We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed here a fortnight ago. Parking a disaster, car park was full, driving for half an hour trying to get a parking space. Finally got the last remaining parking space. Got lost twice walking to hotel. Room was bland, very basic. breakfast inedible. Sausages and bacon inedible. Waited 20 minutes for poached eggs. when they finally arrived tasted as if I was drinking a bottle of vinegar ! Told the waiter, he did not care less, just cleared the table ! Would not recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear irl2013,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recant stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I appreciate the time you took to explain the issues you encountered and thank you for bringing them to my attention. It is through honest feedback like yours that allows us to continue to improve our services at the hotel.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues that arose during your time with us. I can assure you this is not our usual standard of customer care.
I would be very grateful to you if you would contact me on my mobile to discuss the matter further, +353 87 968 2123.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Warm Regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,836
    1,384
    507
    156
    61
See reviews for
901
1,133
141
604
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Staff was friendly at reception, got checked in early to my room whcih was nice. Bathrooms were modern, room was showing a bit of wear and tear. The reason I gave it a 3 was that my room was really warm and there was no way to cool it down. The offered me a fan which was bought to my room 20 mintues after I asked about it and it was a tiny little fan that did nothing. Maybe having no air conditioning is normal for European travelers but for a US traveler having the ability to cool your room off is a must have and would prevent me ever staying here again. If you don't mind a warm room (they did say it had been a very hot summer but that isn't really my problem) and don't need to control the tempreture in your oom you will like this hotel, for this reason I did not like it and wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZTVLR71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear AZTVLR71,
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. It is through honest feedback like yours that we can continue to improve the quality of our product and services. I am very sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. Unfortunately it is not a requirement for four star establishments to provide air-conditioning but this does not excuse the fact that the fan was not satisfactory. If our Duty Manager had been made aware at the time we could have helped with an alternative solution.
Warm Regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lurgan
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had a one night stay here for a concert at the O2 arena.
Found reception a little cold but were told we had our room upgraded.
The hotel has an arrangement with a nearby car park that was great value.
Rooms are fair size for city centre well appointed and tidy.
The staff at the leisure facility were great but you will need a swimcap to use the pool.
Breakfast offered a good variety of well prepared food though it will get buy at peak time, the restaurant staff were attentive and pleasant.
The hotel is within easy walking of the City centre and the local area is well maintained having benefited from recent regeneration.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank don h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear don h,
Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am delighted to here you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything went well on your visit to Dublin. Unfortunately it is the Law in Ireland that every person in a public swimming pool must wear a swimming cap.
We pride ourselves in our high standard of customer care at the hotel and it is wonderful to see that it reflected in your stay. All the team here look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm regards,
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Very, very good quality for price. Comfortable, clean, well-organized place. Maybe not in a direct center (if you consider touristic "to dos"), but we walked everywhere on foot. Couldn't think of anything, which would be bad, seriously.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aniulkaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear aniulkaa,
Thank you very much for your kind review regarding your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, I am delighted to hear your visit to Dublin was enjoyable and that the hotel contributed to your successful vacation. All the team look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards,
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trim, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and at all tines were looking to see if they could do anything for you. The rooms were very clean and kept well. The location woukdnt be the best as its well away from the city centre and you coukd not walk there kate at night but a taxi sorts that out.Breakfast was lovely. Would stay there again in a heart beat

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear pepster79,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. It is wonderful to hear that your stay with us was a successful one. It is lovely that the team here were friendly and helpful. We pride ourselves in our high standards of customer care. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are in Dublin.
Warm Regards,
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Our first stay here wasn't the best but we decided to give it another try as I'm in Dublin quite often. The service from the staff this time was superb. Everyone was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I had complained to the management after my last stay and was assured that some of the staff would be re-trained. What a different stay? The difference a few smiles can make and they cost nothing. Well done Maldron, Cardiff Lane!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlykale3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear curlykale3,
Thank you very much for taking the time to give feedback regarding your return stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am happy to hear your experience this time around was success and that you gave us a second chance to prove ourselves. It is wonderful to see that the high customer care standards we promote came through. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

It was my first time in the regenerated docklands area of Dublin. The hotel is located perfectly for the convention centre, the point depot and the new theatre across the street not to mention the global companies flocking to the area. The hotel has great facilities including a pool and is spotless, breakfast was great... Te hotel is a credit to the manager.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Garreth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear GWalsh47,
Thank you for taking the time to review Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. It is wonderful to hear positive feedback like yours. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and everything was satisfactory for you. We all look forward to welcoming you back the next time you return to Dublin.
Warm regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
3,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,505 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gibson Hotel
The Gibson Hotel
#21 of 151 in Dublin
4,616 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane

Property: Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Address: Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Maldron Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#27 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#30 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane (formerly Maldron Hotel)is a seven storey, contemporary landmark building off Sir John Rogerson's Quay in the Dublin Docklands, a stone's throw from the city center. A spacious 304 bedroom hotel, each designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure guests the beautifully appointed guest rooms offer a light spacious contemporary style at least 25 square meters. Vertigo Bar is a funky bar space within the hotel open throughout the day, Stir Restaurant offers an array of dishes to tempt your taste buds, Club Vitae Health & Fitness Club and a range of meeting space make Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane an award winning 4 star hotel. Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane is within easy access of the airport and main bus & rail stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Quality Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing