We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and updated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and updated”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was in Dublin on a business trip and wasn't sure where to stay. My colleagues had tried out this hotel in the past, and said they were happy with it. I must say, it is one of the "newer" hotels I have been to in Europe. The rooms are updated with flat screen TV and customer service was very good.

One big thing I am always fussy about are toilets and bathtubs when I go to hotels. The hotel had clean bathtubs and it seemed very clean. So I was happy about that.

The only thing that could be better is the elevator. It is a little small and for someone who is travelling across Europe for several meetings, I have a lot of things ina big lugguage. So it could be better to have bigger elevators that also work faster.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RockyCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear RockyCH,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel offers a complimentary porterage service and you are most welcome to utilize that service on your next stay with us. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,796
    1,372
    499
    155
    58
See reviews for
883
1,116
138
594
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

+ Well located, close to the Convention Center
+ Spacious room
+ Clean
+ Wifi
+ Excellent spa
- Bathroom, large but with ugly curtian showers and no place for personnal things
- Terrible breakfast and food
- Too soft mattress

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaDu186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear PaDu186,

Thank you for very much for commenting on your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. Rest assured that your feedback is very important to us. We provide a complimentary safe box for our guests who wish to use it. The team and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane on your next trip to Dublin.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcochete, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

When I travel do Dublin I like to stay in this Maldron. For those who need to stay around Grand Canal, it's a very good choice. For me the Leisure Centre is a plus, it has a nice swiming pool. On the negative side, perhaps I would consider this hotel a bit "cold".

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCF_MDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear CCF_MDL,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am delighted to hear that when you visit Dublin we are your first choice. Please let us know if you are too cold on your next stay and we would be more then happy to provide a portable heater for your room. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Dublin.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mons, Hainaut, Belgium
Level Contributor
257 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

My first room was for disabled people. Depressing. Had to upgrade to an executive room to have something decent. The lobby was freezy. The bedding is poor. The room is large and the bathroom small while it is a double room.

No mini bar in the room. Wifi is unpredictive. Worst hotel I have stayed in over the last 5 years.

No help to get seated at breakfast.

Plus, it is over expensive.

Same experience for a colleague.

OK, was close to the convention center. For the rest, I will try to forget it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank dimitris462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear dimitris462,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. Our reception team should have informed you that you have been allocated one of our disabled rooms. Unfortunately during times of high occupancy these rooms are used without request, however you should have been made aware of this at check in. Unfortunately, we do not have mini bars available in our rooms, however our guests are more than welcome to use the vending machines located on every floor. We also provide a 24/7 room service. Thank you for your feedback and please be assured it will be utilized fully.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel, Staff were pleasant and helpful, Rooms clean however it was suppose to be a non smoking room but i could smell smoke. Hotel was quiet considering its location in the city center.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susie7210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Susie7210,

Thank you for taking your time and providing us with your feedback in regards to your stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience or discomfort caused by the smell of smoke. All our rooms are refreshed daily and we have designated smoking rooms. I am truly sorry if you were allocated one of these. I am delighted that all the team were helpful and helped to provide a pleasant stay. We all hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed here as I was attending a concert in the Bord Gais Theatre, it's literally across the road so couldn't be handier or more convenient. The staff were friendly, room was lovely and the food was very good too, especially dinner. The only negatives were minor ones - the TV reception was poor on a lot of channels but as we were only there one night it really wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Yvonne E,

I would like to thank you for commenting on your recent experience at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. As one of our logos say “Our location deserves a standing ovation” and I am very glad you found it to your convenience. TV reception greatly depends on the weather, however the feedback on your minor concern is appreciated. The team and I hope to have a pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to the theatre.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a large modern hotel directly behind the Bord Gais Theatre in one of the newly developed areas of the Dublin docklands. The bedrooms are large and very comfortable. The breakfast room is very large but can become very busy at peak times. The buffet selection is very extensive. The coffee could be better but that is the case in most hotels I find. There is a leisure centre with a good 22-metre swimming pool in the basement and it opens at 6.30am in the morning. There are several good restaurants plus a late night shop in the area in front of the theatre. A 5 minute walk across the bridge over the river will take you to the nearest Luas tram stop (Mayor Square) and you can be in the centre in 6 or 7 minutes. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teleworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Teleworker,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am pleased that you enjoyed our facilities including Club Vitae which won the White Flag Award for exceptional customer service in 2013. With regards to your feedback about breakfast, we run at a very high occupancy level, and unfortunately, at times we are not able to seat people as quickly as we would like as a result of this. Thank you very much for your observation regarding our coffee, please be assured your comments will be utilized fully. I know these were minor concerns but we sincerely appreciate your feedback. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,026 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
3,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,444 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gibson Hotel
The Gibson Hotel
#21 of 151 in Dublin
4,563 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#38 of 151 in Dublin
2,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane

Property: Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Address: Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Maldron Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#26 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#30 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane (formerly Maldron Hotel)is a seven storey, contemporary landmark building off Sir John Rogerson's Quay in the Dublin Docklands, a stone's throw from the city center. A spacious 304 bedroom hotel, each designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure guests the beautifully appointed guest rooms offer a light spacious contemporary style at least 25 square meters. Vertigo Bar is a funky bar space within the hotel open throughout the day, Stir Restaurant offers an array of dishes to tempt your taste buds, Club Vitae Health & Fitness Club and a range of meeting space make Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane an award winning 4 star hotel. Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane is within easy access of the airport and main bus & rail stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Quality Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing