We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located for a theatre night in Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Ranked #33 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Maldron is perfectly located for a theatre trip to Dubin. Arrive in Dublin, check in and all you have to do is walk across the road to the BGE Theatre. The foyer, bar and lounge are all full of atmosphere and great to hang out in/snack/eat. Rooms are great, very comfy and well appointed. Breakfast is great, good selection, well prepared and very good value at €10. I would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorayned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear lorayned,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the location was perfect for you. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere and our breakfast offering. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane on your next trip to the theatre.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,064 - 2,070 of 4,202 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had tickets to the theatre and booked a room at the last minute. We got a good deal which included b&b and an evening meal, and how surprised we were. The food was excellently prepared and beautifully presented by Peter (chef) and we had the pleasure of being waited on by a very friendly but unobtrusive gentleman named Ante. Our hotel room though small, was very clean and well kept. I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buddybehey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear buddybehey,

I sincerely thank you for providing your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am truly delighted to hear that you and your guest thoroughly enjoyed your evening meal in Stir Restaurant and please be assured I will pass on your warming comments to Peter and Ante. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane on your next trip to the theatre.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed here in the spring of 2013.The hotel, was very nice. The restaurant is worth visiting. The staff was very helpful. Rooms were clean, warm and quite large. Health club is A+. The weather was the absolute PITS (no fault of the hotel)... You could say everything was within walking distance but.... If you are driving just be aware you will have quite a walk to your parking area. No fun in inclement weather. All in all we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamus780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Dear Shamus780

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I went on a business trip for 3 weeks Feb 2014) - hotel was quite ok, rooms were specious and tidy. Cleaning service is doing a great job. Staff was pretty friendly there was however a HUGE problem with taxis that were supposed to pick us up every day. It only improved after a management intervention as before we had to wait 30 - 45 minutes(!) in the morning to get a cab.
Other than that organizational issue it was really ok, SPA area is great as for 3.5 star hotel in my opinion - 2 saunas, swimmingpool and a jaccuzi+ nice size gym, exercise class.

Good localization also.

I would rate it (as for european standards 3.5 stars).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magdalena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Magdalena B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I sincerely apologize for the issues regarding the taxis in the morning and I am glad that our management team was able to fix it. It is wonderful to hear that the accommodation team is doing a great job and you enjoyed our facilities in Club Vitae. The team and I hope we have to opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel on your next trip to Dublin.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Went to the maldron hotel in Cardiff lane on Tuesday last minute decision. It was amazing staff were very helpful especially the duty manager Martin o Kane who couldn't be more helpful and made our stay very enjoyable he was fantastic.it was close to everything we needed and the rooms perfect. cant wait to find another reason to go back very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Sarah s,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay. It is wonderful to hear that you and your guest enjoyed your time with us at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. Please be assured that I will pass on your glowing comments to Martin and the rest of the team. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times before and they have always been very helpful. I arrived early but they were able to get me a room quickly. I love the Health club especially the pool. Breakfast is excellent. The staff were so helpful. Especially Valeria, who helped me with several issues and took time to help with a complex question. the location is good, I could walk wherever I needed to go, but cabs are readily available. So once again I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladyv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Ladyv2,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experiences in Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found Club Vitae’s facilities of an excellent standard. Please be assured I will pass on your warming comments to Valeria and all the team. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane on your next trip to Dublin.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This was my third time staying in this hotel. The location is so handy for the bord gais theatre. I was on my own the first time, with my daughter the second and with my two sisters this time. The hotel caters for all! The room is good and value for money. The breakfast is average I would recommend going elsewhere. The bar has a nice atmosphere. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluegarnetfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear bluegarnetfrog,

Thank you for reviewing your past stays in Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. It is wonderful you have always enjoyed the atmosphere and deemed us good value for money. I am sorry you have not enjoyed breakfast but I am glad to inform you that we have now expanded our breakfast offering. I hope we have to opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,561 reviews
The Gibson Hotel
#23 of 150 in Dublin
4,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Grand Canal Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane

Address: Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Maldron Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#26 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#30 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £90 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane (formerly Maldron Hotel)is a seven storey, contemporary landmark building off Sir John Rogerson's Quay in the Dublin Docklands, a stone's throw from the city center. A spacious 304 bedroom hotel, each designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure guests the beautifully appointed guest rooms offer a light spacious contemporary style at least 25 square meters. Vertigo Bar is a funky bar space within the hotel open throughout the day, Stir Restaurant offers an array of dishes to tempt your taste buds, Club Vitae Health & Fitness Club and a range of meeting space make Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane an award winning 4 star hotel. Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane is within easy access of the airport and main bus & rail stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Quality Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing