We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our Dublin stay”

Dublin Literary Pub Crawl
Book In Advance
More Info
US$14.77*
and up
Dublin Literary Pub Crawl
Ranked #3 of 286 Nightlife in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The pub, the poet and the pint. In Dublin, they seem to be inseparable. The public house is where writers sharpened their wit. This two hour walking tour is led by a team of professional actors who follow in the footsteps of James Joyce, Samuel Beckett, Oscar Wilde, Brendan Behan and many others. You will hear renditions of prose, verse, drama and song from Dublin's literary hall of fame. The evening is packed with entertainment and also includes a quiz with prizes for the winners. As one critic wrote: 'A highly enjoyable evening that gives you the pleasant notion of replacing brain cells as you drown them'. Check our website for further details and to book online.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Dublin stay”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I recently stayed overnight in Dublin. We booked ahead of time to join the Literary Pub Crawl and are SO glad we did. The tour guides are actors and give the best most entertaining performances throughout the crawl. They give insightful anecdotes relevant to the history of the city as well as the famous authors they reference. Sarah and James (I think) were awesome tour guides. I would highly recommend this pub crawl to any one visiting Dublin

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kholihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    564
    84
    26
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun pub crawl!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had such a fun time on this pub crawl. Not only learning about Dublin but also meeting the actors and other people on the crawl with us as well. We had done the Kilmainham Gaol earlier in the day and so it was really cool to talk about some of the people in history that we just learned about at the gaol. But it was totally different information so it was really fun to learn all of that. The only negative that I can think of is that you don't have much time to actually drink your pint while at the pubs. They give you 20mins at each pub, which by the time you order and get your pint you dont have very long to actually drink it. My boyfriend and I ended up sharing a pint everywhere we went because I can't drink that fast. We also learned to be the first one at the bar so that you can order first, otherwise you will be waiting for awhile because the whole group walks in at one time. Other than that we really enjoyed it! The actors were awesome and so much fun!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jeh1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great stories, Lots of Laughter, Well Done”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A short walk from the Davenport Hotel, where I stayed, is Duke Street. In one of the Dublin's traditional pubs, upstairs, you find Colm Quilligan the founder of the Dublin Literary Pub Crawl. It's 7:15P. He is there to greet you (and take your money) and you're ushered into a room where your fellow 'crawlers' are waiting. Colm and one of his fellow actors (yes, they are real actors that are seen on stage and in Irish television) start out with a rendition of Samuel Beckett's 'Waiting for Godot.' The laughter starts! This 20 minute introduction, including a song about the ''waxies' or candlemakers holding their annual gathering at the Dargle River, is followed by the group assembling outside the pub and then as a group follow the actors down Dawson Street and across to Trinity College and gather outside the Trinity College Library building. It is here, and at every stop in the tour, that you hear the not so well known stories of the famous literary figures of Dublin. Those that attended Trinity College - Oscar Wilde and Samuel Beckett. More laughter! The stories are are wonderful. On to the Bank of Ireland building (old Irish parliament building) more stories and a song about Dublin's past labor struggles lead by james Larkin. On to a wonderful period Pub called O'Neills a haunt for those attending to Trinity College both in the past and today. Here you take a break and have 15 minutes of 'serious drinking time' (drinks not included). On to another great pub called the Old Stand (15 more minutes of serious drinking time) which was as we were told the headquarters of Michael Collins during the War of Independence. Colm relates some history of Dublin and gets more laughter out of us with stories of Brendan Behan, James Joyce and Yeats among others. Then on to Davey Byrnes Pub frequented by James Joyce and more stories that bring cheers and laughter. The tour ends up with a quiz and if you were listening well in the past two hours you could win a small bottle of Jameson Irish Whiskey mouthwash, or all over body lotion or even a Jameson tee shirt! More humor here as Jameson sponsor the tour! Great entertainment in a laughter packed two hours. I would rate this very high on the 'must do' list for Dublin. Have fun and laugh a lot!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Conn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic pub tour”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I've been on other pub tours and this ranks near the top. The guides totally make it with singing, acting, and imparting their knowledge of Irish literature intertwined with history. Definitely recommend if you are looking for a fun pub tour that will increase your knowledge at the same time of enjoying a local pint.

Helpful?
1 Thank LeeAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christopher55, Owner at Dublin Literary Pub Crawl, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for joining...'this tour gives you the pleasant notion of replacing brain cells as you drown them'.
COLM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great excuse for visiting Dublin pubs”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Three of us joined a Dublin Literary Pub Crawl - and it was good fun - was a Friday evening so quite busy (it may be more quiet during the week). Derek and Colm, were good story tellers, and mixed facts with fun. Pubs were very busy, but we all squeezed in. The trivia quiz at the end adds to the fun, especially if you win (in our case the consolation prize....).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank idhbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dublin Literary Pub Crawl also viewed

 

Been to Dublin Literary Pub Crawl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing