We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that close to the airport, but still an efficient option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
Ranked #68 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This was just right for a one-night stay before a very early flight out of Dublin. It's really not that close to the airport, but the shuttle takes only 10 minutes. The staff at check-in was extremely helpful with booking the shuttle and offering every means to help us in our journey (wake-up call, pre-checkout). They know the drill for an airport hotel. The hallway on our floor smelled strongly of cigarettes, but our room was fresh and clean, if a bit dated and shaggy. We were happy to have a Tesco and other stores across the street -- options we surely would've missed at a closer airport hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ieateverything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,907 - 1,913 of 2,470 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

Definitely false advertising. Hotel is not at the airport.
Room was clean.
Shuttle to airport every 30 minutes.
Packed an early breakfast sack.
Beds not comfy like a Hilton and not many size options
No executive floor or lounge

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phxaz54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Stayed here for three nights recently. Arrived on Aer Lingus flight from Boston at 5:30 am. Since it is still 12:30 am Boston time, we paid for an extra night and checked in, got 6 hours sleep and had no jet lag whatsoever. Not really near the airport although the shuttle took only 15 minutes. The shuttle runs on a fixed schedule, every 45 minutes or so. I had to contact the hotel before arriving to get a copy of the shuttle schedule, handy if you won't have a mobile phone. They should post a link to the schedule on their website. Also, it's more than a 2-3 minute walk, closer to 10, to get to Zone 14 where the shuttle bus parking is.

Great large rooms for Europe. Everything was in excellent condition - beds, TVs, fluffy towels, etc. Even an ice machine on our floor. Buy a buffet breakfast voucher for 10 euros from the front desk or it will cost 12.95. Excellent selection of meats, smoked salmon, full Irish breakfast with black and white pudding.

Cross the street to a bus stop in front of Tesco. For 2.15 euros, bus #42 or 43 to the last stop on Marlborough St. gets you near City Centre. You can also transfer at Connolly St Station to LUAS streetcar or the DART station to go elsewhere. We went to Howth fishing village one day for great seafood.

Excellent stay except for the 45 minute wait for shuttle. Vey friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller228Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Hotels near airports in major cities often have to contend with jet engine noise at all hours of the day. This Hilton is far enough away to not have that problem and close enough to make your flights, especially with the free shuttle.

The rooms are large by European standard and the Hiltons, in Dublin at least, have upgraded their bathroom amenities (shampoo, shower gel, etc.). The towels are nice and large and they have face cloths which can be rare in European hotels. The breakfast buffet contains everything for a traditional Irish breakfast and then some and is well worth including; however I did have dinner one night and the food was merely average.

There is a Tesco across the street which is handy for purchasing bottled water, snacks, and any amenities you may have forgotten.

I stayed twice at this hotel in the space of a week and the mattresses were hard (they should get the soft mattresses they have in the US Hiltons) and the bedding does not include a top sheet. On the second stay, the air conditioning wasn't working in the room. They did move us to another room where it only worked slightly better. I took the duvet out of the cover as it would be too warm to sleep under, and it appeared the duvet itself could use a good washing.

The other drawback is internet in the room is an extra charge. You can get free wi-fi in the common areas but need to get a code from the front desk.

It's a very good hotel to stay in if you're flying in or out of Dublin but could use a few small improvements. The staff are always friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelticWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My family and I regularly have the amazing carvery in the Hilton.The quality and presentation of there delicious food is second than none. The chefs that serve are very pleasant and are never in any rush to hurry you along for the next customer. The food is al carte quality and the portions are very generious, I'd highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Dubfish69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed here the night before a morning flight and were perfectly pleased with everything about it. The room was nice, the restaurant very good, and staff was helpful. The rate was a good value and the free airport shuttle every half hour was just what we needed. The hotel is located on a busy road and not a place to access the tourist highlights of Dublin, but it really caters to the air traveler.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank partera_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I booked a night in the Dublin Airport Hilton as I had an early flight from Dublin airport, and the special rate I picked up was as cheap as travelling to the airport by taxi to make my flight.

The hotel itself is a relatively standard Hilton - rooms are perfectly acceptable, decor could do with a slight refresh, but otherwise have everything you need for a short stay. Staff were very pleasant, check-in formalities dispensed with quickly, and the bar/restaurant area was spacious and had live music on a Saturday night.

The hotel isn't particularly central to anything but, as I was arriving late and leaving early, this wasn't an issue. Breakfast in the morning was included (unexpected perk), and my pre-booked complimentary shuttle bus ride ensured I got to the airport on time.

Slightly soulless, but a very good, well-run hotel that offers a great airport hotel service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#36 of 152 in Dublin
2,085 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 152 in Dublin
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel

Address: Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel Malahide Road | Northern Cross, Malahide Road, Dublin 17, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Dublin
#41 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#52 Business Hotel in Dublin
#61 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £60 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short distance from Dublin Airport by a scheduled shuttle bus service, the Hilton Dublin Airport hotel has 9 flexible meeting rooms with wireless internet access and a ballroom for up to 350. De-stress in the gym or wind down in the newly refurbished bar & restaurant Burnells, or visit nearby Dublin attractions, just 5 kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing