We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avoca House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed here for a week and it felt like a home away from home. Jack and Audrey are very hospitable and willing to help in any way. I would definitely recommend this BnB. Great location as the bus stop to the city centre is only minutes away.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TradChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

We only had 3 days to visit Dublin before our bike tour in Croatia. We couldn't have chosen a nicer place. It was a short bus trip to city center. We even walked back in the evenings. Our hosts had us set up before we knew it... they were charming and very helpful in directing us on places to visit and eat... Fagan's pub near by for fish and chips...delicious... a clean comfortable B & B ... We would recommend it to anyone visiting Dublin.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryS20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Thank you Jack and Audrey for a wonderful welcome to Ireland! We could not have asked for more accommodating and friendly hosts. They made us feel right at home! The rooms are comfortable with everything we needed and the breakfasts were fabulous! The location is in a nice quiet neighborhood with easy access to the bus for a quick ride to downtown. Fagan's pub is right around the corner for tasty meals and a pint...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were made very welcome at Avoca House. Our flight was really late but our hosts made no fuss about waiting up for us to arrive. The room was comfortable and nicely decorated and the Irish breakfast was delicious - so glad we stayed two nights and got to enjoy it twice! The B&B is about 20 minutes walk from the City Centre and right on the bus route if you need it. A taxi from the airport was around e20. We were also able to leave our cases on our last day until we were ready to go to the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This trip was a while ago now, but staying at Avoca B&B left a lasting impression and I wanted to comment. Dublin was the first stop in Ireland for myself and 2 friends, and we found this place the most hospitable, cosiest, friendliest spot on our whole 2 week Irish round-trip. The accommodation was also comfortable and spacious enough, even with sharing a three-bed room on the top floor. Easy access to the city as well. Audrey welcomed us and chatted each morning over breakfast and Jack even went and bought a bottle of wine we recommended to share a drink in the evening. It was a treat. After our holiday, we were glad that we had booked at Avoca for our last night - we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrWalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

The place is quaint, clean and very friendly. Great service, fantastic warm breakfast and lovely company. Audrey and Jack are amazing!! It is midway from airport and downtown. Compared to North American standard, rooms and bathrooms are smaller

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlnoorSaleh786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Audrey and Jack were fabulous hosts who obviously love running a B&B! We had several great chats with them, and they were very helpful with restaurant suggestions, figuring out the buses or arranging a taxi for us. The rooms were small, but clean. They are located in a residential neighborhood, so it is nice and quiet, but it is a bus trip to downtown (although the buses are close and frequent!). There are several restaurants and pubs nearby as well. Overall, good value for a big city!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenLee0314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,686 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,046 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Leeson Bridge Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Egans House
Egans House
#27 of 150 in Dublin
457 reviews
3.4 mi away
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
#5 of 150 in Dublin
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avoca House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avoca House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Avoca House Bed And Breakfast 110 Hollybank Road | Drumcondra, Dublin 9, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: £66 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avoca House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avoca House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avoca House b&b
Avoca House Hotel Drumcondra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing