We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double-charged for a room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
Ranked #71 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
GreenLeadersSilver level
arlington, va
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Double-charged for a room”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Although I never actually got to stay here, I'm rating this place "terrible" because I used points to book here and, when my flight was canceled at the last minute due to weather, I lost my points AND was charged the cost of a night at the hotel because this all happened after 4 p.m the night of what would have been my arrival. A really insidious way of doing business. (It took me a long time to earn those points -- I'm far from a frequent traveler.)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drabwastrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Drabwastrel,

Thank you kindly for your review. We would like to investigate your issue further and would be grateful if you could give us your reservation details so our agent could have a look on it. Please e-mail Laura.Taylor@hilton.com in our reservations department and she will be happy to assist you.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Eva Szakacs
Hilton Dublin Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    849
    448
    167
    103
See reviews for
459
806
234
480
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival at Dublin airport the shuttle to the hotel is a short walk from the terminal and runs quite regularly.

The hotel itself is about a 10 mins drive from the airport and is 6miles from Dublin centre. There is a bus stop literally 2mins walk from the hotel and a very good / frequent service into town. The journey is about 20 - 25 mins costing less than 3euros each. A cab cost about 25 euros.

There is a supermarket near to the hotel.

We arrived at the hotel very early in the morning and as the hotel was fully booked we were unable to take advantage of the early check in option. The reception stored our baggage and registered us. When we returned letter in the day our room had been allocated however up our bags had not been taken to our room (this is a minor point but something I would have expected)

We had chosen the standby upgrade option and to our delight were given a junior suite which was spacious and comfortable.

The breakfast buffet was good quality and value. The staff in the restaurant were friendly and professional.

This is an excellent base for a visit to Dublin if you don't mind being a little out of town. However that said the bus into town is frequent (every 5 - 10mins) and you get more for your money staying out of the town centre.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank moredela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Moredela,

Thank you so writing such a detailed review on u and thank you for your feedback.

Little things, like having your bags up in the room when you come back to pick up your room keys are indeed very important and thank you for bringing this to our attention, we really appreciate it.

I hope overall you enjoyed the suite you stayed in and the staff looked after you very well.

Hope to see you back next year and once again thank you for your review.

Kind regards,

Eva Szakacs
Hilton Dublin Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

A solid Hilton experience with good beds and ample room with amenities. A few knocks to be aware of.... Very limited dining options (hotel, one local Asian restaurant, and fast food at the shopping center nearby). So if you are without wheels, you may want to keep this in mind. The airport is a good 10 minutes away by taxi or shuttle - so it is in the proximity of the airport but not on site / directly adjacent to the terminal (like some other hotels). Last knock is also the heat a/c. Programming is a time warp (hold button "A" and while pressing button "C" and then down shift lever "7" three times slowly while holding your head at a 45 degree angle, etc), only to find out, as others have noted, the room does not cool very well (December stay, mind you).

In spite of the flaws listed, I would not rule out a future stay for Hilton quality in other areas (on site dining, reception, WiFi speed, express check out, points, etc).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red-Badger-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Red-Badger-22,

Thank you for your review.

We are really sorry that you found our new Burnell’s menu limited and please rest assured that I have shared your comments with the Management team for further consideration.
We are delighted that our location was to your satisfaction and please accept my apologies about the air conditioning.

We hope to see you back in 2014.

Kind regards,

Eva Szakacs
Hilton Dublin Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is a really nice hotel. Easily 4 star. Definitely a Hilton, not a Hilton Garden or something less than a first class hotel. NIce rooms. Had a late night snack in the bar and was very satisfied with food and service.

Too bad it is so far out of town as it is nicer than the Dublin Hilton where we also stayed.

My only gripe, and why I don't rate it five, is like all hotels in Ireland it seems it is over heated. The thermostat in the room had instructions that it could be set as low as 16 C but it wouldn't go below 18 C (64.4 F) and it felt much warmer than that. The bathroom as down right hot. To bad the windows didn't open at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomL_Philadelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear TomL_Philadelphia,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you found us nicer than you might think a hotel with Airport name on it, thank you so much.

With regards to the air-condition please accept my sincere apologies.

I hope all other aspects of your stay was to your satisfaction and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Eva Szakacs
Hilton Dublin Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The hotel is less than 15minutes away from airport. Staff is friendly. Free Wi-Fi only at lobby area. There are some shop centers around but note that hotel is not in city center but rather in the outskirts or suburb area. There is a convenient bus stop so you can go from city center to Hotel. They have a hotel coach bus to take customers to Airport directly for only two euros! Super clean beds, AMAZING quality on brand toiletries!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Yuridia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Yuridia T,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on us.

I am glad to hear the staff looked after you well and with regards to our location you are absolutely correct, being an airport hotel we are closer to the airport than the city centre however there are several busses running from here to town and takes only approx 25 minutes to get into town from here.

I am glad you like our toiletries and we hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,

Eva Szakacs
Hilton Dublin Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed at the Hilton Dublin Hotel overnight before catching an early morning flight back to the U.S. My room was clean and comfortable. I had dinner and drinks in the hotel bar/grill. The food was good and the service was great. There was a complimentary shuttle from the airport. It picks up in zone 14 of the coach park at Dublin airport. The ride takes about 10 minutes. The return shuttle fee is 2 euros. I would stay here again if I wanted to be near the airport.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank rngonetraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Rngonetraveling,

Thank you kindly for your review. We appreciate your feedback and we are always happy to make our guest comfortable before their long flights so it’s great to hear that you managed to relax before flying back to US.

Hope to see you back when visiting Ireland next time.

Kind regards,

Eva Szakacs
Hilton Dublin Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The staff is pleasant but don't depend on them for directions or area travel tips. Breakfast is mediocre. The beds are brick-hard. I woke up with a back ache every morning. I like that it had a free shuttle from the airport and a 2 Euro charge ride back to the airport. I like that there are bus stops 1 block away. Take the 42 or 43 into the city center.

Room Tip: This is probably the most quiet of the Hilton properties in Dublin as it is located 30 minutes out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank besttsktsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear besttsktsk,

Thank you kindly for your review. I was very disappointed to learn that you found the breakfast mediocre and our brand new beds uncomfortable. We replaced all our beds this July and received great feedback so far. We are really sorry that it was not to your satisfaction.

We still hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back for a much nicer stay.
Kind regards,

Eva Szakacs
Hilton Dublin Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
2.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin Airport
2.6 mi away
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Metro Hotel Dublin Airport
1.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel

Property: Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
Address: Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel Malahide Road, Dublin 17, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Dublin
#43 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#52 Business Hotel in Dublin
#58 Family Hotel in Dublin
#61 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short distance from Dublin Airport by complimentary shuttle, the Hilton Dublin Airport hotel has 9 flexible meeting rooms with wireless internet access and a ballroom for up to 350. De-stress in the gym or wind down in the newly refurbished Burnell Bar & Grill, or visit nearby Dublin attractions, just 5 kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing