We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget price but above average guesthouse”
Review of Adelphi Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adelphi Guesthouse
Ranked #83 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Excellent value. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The room was spotless and very comfortable. It is in a great location with Temple Bar area apx a 10 min walk away. O'Sheas pub opposite served excellent evening meal. The breakfast was average but certainly enjoyable. Only gripe, no tea/coffee making facilities or hairdryer and there was only one plug in the room, which was very inaccessible. I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone not wanting to pay expensive hotel prices, but who want somewhere clean and comfortable to stay at a great price for Dublin city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJAJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Adelphi Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

It wasn't a terrible experience but surely wasn't the best. I have to reiterate that you get what you pay for so don't set high expectations. The room (#17) was at the very top floor, so if you have heavy luggage, good luck carrying it up the narrow stair case. The building and furnishing were definite old. The room was just enough for 2 people although there was a second twin bed. No luxuries in the room. Just 2 beds, a TV, a heater and a tiny bathroom. Great WiFi signal though. The bathroom could only fit one person at a time at best. If you are a big person, good luck! The Irish breakfast was good, simple but a great start. The kitchen staff was the only friendly group there. The folks at the reception were either always tired or didn't like to smile. They were always short and direct with the impression that they just wanted to go back and sit at their desk instead of being helpful and answering questions about the area. For a B&B that relies on tourists, they do a poor job at making the guests feel welcome. The area wasn't the cleanest but it was a 15 minute walk to the Temple Bar District. Like I said, it was no 3, 4, or 5 star hotel so don't expect much. It's a good place to rest and sleep. Not much else to this place so if you set your expectations low, you might actually be pleasantly surprised by something.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Really pleased with the guesthouse.
Good central location, easy to find & stagger back to
Staff pleasant but not intrusive at all
Clean & tidy rooms & communal areas
Undergoing a renovation throughout & when it's finished it will be lovely, builders very respectful & didn't start work until 10am & didn't work the Sunday
Would highly recommend; breakfast was beautiful
Thank you

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Beckiedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Due to a whole host of reviews of this place that are, shall we say, less that favourable, I feel it's my duty to share my own wonderful experience, all set right in the heart of Dublin's fair city.

Myself and my girlfriend booked three nights here and, while our expectations were quite low due to the price we got, we were quite taken aback by some of the comments. It couldn't be that bad, surely.

Right from the off, all the myths were well and truly put to bed. The staff couldn't do enough, plus on the last day, when we had a bit of time to kill before the flight back, they were only too happy to take care of our baggage while we took a last stroll around Dublin. We couldn't fault the room, a fully-functioning en-suite, while the breakfast always provided a great start to the day (the earlier you arrive for this the better, though).

I can only assume that the negatives this pleasant B&B has seemed to attract are from people who were expecting five-star luxury. If this is what you're after, look elsewhere; if not, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors if you don't mind a little bit of a trek.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Checked in at 3pm to be given a room which hadn't be changed/made up. When I went back down to reception I was greeted with the reply of 'Oh right' and another key thrust into my hand. No apologies made.

When I asked regarding parking the reply was 'Eh no we're full!' and I then had to further try probe for details and parking nearby.

The room itself was reasonable in size and cleanliness however there was no heating, absolutely FREEZING.

Throughout the property there was furniture and mattresses thrown haphazardly on landings.

The breakfast the following morning was edible however very meagre and consisted of 1 sausage, 1 egg, 1 rasher and 1 piece of black/white pudding.

On check out, no attempt was made to ask how our stay was, keys were taken and the person returned their attention to the computer screen.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yummynom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Was going to Dublin for a concert and shopping and the location of this guesthouse was perfect, just around the corner from busaras and a luas stop that brings you to the 02 and also only few minutes walk from o connoll street. When my friend and I walked in we were quite sceptical as the look of the place made the movie 'Hostel' spring to mind but our room was lovely, clean and tidy. Full Irish breakfast was included and was really nice. All round excellent value for money.

Room Tip: I stayed in a double en-suite and it was great.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherbert20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stopped at the Adelphi during December 2013 and I wasn't that impressed but I wasn't expecting Hilton quality for 40 euros a night.

The Staff at the Adelphi are really friendly, 24 hour reception and they are willing to help booking taxis etc, I can't comment on the breakfast as I never had it, however the building needs some maintenance. I was in room 41, single room, on the ground floor and the flooring is coming up underneath the window, the window in the room which is a pull up window can't stay open unless to prop it up with a piece of the brick work from outside or a piece of the flooring which I used to do it. The bathroom is a good size, good sized shower, however as there is not much ventilation in the bathroom there is black damp marks up all over the ceiling and tiles which you will see in the photos I add. I know these buildings are Georgian and built a long time ago but better ventilation is needed in the room to get rid of the damp marks which are not pleasant. The reception area etc is really clean and the cleaning staff do a good job with replacing bed linen, towels etc but need to do more cleaning the shower doors etc, there is also a sheltered smoking area.

The B&B is in the center of Dublin, 5 minute walk from O'Connel Street, 10 minute walk to Temple Bar, two DART stations are close but I prefer to use Tara Street which is a 10 minute walk away. Plenty of restaurants in a good walking distance and even a bar across the road from the B&B it's self.

The street is a little noisy with cars, trains etc but it's not that bad but remember, you're in the middle of a busy city so it's to be expected

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheReflektors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Gardiner Lodge
#106 of 150 in Dublin
23 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#22 of 149 in Dublin
659 reviews
Durban Residence
#77 of 149 in Dublin
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amberley House
#40 of 149 in Dublin
324 reviews
North City Centre
The Pillar
The Pillar
#79 of 119 in Dublin
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Guesthouse

Address: 68 Lower Gardiner St, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Adelphi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Guesthouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing