We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal base for concert goers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Ranked #32 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

If you are travelling to Dublin for a concert at the O2, Croke Park or Bord Gais Energy Theatre this is the ideal hotel. There were a lot of different nationalites staying in this hotel which is great to see. I booked a family room for my husband, my teenage son and myself. We got a great deal for a 2 night stay, which included dinner, bottle house wine, breakfast and also a choice of either a 2 day Dublin Bus pass or Wax Museum tickets. The Dublin Bus is right outside the door so gives easy access to the city centre. The room was spacious and clean although our view wasn't great (looking out at bins), it served it's purpose as we were out all day. The food in the restaurant was lovely with very attentive staff. There is a vending machine at the end of each corridor for those looking for a midnight snack. We used the leisure facilities which included a sauna, jacuzzi, steam room and nice swimming pool. I would ask the hotel to upgrade the steam room as the tiles were mouldy and some were missing and when you walked in it smelt of smelly socks. You just walked in and back out again as it was a bit gross. Other than that the other facilites were fine. All in all this is an a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerOShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Dear BerOShea

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,830 - 1,836 of 4,158 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Booked this hotel because I need it to be in the area and I wanted a room with balcony. Yes, it is a mid range hotel, so don't expect luxury, but I found it to be more than adequate. Check-in/out was swift and smooth, room was spacious (I had booked an executive room) and clean, breakfast ok. If you are expecting perfection, then you may want to upgrade to a more expensive hotel, but I had no issues with it. Last time I was in Dublin, I stayed at the Four Seasons, which was indeed brilliant. This time I needed a different location so I picked this one. Yes, it is not the Four Seasons, but it is also half the price, and for what you pay for, I thought it was good value and would definitely return again if I had to stay in the same area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AnonymusLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Dear AnonymusLondon

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have stayed at the Maldron hotel for 1 week, during my induction time in Dublin. I found it very good. Staff very friendly, very big room, with a balcony, nice view. Great breakfast! Walking distance from the city center. Close to Facebook, Google and Twitter's HQ. Clean and cosy. Affordable rate! I definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Suite rooms, 7th floor are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank otylici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Dear otylici

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Right from check in we were impressed as we were given our room two hours early. Room was perfect, very clean, spacious, nice balcony, huge flat screen TV, very clean bathroom, very polite staff and a great Irish breakfast. About a 15 minute walk to Temple Bar. We love it here

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Dashmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Dear Dashmiller

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel showed all the promise of a good mid price hotel with facilities such as indoor pool, sauna,spa and sports bar. Unfortunately it was less the facilities and more the people who shape the review. Even with 5 staff on front of desk they could not be organised and communication accuracy between staff leave a lot to behold. Would not go back again rather give up post race swim (hot tub not working) anyway, neither locks or directions (sent 40 mins in wrong direction!!)

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Maddogmcardle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Dear Maddogmcardle

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A pleasant modern hotel although it can be noisy outside. Main disappointment is few of the staff are Irish and many struggle to understand simple English. If you want a proper Irish experience and welcome look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank theairtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Dear theairtraveller

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Hi
We have stayed in a number of first class hotels over the years including first class at the Radisson Bankok, 5 star at the Hilton Hua Hin Thailand and the Excelsior Hong Kong. Due to back problems I could not travel so far abroad so after much thought we decided to go to the Maldron Cardiff Lane for our 25th wedding anniversary. We thought we would just be content with this hotel but we were wrong. The hotel and staff were every bit as good as we experienced abroad Totally immaculate and could not fault it in any way. Thinking of booking it again for my husbands 50th birthday. Wish we had heard of the Maldron chain years ago. Well done Maldron Dublin.

Geoff and Helen Smith
Age 48-50

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor with balcony. Road can be busy but no problem once patio doors are clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Dear Helen S

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,502 reviews
The Gibson Hotel
#22 of 151 in Dublin
4,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane

Address: Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Maldron Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#26 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#30 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £91 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane (formerly Maldron Hotel)is a seven storey, contemporary landmark building off Sir John Rogerson's Quay in the Dublin Docklands, a stone's throw from the city center. A spacious 304 bedroom hotel, each designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure guests the beautifully appointed guest rooms offer a light spacious contemporary style at least 25 square meters. Vertigo Bar is a funky bar space within the hotel open throughout the day, Stir Restaurant offers an array of dishes to tempt your taste buds, Club Vitae Health & Fitness Club and a range of meeting space make Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane an award winning 4 star hotel. Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane is within easy access of the airport and main bus & rail stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Quality Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing