We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, clean, cozy, charming hosts. 20 minute walk to city center.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avoca House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avoca House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 161 Dublin B&B and Inns
Seattle
1 review
“Comfortable, clean, cozy, charming hosts. 20 minute walk to city center.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2008

Audrey & Jack were perfect hosts. I stayed in a triplet which included one full sized bed and a twin. The room was pretty tight but just what we needed for 2 nights in Drumcondra, a district of Dublin. The bathroom was small, but pretty typical for a European B&B: Small corner sink with separate hot and cold faucets, and a small corner shower stall. It was nice to have a small corner tv mounted on the wall and hot water kettle with fixings for hot tea. Each hall had a faucet for drinking water. We missed the first day of breakfast and came late the second morning but Audrey was nice enough to cook us up some hot eggs and there was plenty of cold cereal, juice, fruit and coffee.

Great location if you want to avoid the city center, but still close enough to walk or bus in. The Avoca House is just down the street from the main road & city bus stop (5 min walk) that takes you into the city center (20min walk). If you are in town on a Friday, you can catch a football match at the local soccer field which is a 10-15min walk from the B&B. Fagan's pub is a 5 min walk, with good food and a fun place for a laid back beer with some local folk.

One con: Our group of 3 only had one key. It would have been nice to have our own so we didn't have to ring the bell when coming back on our own.

  • Liked — Clean and friendly hosts
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nurse_Cora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    20
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
54
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

My husband, brother and sister-in-law all stayed here for a long weekend trip in August 2008. From booking via email with Jack to the check out process, this B&B was a wonderful experience for us first-timers to Dublin. The location is very convenient - between the airport and city center. A bus stop, ATMs and a great little pub (Fagan's Pub) are all very close. The rooms were very clean and spacious. Agreed that the bathrooms are small, but they get the job done. Jack and Audrey make this place feel like home! They are wonderful hosts and seem to enjoy getting to know everyone who passes through. The Irish breakfast was delicious and very filling. There were plenty of other breakfast items available as well. I would stay at the Avoca House at any price.
If you plan to take a long weekend (3 days) in Dublin, my recommendation would be to buy the 3-day pass for 25EUR through the Dublin Bus company. It allows you on the Hop On/Hop Off busses, all public busses and the Air Link for all three days.
Enjoy your stay!!

  • Liked — Jack and Audrey, Location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MoshiKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SARATOGA SPRINGS, NEW YORK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2008

We have just returned from Ireland. Our five day stay at the Avoca House was super.
Jack and Audrey made our stay exceptional. Our breakfasts were awesome and the chit-chat and info they provided us was priceless. The rooms were great.
The B & B is conveniently located to Dublin City Center..Just a walk to the bottom of the hill and a ten minute bus ride to the city.

In all five of us who stayed there would recommend this as a place to add to your Dublin experience.

Larry Burke Saratoga Springs, New York--USA

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank LARRYBURKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2008

We have spent 5 nights in Avoca house with my husband in the middle of May. We loved this B&B very much.

It has a great location - in a very friendly surroundings. It's easily reachable from the airport and from the city center too. There are a lot of buses stop at the corner of Hollybank Rd and Drumcondra Rd.
At the bus stop there is the Fagan's Pub where we drank one Guinness every evening when returning home.

Our room was on the 1st floor. Big enough to feel ourselves comfortable. The bathroom was much smaller, and the wash-basin was even tiny. But the whole bathroom was usable and clean. We liked very much that hair-dryer was also included in the room. The other useful thing was the tea/coffee maker inside the room.
Unfortunately the house originally was not built to be a hotel, and the walls are very thin, so if there are many guests in this B&B you may hear your neighbours in the evening or morning.

We've eaten Irish breakfast every morning - Audrey made it fantastic for us. It was very delicious and it gave us power to be able to walk till our late lunch. And she gave us every morning some helpful advice for our daily program beside the fantastic breakfast.

I think this is a very good B&B in great location and with very friendly owners!

  • Liked — Irish breakfast & Audrey
  • Disliked — The tiny wash-basin
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pelike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2008

My mom and I stayed at the Avoca House for the week of Christmas in 2007. It was our first trip overseas and Avoca House helped make our trip more enjoyable then we ever could have imagined. Our trip started off bumpy as our connecting flight from London to Dublin was delayed over 5 hours because of fog. We should have been knocking on Avoca's door at about 730pm, but even though we didn't pull up to Avoca House until about 1230am Jack was waiting there to greet us. The next morning we had a wonderful Irish breakfast cooked by Audrey (our other host) and had some laughs and good conversation with some of the other guests. Avoca House is set in a beautiful neighborhood just a few minutes walk from the bus stops (which were also located next to a bank -which meant easy access to an ATM as well as a post office -which we used to mail our post cards). My mom and I used the bus system the entire time we were in Dublin and spent the rest of our time on foot which worked out perfectly for us. Our room at Avoca House was very clean and homey. (Yes the bathrooms aren't large, particularly the shower - but there was plenty of hot water to go around. And if all you're looking for on your vacation is a large bathroom I'm sure there are plenty of stiff hotels to accommodate you). Having a smaller shower then what I was used to was very much worth the unique and warm experience we had. Christmas of 2007 was the first Christmas that my mom and I spent without my father (he passed on- June of 2007) and Jack, Audrey and their son (as well as the other guests) helped us to enjoy ourselves despite our loss and really opened our eyes to the warmth of the Irish culture and the thoughtfulness of people throughout the world. I plan on studying abroad in Ireland in another year or two and you can bet that I will travel to Dublin just to stay at the Avoca House and visit with what I like to think of as our "Special Irish Family". If you're traveling to Dublin and are ready to experience something other then a typical hotel I suggest you visit Avoca House and let them show you what Irish hospitality is all about.

  • Liked — The hospitality of the hosts and the neighborhood.
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xDreamWeaverx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2008

Spent a very good time there, Audrey and Jack are fantastic people... only because of them it's worth going for it.

Rooms good size, very clean and comfy mattresses for a very good sleep (surrounding quiet but only a few minutes from bus stop AND on the way from the airport to the city centre).

Breakfast from Irish to cearal with fresh frut... coffee was very good as well.

Everything was spotless and enjoyable - highly recommendable!

See you there! Corinne

  • Liked — Audrey and Jack
  • Disliked — - no idea -
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank swiss_corinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2008

A friend and I stayed at the Avoca House for 10 nights this past month and have only good things to say. Rooms are small but clean and comfortable and incredibly quaint. Jack and Audrey are delightful - helpful, kind, and really quite fun to get to know. We have fond memories of the Avoca House and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a nice, affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank khsUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.0 mi away
Annandale Bed & Breakfast
2.5 mi away
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
#7 of 161 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
1.6 mi away
Flyover Bed and Breakfast
Flyover Bed and Breakfast
#15 of 161 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Egans House
Egans House
#28 of 161 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
3.4 mi away
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
#5 of 161 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.5 mi away
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 161 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avoca House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avoca House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avoca House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Avoca House Bed And Breakfast 110 Hollybank Road | Drumcondra, Dublin 9, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avoca House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, SpeedyBooker.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Avoca House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avoca House Hotel Drumcondra
Avoca House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing