We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely would return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Ranked #34 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely would return”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here for one night and I must say everything was excellent, our room was spacious with a big balcony on the top floor with a fab view of the river, nice walk to grafton street and jervis sc, the service at dinner was great the staff were extremely friendly and looked after us really well, breakfast was lovely with a choice of Buffett food, next time I'm in Dublin I'll definitely be returning

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValerieOBrien93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear ValerieOBrien93,
I am delighted to read such a fantastic review of Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, thank you for taking your time to review the hotel. I will ensure that I pass on your great feedback to the team.
Warm regards,
Conor O'Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,794
    1,370
    498
    154
    58
See reviews for
882
1,116
138
590
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely spacious room is good location located a 20 minute walk to Grafton St. During summer, rooms were very warm with no air conditioning facilities - windows only open slightly. Staff extremely helpful, and meals were great. Would stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Chichilina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Chichilina,
Thank you for your review of Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am pleased to see you had a pleasant stay with us here in Dublin. We don't have air conditioning in the hotel unfortunately, we can however offer fans to our guests and provide assistance with the windows as they have a safety lock on them.
I hope we can welcome you back on your next visit to Dublin.
Warm regards,
Conor O'Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cali, Valle, Colombia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed 6 nights in July 2014. It is a 20 minute walk to Trinity College. Wonderful room with a balcony and view to the river. Close to Theatre and some restaurantes in the canal. Friendly and helpful staff. No safe box in our (standard) room (need to pay extra 30 Euro for rooms with it) and no fridge. No AC but was also not necesary. Recommended if you don't mind walking.

Room Tip: Request non smoking and with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S1PRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear SergioyLina,
Thank you for taking the time to review Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay. Unfortunately we do not have safe facilities in every bedroom, however we have ample safe facilities at Reception for our guests. This can be arranged for you on arrival if you were to stay again.
Warm regards,
Conor O'Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville
Level Contributor
166 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed last night of coach tour.

Hotel is new and modern, with conveniences Americans are used to - ice machines, free wi-fi, modern lifts, etc. - except for in-room refrigerators.

Restaurant and pub are very nice with good food and service.

A sort walk to Temple Bar, or a stroll along the Liffey.

Staff was eager to help arrange a taxi pickup in the morning - altogether first-class treatment.

Not sure what the room rates are like outside of a package, but would enjoy staying again for a longer period.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Joe O,
Thank you for your lovely review, I am delighted to see you had a great stay here with us in Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane as part of your tour. We would be very pleased to welcome you back in the future. If you have any enquiry going forward simply email info.cardifflane@maldronhotels.com and one of my colleagues can reply with a rate.
Warm regards,
Conor O'Kane,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My mother and aunties were booked into the Maldron, I rang them to organise champagne and flowers - they were very friendly and helpful and after the first call I was able to organise everything by email. Thanks Elaine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weemurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear travelfromportugal,
Thank you kindly for taking the time to review Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am always happy to read such great reviews of the hotel, and I am glad you got a great nights sleep while staying with us here.
Warm regards,
Conor O'Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is 20 min away from trinity college, temple bar and that area, close enough for a walk, distant enough to allow a good night sleep, in a comfortable hotel. Rooms have plenty of space. Decent breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfromportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 22 October 2015
Dear travelfromportuga

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dighton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Beautiful hotel. My only dislike was the lack of air conditioning (which was common throughout Ireland) but the hotel did supply a fan for the room which helped. Staff was very pleasant and helpful.

Luggage storage could be a little more organized. We did have one item go missing...just an airplane neck pillow but still.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krw121981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Krw121981,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am glad to hear the team was pleasant and helpful, we always do our best to resolve any guests requests as soon as possible. I apologise about the lost neck pillow and hope your flight back was comfortable nevertheless. If you would be so kind to send an e mail to lostproperty.cardifflane@maldronhotels.com with your full name, date of arrival/departure and room number so our Accommodation Manager can get in touch with you if the neck pillow has been found. The team and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Dublin.

Warmest Regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,022 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#52 of 151 in Dublin
3,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,443 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gibson Hotel
The Gibson Hotel
#22 of 151 in Dublin
4,562 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#36 of 151 in Dublin
2,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane

Property: Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Address: Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Maldron Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#26 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#30 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane (formerly Maldron Hotel)is a seven storey, contemporary landmark building off Sir John Rogerson's Quay in the Dublin Docklands, a stone's throw from the city center. A spacious 304 bedroom hotel, each designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure guests the beautifully appointed guest rooms offer a light spacious contemporary style at least 25 square meters. Vertigo Bar is a funky bar space within the hotel open throughout the day, Stir Restaurant offers an array of dishes to tempt your taste buds, Club Vitae Health & Fitness Club and a range of meeting space make Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane an award winning 4 star hotel. Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane is within easy access of the airport and main bus & rail stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Quality Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing