We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Nearby Hotels
US$259
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$290
US$280
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$187
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandymount Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stauntons on the Green(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$283
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cassidys Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Canal Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$175
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hampton Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
US$206
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Dublin Skylon Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$124
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,457)
Filter reviews
4,457 results
Traveller rating
2,157
1,490
559
174
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,157
1,490
559
174
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstir restaurantbord gais theatrevertigo bargrand canal theatreconvention centerleisure facilitiessteam roomminute walkquality hotelduty manageracross the riverlovely hotelwould highly recommend this hotelenjoyable staytemple baraviva stadiumo'connell street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,850 - 3,855 of 4,457 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2009

This hotel is situated 15 min in walking distance to where Temple Bar area starts and 15 min to O'Connell street. But the Busaras ( Central Bus Station ) is just a 7-8 min walk away. The coaches to the airport arrive and leave from here. Great hotel and nice location if you enjoy walking, or if you want to spend some money on taxi. Its 8 Euros to centre by taxi. But just 1.15 Euros with the buses. The bus stop is nearby.

The rooms are good, and theres a lot of them. I was travelling alone, but still got a room from three people. They will give you the quiet rooms, if you ask for it. Theres a great lunch place just around the corner. I think its called Munchies. The people working in finances and telecom eat lunch here. And the Ferryman pub is also just around the corner.

The rooms are excellent. Clean and spacious. The cleaners do an excellent job every day. It seems theyre used to working hard for their pay. Or they love their job.

The health club is great. Large swimming pool, with not too many people. You have to buy a swimming cap for 2,5 Euros and its best to have your own lock with you. The health club is open for the public. Health club includes a superb fitness centre, that a lot of locals use as their work-out place.

To be honest. Dublin was a bit boring. And people were not as friendly as i was expecting. Maybe its the crisis, or maybe its the weather, or maybe its the melancolic aspect of Irish culture? I dont know. But a half day bus trip to South coast with powerscourt gardens, was tremendous. Powerscourt gardens is an exceptionell place. And on the tour you get more than an hour to walk around in the spectacular gardens. Recommended. The tours go from dublin bus HQ in O' Connell street. I found one good area for eating and people watching, which was where Parliament street meets Dame street. It is about 20 min from the hotel by walk.

If i had more time i would definately travel more to the smaller towns outside Dublin. Like Wicklow. As the countryside is more genuine and people are more relaxed and friendly. The nature is also fantastic and fertile.

As a conclusion: This hotel is wonderful. Superb rooms. A clear 4 star hotel in my view. The service is also good. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorPak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOliver, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2009

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to note that you would recommend the Hotel as you found it wonderful and the rooms superb.

Thank you for taking the time to write a reveiw on the Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, I am sure that other reveiwers will find it very informative and provide them excursion ideas.

I look forward to welcoming you back to dublin and the Maldron Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Oliver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Booked this through the internet thinking it would be fairly central. Unfortunately the hotel, although modern and clean was on the outskirts of the city in the middle of a yet-to-be-completed development. Despite being 4 stars, the bedrooms lacked individual toiletries (conditioner, body lotion) and a bit extra on the hospitality tray eg hot chocolate and bisuits. The 'Movies on demand' advertised were 'adult' movies only and the buffet breakfast was poor in comparison to other hotels of this standard.
On the plus side, the pool and gym facilities were great and the reception staff were very helpful in booking taxis and tours. More like a good 3 star than a 4 star. A little attention to detail (better toiletries and drinks in the room), freshly cooked breakfasts with good local ingredients and the completion of the rest of the development could improve this hotel immensely.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitlise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOliver, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a reveiw on the Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed using the leisure facilities which are provided complimentary to all guests.

In relation to the movies on demand you are correct however I would like to clarify that we do provide a dedicated Movie channel which is free to view in our bedrooms.

Also in relation to the buffet breakfast, the ingredients are all locally sourced and freshly cooked with the buffet being refreshed at regular intervals during breakfast service.

Kind Regards,

Claire Oliver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Just back from a stay at the Maldron with a young family ( ages 10 & 1 years )
Staff were friendly and efficiently. Relaxed atmosphere. Facilities great. Bed the most comfortable bed Ive slept in - in a hotel- yet. Down side was the view from Hotel - there wasn,t one, but then again I wasnt there for the few. Approx 15 min walk to centre of Dublin but theres always a taxi outside.
Would stay again definetly. Family break deals are excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weebird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOliver, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2009

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for writing a reveiw on the Maldrn Hotel Cardiff Lane.

I am glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

As you said we have some brilliant family deals on at the moment so I hope you can return to us in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Oliver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Stayed for 4 nights whilst attending a conference. Staff were polite and helpful. Room (single occupancy) was very good size with all required facilites including free wired broadband. Breakfast choice was not enormous but more than adequate. Although there was office building construction opposite the room was well insulated from noise. Just 15 minutes walk from Trinity College, another 5 minutes to main shops. Good lesiure facilities. Got good deal through ASDS for £55 per night B&B.

No problems at all and a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrXavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOliver, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a reveiw on the Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane.

I am glad to hear that you found the Hotel excellent and enjoyed your stay.

Hopefully we will see you again soon, maybe if you are attending a conference in the new Conference Centre across the river just over the new Samuel Beckett Bridge - both which are opening in 2010.

Kind Regards,

Claire Oliver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

After a lot of research into locations, noise levels, and prices, this hotel looked great as most hotels were well over £100 and out in the sticks. The hotel is in an up-and-coming area about 15 minutes along the river from O'Connell street. It's quiet and clean and has a pool and leisure centre. We arrived and were given a warm welcome and although we were there before checkin time, they found us a nice room. The breakfast is plentiful and good. The staff really did make the stay one of the best i have had for a while, what a different good customer service can make to your stay!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitikatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOliver, Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments in relation to your stay in the Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and be assured that i will pass on your kind words to the Staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Oliver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews