We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

If you want luxury, this is not for you. If you want a pleasant hotel, close to the main parts of Dublin with friendly staff then this is for you. The check in was fairly quick, we arrived early knowing it was unlikely to be able to get to our room, and these were taken without fuss and the receptionist overheard our conversation about the need to rehydrate at a good pub and got a map out and showed us where to go.

Location wise, Dublin is very small - you can walk from the outskirts to Temple Bar/Grafton St central area in about 25 minutes at most. This was a 15-20 minute walk away and so it is not in the hustle and bustle of all the bars and avoid this hotel if you want your hotel on the doorstep of everything, but it was a nice and somewhat needed walk to get back to once you have had a few drinks. It is also only about 15minutes walk to the Aviva Stadium if you are watching rugby.

The room itself was nothing amazing but plenty big enough for three of us, clean and the beds were comfortable. I am a bit picky with pillows and these weren't to my liking but apart from this nothing at fault. The bathroom again nice and clean although the water pressure in the shower was minimum and whilst not an 'issue' per se in that it did not hinder me from showering, all 5 of us did mention it was poor.

The bar was good, live sport on and open from 11:00 which pleased us. The breakfast was a large selection of hot and cold food, and whilst it was a buffet, all food was fresh and replenished often so wasn't just sitting around. We also went at the busiest time on Sunday morning (known because notices are provided in the lifts asking for patience and giving guidance when it would be quiet/busy), we still only had to wait only 5 minutes which I thought was not bad.

There is also a swimming pool, sauna and gym which was busy enough to know it is worth going and quiet enough to allow you to go! Free for hotel members as well, so no added cost although it would have been nice to know that swimming hats are required and although they do only cost 2.50 euros, it seems this is not mentioned on the website (or hidden very well) so that they can make a bit more 'easy' money.

The only reasons I am not giving 5 star is that it wasn't The Westbury, but value for money, I would recommend this no-ends, and even think that with the clean big size rooms and the fact it has a swimming pool and sauna mean it should even cost a bit more!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murphyc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 22 October 2015
Dear murphyc88

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,797
    1,373
    499
    155
    58
See reviews for
883
1,116
139
594
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with 3 friends for concert in o2.
Lady at check in very nice, asked if we minded sharing double beds, we said we had no problem with this & she automatically up-graded us to two king size rooms which were really big with giant beds. They were spotless too, as was the whole hotel. Only complaint in the room was the heat! Window was huge and opened all the way out though. Had a sandwich in upstairs restaurant, nothing to write home about, was literally just plain ham & cheese and it was €8.95! Service very slow too. We got taxi no problem the minute we stood outside the hotel to the 02, think it is only a 10 minute walk though. All and all I would stay here again, very clean, nice modern rooms and good location. Just take note, no car park, have to park in public car-park across the road, was €20 for 24 hours so include this in your expense.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tealady28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear tealady28,
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I hope that you and your guests enjoyed the concert in the O2. It is wonderful that reception were able of offer you an upgrade and that you all enjoyed your stay overall. I am sorry the service was slow in the lobby and please be assured this is not usually the case. Unfortunately we do not have a car park but we do have a partnership with Q-park across the road, which offer our guests a discounted rate. Overall I am glad you have a good experience and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel on your next trip to Dublin.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Lovely hotel .Staff very nice .Big choice breakfast and very tasty .Big quiet room that's what you need .Walking distance to O2 Arena .Nice place and for shure we back there again.Clean room In the bar lovely carvery lunch .We didn't have time use leisure centre but must to be nice

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 27Sunshine27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear 27Sunshine27,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. It is wonderful to hear that you and your guest enjoyed your stay and the carvery in Vertigo Bar. Maybe on your next trip you will have time to avail of the leisure facilities in Club Vitae. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane on your next trip to Dublin.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Travelled to see Beyonce in the 02 and stayed at the Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. It's ideally located for the 02. You can come out of the hotel, walk across the bridge and walk down the quay for about 10-15 minutes and you're there. Get a taxi and you're there in mins. The Maldron is a lovely clean hotel. The room was spotlessly clean and like most other hotels, was very hot during the night. (I have no idea why hotels have the heating on so high at night). Customer service isn't one of the strong points with staff there. There is no friendly smile, staff in breakfast area don't look like happy campers in their job. Other than asking if you want tea or coffee there is no interaction with residents. Had food before we went to the concert, not a great evening menu, certainly no lingering memory with it. I think the afternoon bar menu is far more interesting. Having said all of that, I would stay there again for another concert and I would recommend it to others without hesitation. However, if I was going to Dublin for just a weekend away I'd stay closer to the city centre - this hotel is just a bit far out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KianneK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear KianneK,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I sincerely hope you and your guests enjoyed the Beyonce concert in the O2. I am sorry to hear you did not find the customer service and interaction exceptional during your stay. Please be assured this is not usual and I am truly sorry this was your experience. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to the O2. This will provide us with the opportunity to show you the hospitality we strive to provide.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I recently returned to stay in the Maldron Cardiff Lane with my husband, for a family wedding. The whole experience was lovely and staff were very friendly. Nothing was too much of a trouble for them and their service was excellent! The food was exceptional as always and the service very prompt. The staff accommodated for all the family and we all got to dine together, adding to our enjoyable weekend.
Our room was spotless, and very comfortable with alot of space. Every room that I have stayed in during my four stays in the Maldron, all have ceiling to floor windows that allow plenty of light into the room, yet the curtains make the room very private. The decor is very attractive and inviting. All providing for a luxurious stay.
The hotel is in a brilliant location and the pool is lovely.
We really enjoyed our stay and will return. Cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EBSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear EBSmith,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am delighted to hear your wonderful feedback and please be assured I will pass your warming comments on to the kitchen, accommodation and front of house team. We all look forward to welcoming you and your husband back for your fifth stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My 6th stay at malderon! Each stay has been brilliant! Excellent service, I can't speak highly enough of the staff, always go above and beyond what is needed! Beautiful meals I recommend the thia curry! And as always the rooms were immaculate! I have stayed in many 5 star hotels and never had better service like the malderon! Can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear MJM85,

Thank you very much for your glowing feedback regarding your experiences at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am truly delighted to hear that you always have a wonderful experience. Please be assured I will pass on your glowing comments to all the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to Dublin.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

From the moment we arrived the staff were very accommodating, with a swift check-in, the offer of baggage assistance was greatly appreciated when there are two young children in tow and being given a kids activity pack on arrival was a fantastic idea. Our family room was excellent and so clean and the bed was very comfortable. The duty manager Ian was extremely helpful to us and made us feel very welcome. We enjoyed the mezzanine bar area where we could bring the children downstairs and relax with other family members without worrying that the children were annoying other guests. The breakfast was excellent as always and the staff were quick and efficient. As it was a family wedding that we were staying for, the hotel had arranged for a hairdresser to come in for us the next morning and that was greatly appreciated. Overall our family had an excellent stay in the Maldron, as we have had on previous occasions and will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cflanagan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear cflanagan777,

I sincerely thank you for your warming feedback regarding your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. It is wonderful that you and your family felt comfortable and that Ian made you feel welcome. Please be assured I will pass on your glowing comments to Ian and the team. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,030 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
3,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,448 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gibson Hotel
The Gibson Hotel
#22 of 151 in Dublin
4,564 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#38 of 151 in Dublin
2,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane

Property: Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Address: Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Maldron Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#26 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#30 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane (formerly Maldron Hotel)is a seven storey, contemporary landmark building off Sir John Rogerson's Quay in the Dublin Docklands, a stone's throw from the city center. A spacious 304 bedroom hotel, each designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure guests the beautifully appointed guest rooms offer a light spacious contemporary style at least 25 square meters. Vertigo Bar is a funky bar space within the hotel open throughout the day, Stir Restaurant offers an array of dishes to tempt your taste buds, Club Vitae Health & Fitness Club and a range of meeting space make Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane an award winning 4 star hotel. Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane is within easy access of the airport and main bus & rail stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Quality Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing