We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent one night theatre stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent one night theatre stay”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here last Tuesday for one night on a theatre package. We had a great experience in the Maldron Hotel. The package includes B&B, a three course dinner, a bottle of wine and use of the leisure facilities. It was great value. The room was lovely lots of space, very clean and a huge television. The dinner was great and i would recommend eating here even if not staying in the hotel. The breakfast had a great variety of food. We used the leisure facilities after breakfast and the only bad thing i would say was that the pool was very cold. Overall had a great experience in the Maldron Hotel and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLennon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear RLennon7,

Thank you for sharing your glowing feedback regarding your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay and particularly enjoyed your experiences in Stir restaurant. Please be assured I will pass on your wonderful feedback to the kitchen and restaurant team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,797
    1,373
    499
    155
    58
See reviews for
883
1,116
139
594
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Lovely hotel, great room service! The perfect location if you are seeing a show in the Bord Gais Theatre! Rooms are lovely and clean and modern! Staff are very helpful! The buffet breakfast has a decent selection!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinead M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Sinead M,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay and all the team looked after you well. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane on your next trip to the theatre.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feeny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I will undoubtedly stay again at the Maldron Hotel when I next visit Dublin. Lovely room - spacious, comfortable, well equipped and spotlessly clean - everything I could ask for. Staff were always polite, friendly and unbelievably helpful. Although travelling on my own,I felt completely safe and well catered for. Breakfast was an absolute dream and set me up for the day. The hotel is quite centrally located and is right beside the Aviva Stadium.You just can't go wrong. Many thanks to the staff for a comfortable and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Manus B,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, found the rooms wonderful and the staff welcoming and friendly. Your feedback is positively glowing and I sincerely thank you for sharing it with me. Please be assured I will share it with the team. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane on your next trip to Dublin.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed here with friends for a concert in the O2. Check was efficient and the receptionist (maybe Vivienne??) was extremely helpful and informative. She was able to give us a room with a balcony and made sure that our friends, who were arriving the next day, were in the room next to us.

The room was a decent size and was very clean. The balcony was a great bonus so we were able to enjoy a rare sunny spring day.

We were also able to use the swimming pool and sauna which was nice. Unfortunately the towels that the hotel provide for the pool are not large or thick. Changing area floor was also a little grubby. A linen bin to place the used towels in would also have been good.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel but did eat in the bar area which was reasonably priced and enjoyable.

Location is ideal if travelling to the O2 or Bord Gais Theatre.

Overall I would definately return to this hotel for my next trip to Dublin.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaW6631FH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 22 October 2015
Dear PaulaW6631FH

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel was perfect! The staff were friendly and we were checked in quickly. The rooms were clean and nicely sized. We had no complaints whatsoever. We would definitely return & recommend to friends. Walking to the city centre did not take long and taxis were also cheap.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Sarah B,

I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. It is wonderful to hear you had a perfect stay and that all the team here looked after you well. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I like to relax from arrival to departure in hotels on leisure breaks but find that this is rarely the case - the Maldron Cardiff Lane is one of those rare exceptions.
We were extremely impressed with the customer focus and helpfulness of the staff, the near-centre location (with just enough distance to escape the commotion of the actual centre), the cleanliness and effective sound insulation of the room, the exercise facilities and the quality of the dishes served in the restaurant - and all this on a rugby weekend!
I would return for the restaurant alone.
Well worth a stay and a very pleasant discovery.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Douglas B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your glowing feedback regarding your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am truly delighted to hear you were able to relax from check-in to checkout and that you loved Stir restaurant. Please be assured I will pass on your wonderful comments to the kitchen team. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to the city.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Have stayed here on a number of occasions as it's just everything I look for on a good hotel.
Great location, clean and customer focused.
Leisure facilities ate first class and a large swimming pool to compliment same.
Overall a pleasure to stay in with friendly and professional staff.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amiga426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Amiga426,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful comments regarding your experiences at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am delighted to hear we provide everything you look for in a hotel. Please be assured I will share you warming comments with all the team. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane on your next trip to Dublin.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,030 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
3,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,448 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gibson Hotel
The Gibson Hotel
#22 of 151 in Dublin
4,566 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#38 of 151 in Dublin
2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane

Property: Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Address: Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Maldron Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#26 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#30 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane (formerly Maldron Hotel)is a seven storey, contemporary landmark building off Sir John Rogerson's Quay in the Dublin Docklands, a stone's throw from the city center. A spacious 304 bedroom hotel, each designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure guests the beautifully appointed guest rooms offer a light spacious contemporary style at least 25 square meters. Vertigo Bar is a funky bar space within the hotel open throughout the day, Stir Restaurant offers an array of dishes to tempt your taste buds, Club Vitae Health & Fitness Club and a range of meeting space make Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane an award winning 4 star hotel. Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane is within easy access of the airport and main bus & rail stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Quality Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing