We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has come a long way since it was the Harp Bar”
Review of River Bar

River Bar
Ranked #770 of 2,558 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
609 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,048 helpful votes
“Has come a long way since it was the Harp Bar”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The last time I was here, [many years ago] this was called the Harp, and from the outside, not a lot has changed, but once I entered, I didn't recognise the place. To be honest, the Harp was a bit of a kip, but it always attracted big crowds. They had bouncers on the door then, who were very strict who'd they let in, then it lost it's appeal, and the bouncers were nearly dragging you in off the street. Funny how times change.

Inside now, it's all modern and trendy, with loads of standing room, and I'd imagine it's a great place to meet people. Geoff, the very friendly barman, was very efficient, and informative, and he told me that the bar opens at 8am for breakfast. You'd never have seen that years ago! It was quiet on my visit [mid afternoon], but yet there was a buzz about the place, with a crowd at the bar, appearing to be having great craic [mostly tourists]

Before I left, I headed downstairs to the gents, and found a disco down there, not in the toilet, but on the way!! I bet this place is packed at weekends, and if I was younger, I could see myself throwing a few shapes on the dance floor!! A great spot, in a great location, but a bit too young for me.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letterkennycaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    68
    30
    20
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Same here after work one evening for some dinner and drinks, had a lovely burger meal and a few drinks after, the bar has a great atmosphere and in a suburb location, really would recommend it to anyone! Spot on!

Helpful?
Thank emmett c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
913 reviews
432 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Great pub great location”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We dropped in for a quick meal, what a great pub. The service was very good, limited selection of wine but what they had was OK, meals were excellent. I had the grilled salmon, a very large serving cooked to perfection.

A great Irish band was playing for part of the time that we were there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CocoTampa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing burgers!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We popped into here for something quick and easy to eat after being on the cider for most of the afternoon.

The staff were friendly albeit not attentive but we ordered very quickly and our food didn't take too long to arrive either. We got a deal - a burger and pint for €12 each - absolute bargain! The burger was amazing and I was so full afterwards I couldn't possibly have had pudding.

The only downside is we ended up leaving the cash on the table as no one came over to give us our bill and I was unable to get anyone's attention.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laus05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Huge Portions. Average Food.”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Liked our server very much. The place itself was very much like an open bar, but not in a good way. The lower level is fitted up as a disco, and smelled strongly of Pine-Sol. Food sounded interesting - I had Sweet Potato/Butternut Squash soup, which was excellent, but such an enormous portion that I could only eat about 1/3rd of it. My daughter had the seafood chowder as a 1/2 portion - it was mostly mussels and the cream soup itself was very thin. This does seem to be a popular place for people to meet for birthdays and other celebration events.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank FoxValleyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Bar also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to River Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing