclub and also great offers on food and beverages.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again!

We greatly appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Room its self was not the best kinda small and cramped but thats not what you pay for. What you do pay for is the restraunt thats attached to the hotel for easy of food hunting and locational value smack dab in the middle of the city. Can go wrong with this hotels location and the parade is just in front of the hotel so you dont have to travel far. Quite pricey but worth the locational advantage.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank najimalhamdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback. At Dublin Citi Hotel we are always trying our best to provide the best customer service possible. The room are regularly inspected to make sure everything is in place. We have a 24/7 maintenance and housekeeping staff to take care of all our customer needs.

Having an in house bar and restaurant is an added bonus to our guests. We have live music with well known bands everyday. In addition, all the guests get free entry into the nightclub and also great offers on food and beverages.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed in Rm 206, a double room, for £100 per night for 5 nights over the St Patrick’s Festival. I chose the room based on cost and the reviews on tripadvisor. I found that the tripadvisor reviews are misleading, and consequently it was unsuitable for our needs. The best way that I can explain this hotel is: the Dublin Citi Hotel is like private hostel rooms.

My greatest advice for people choosing to stay at the Dublin Citi is: BYO earplugs, BYO eye mask, BYO pillows. It would be very suitable for people who are wanting to get out in Temple Bar for a few nights, rather than someone who was on a long-term holiday who needs sleep sometimes. Our room was AMAZING for the St Patrick’s Day Parade – we watched it out the window which overlooked the parade route.

The size of the room was small, but functional.

You are provided with earplugs on arrival. This is a testament to the noise that comes up through the hotel from the “in house bar” and the noise of garbage trucks and people who pour out of the bars at 3.30am. I’m a girl, so the provided earplugs were too big for me and fell out during the night. Consequently, I awoke every night at 3.30am – and then again at 6am when the light streamed in to the room, because the curtains aren’t blockout.

Like other people have mentioned, we had some difficulty with other guests. We only saw “frat bro” types that you’d normally see in hostels. One morning, there was a guy in the hallway dressed in his underwear that knocked on the door next door for about half an hour. On the elevator, there were guys hollering.

The fixtures were not good. The double bed was two different-height singles pushed together. The pillows are paper-thin, the windows were not double-glazed, and the walls were paper-thin. The wifi internet worked occasionally – but couldn’t be relied upon, and we couldn’t access it at all for huge swathes of time.

Roomkeeping came every day and exchanged the bathroom towels. The bedsheets were pulled up but not replaced. By the end of the five days, there was hair all through the bed and it felt unclean. Twice we found clean flannels in the bed after they had been pulled up – that we hadn’t left in the bed. The floor was never vacuumed, and at the end of the five days it was unkempt.

Most days we were out of our room, but something that really irked me happened on the one day we decided to try to have a lazy day in the room, and put up the “Do Not Disturb” sign. Roomkeeping knocked on the door at 10am. They acknowledge the sign, but said they had to get a cot that they had stored under our bed. About an hour later, Reception called the room to ask if we needed a cot. We didn’t and we hadn’t requested one, and they apologised for the disturbance. About 5 minutes later, Roomkeeping knocked on the door again. Again they acknowledged the sign, but said they needed to store a cot under our bed again.

Room Tip: Rooms off Dame St might be quieter - but I doubt they'd be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Princess_Mishka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

We apologise for the inconvenience caused. Our maintenance and housekeeping staff are very committed in keeping the rooms and the premises clean and tidy at all times.

As we are situated on Dame St, there can be some noise from the traffic, as you visited during the St Patrick's Day festival there would have been significantly more noise during your stay from the surrounding area as it is such a busy time of year. However we do provide earplugs for the guests comfort in situations like this.

We are sorry to read about your disturbance during the night by another guest, unfortunately it is unclear in your review if you reported this to reception, I have checked our records and have found no record of this.
There is a staff member on reception 24/7, so we would ask that if you are disturbed during the night to report it to reception so we can deal with the disturbance.

I can only apologise for the disturbance caused on your final day here in Dublin Citi Hotel. I assure you this is not a regular occurrence and will be looked into.

We will take your review under serious consideration and make sure no such inconvenience is caused to any of our guests.

We greatly appreciate your feedback!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The hotel was a perfect location for a 5 day stay within easy reach of the National Library, Trinity College, Temple Bar and everything you would want to see. We were unlucky enough to have some noisy guests next door, drunkenly knocking on various door at 3 am in the morning but only 1 night and not the fault of the hotel. It seemed OK when we stayed in the week but were told it gets noisy at weekends...and if you want central, you will get noise. The room was small (we were in 207 which was a side room and quieter), but ample. The only small problem was the shower was hard to move without hitting the mixer taps. The staff were great, very helpful and friendly. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a central location at a reasonable rate. At E50 a night, it was fine for us. We are glad we found it here.

Room Tip: We were in 207 off the main street. Probably quieter as we asked for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garthess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback. At Dublin Citi Hotel we are always trying our best to provide the best customer service possible. The room are regularly inspected to make sure everything is in place. We have a 24/7 maintenance and housekeeping staff to take care of all our customer needs.

Having an in house bar and restaurant is an added bonus to our guests. We have live music with well known bands everyday. In addition, all the guests get free entry into the nightclub and also great offers on food and beverages.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Center of city. Excellent. 5* Friendly staff. Excellent. 5*
Room is small but practical.4*
Spicy wings. Bloody hot :-D5*
STEAK Well cooked. 5*
Overall. A pleasurable Stay.
Special mention about the bar staff in trinity bar venue connected to the hotel , well looked after by the lovely ladies. Thank you again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank crabbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback. At Dublin Citi Hotel we are always trying our best to provide the best customer service possible. The room are regularly inspected to make sure everything is in place. We have a 24/7 maintenance and housekeeping staff to take care of all our customer needs.

Having an in house bar and restaurant is an added bonus to our guests. We have live music with well known bands everyday. In addition, all the guests get free entry into the nightclub and also great offers on food and beverages.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The location is great, close to everything.The room was small but clean and warm enough. It is quite noisy at night from the bar downstairs when live music is going on. Wifi connection in the room was not always good,it took time sometimes to get it connected finally,and also it got disconnected suddenly,but nice to have it anyway. Would be nice if there are spare towels in the room. Free use of fitness centre nearby was a big plus.-well equipped gym and a good swimming pool. Good hotel, I had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback. At Dublin Citi Hotel we are always trying our best to provide the best customer service possible. The room are regularly inspected to make sure everything is in place. We have a 24/7 maintenance and housekeeping staff to take care of all our customer needs.

Having an in house bar and restaurant is an added bonus to our guests. We have live music with well known bands everyday. In addition, all the guests get free entry into the nightclub and also great offers on food and beverages.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The staff and house-keeping is very friendly, but our room was small and the bathroom is uncomfortable: the toilet is instable and to close to the bath. The sink has two separate taps for warm and cold water and sometimes the warm water is very hot. When we arrived the sink was blocked and there was so much garbisch in the tubes that there must have been problems before our arrival! There is little room for hanging your clothes and the doors of the closet are defect.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiezel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback. At Dublin Citi Hotel we are always trying our best to provide the best customer service possible. The room are regularly inspected to make sure everything is in place. We have a 24/7 maintenance and housekeeping staff to take care of all our customer needs.

Having an in house bar and restaurant is an added bonus to our guests. We have live music with well known bands everyday. In addition, all the guests get free entry into the nightclub and also great offers on food and beverages.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#78 of 152 in Dublin
2,414 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#42 of 152 in Dublin
1,019 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#61 of 152 in Dublin
1,239 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#35 of 152 in Dublin
2,412 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#47 of 152 in Dublin
3,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dublin Citi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin Citi Hotel

Address: Dublin Citi Hotel 46-49 Dame Street | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Arch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £59 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dublin Citi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in a 19th-century building in Dublin’s Temple Bar district. It offers a 24-hour reception, comfortable rooms with free Wi-Fi, an award-winning 4-floor bar and a nightclub.Guests can explore Dublin Castle and Trinity College, both are just a 5-minute walk away. The hotel is a 10-minute walk from Henry and Grafton Street, Dublin’s premier shopping areas.Rooms at The Dublin Citi Hotel of Temple Bar have a warm or fresh décor. They feature a TV, ironing equipment and tea/coffee-making facilities. They include bathrooms with baths, showers and hairdryers. Dublin Citi Hotel has a partnership with Crunch Fitness in Temple Bar, which allows guests to enjoy complimentary access to the premises (GYM, POOL, SAUNA...) during their stay.The vibrant Trinity Bar has 3 bars, an all day bar menu and 22 screens showing live sporting events. It has regular music nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dublin Citi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Arch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing