We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, just not a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights in July for th U2 concert in Croke Park. The Hotel was lovely with modern decor. Room had a plasma tv and bathroom was gorgeous. We kept running out of shower gel and every time we rang reception to ask for more it took about 2 hours for them 2 bring it up. Breakfast was just OK, was self service so everything was a bit dried up. Plenty of choice though! Had dinner in the restaurant on one of the nights and it was nice and quite reasonable. Had dinner in the bar another night and it was a rip off!! We only had a small pizza, a burger, and some chipsto share and a drink each and it cost over €60 which was way more than the retaurant but with a lot smaller portions! The staff weren't very friendly. There was one girl on recepetion who was constantly frosty. The hotel was a bit far away from everything (about a 20 min walk to o'connell st.) but was only about €8 in a taxi if we were feeling lazy! There was a building site next door which wasn't great if you felt like a lie in in the mornings! There were no restaurants nearby either so had to go far when we ate out! The only shop we could find was about 10 minutes away. Overall the Maldron is a really nice hotel but just isnt in a very good location. Next time we'll be staying somewere a bit more central!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonegalAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2015

Dear DonegalAnon

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,601 - 3,607 of 4,210 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2009

I took advantage of the special deal they have for families with kids, whereby you get breakfast, Dublin tour bus tickets and swimming lessons.

The good bits:
The package rate is excellent and the kids had a fantastic time both on the Dublin bus tour and in their swimming lesson
The hotel is lovely, modern, clean and I thoroughly recommend staying there
Breakfast buffet was fine, kids and adults fed and watered and set up for the day. The best hotel Black Pudding I think I have ever had (i.e. nice and edible, not something made by Michelin)
Swimming coach was great, really pleasant and had my 5 year old doing four lengths of the 20 metre pool on his back before we left. Even the more troublesome three year old loved the teaching and had a great time.
The rooms were nice. Two adults and two kids easily fitted in, even with all of the toys brought by the kids.
Lovely views of the new Conference centre across the Liffey and will be right across the road from the new Theatre when that opens shortly.

The bad bits:
On arrival I took the kids down for a late dinner. Kids menu is basic, so ordered pizza for them. Plate arrived with two barely cooked McCain mini-pizza's. Truly awful and the kids duly left them.
I ordered the Thai Green Curry. The closest to Thailand it came was the French beans. The coconut curry tasted like a pot of cheap chicken chasseur sauce. On a scale of 1-10 it gets the -10!
Package. When you go to book the package, you can only book one night. We therefore booked the package twice (far cheaper to book including breakfast and deal than just the room). You only however get the bus tour and swimming lessons once. It doesn't say this on the website, so be warned.
The Saturday night, I avoided eating in the hotel, but getting back late again the kids were hungry, so I took them down for something OTHER than the pizza. Ordered the Pasta for them, which they asked for with cheese and that is exactly what they got, cooked, drained plain pasta with some dried cheese shavings. No seasoning, not even butter. Desert was a fruit cocktail, but at €9 for plain pasta and a fruit cocktail, it was completely overpriced.

Would I go back? Yes, but would I ever go near the restaurant again, no way.

Lovely hotel, blighted by a truly appalling restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BP_TFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2015

Dear BP_TFG

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Booked as part of a vacation package from the States. Hotel is used to American travelers arriving early in the morning via red-eyes as room was ready. This is a major plus for me. Room itself was fine and staff was always friendly. Breakfast was nothing to write home about, but it served its purpose.

The biggest drawback is the location to tourist sites. It's a good 10-15 minute walk along the river to Temple Bar. During the day this is not an issue, but at night it could be a bit unsettling for older guests, especially with the construction nearby. For me it was not a concern since I enjoy the walk, but it will be an issue for some. Good news is that taxis are always plentiful, but they are a bit costly (although the drivers are a great source of information about Dublin).

Overall, I would say the hotel is a 3 star, not 4 star. I got what I paid for and would recommend the hotel only if you enjoy the walk several times a day. As we say in America - location, location, location!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJHMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOliver, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2009

Dear PJHMilwaukee,

I hope you enjoyed your trip to the Emerald Isle and I am glad to hear that you would recommend the Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane.

I would like to note that our location will be greatly enhanced when the Samuel Beckett bridge opens as we will be the closest Hotel to the O2 Arena and the new 2200 seat Grand Canal Theatre is also due to open on the 17th March 2010 which is directly across from the Hotel.

I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Oliver
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Although out of Dublin, it was ideal for our stay. I was in a group of 24 colleagues from Norway & Scotland. The staff were very attentive, and when asked did everythng that we asked of them. The rooms were well appointed and always tidy, and the conference rooms were just right for our needs. Especial thank to Jonas who looked after us.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheresaD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOliver, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2009

Dear TheresaD67,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with the Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane.

I hope to welcome you and your colleagues back to the Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Oliver
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

stayed here because it says it is "close to the o2". If you have a boat maybe. long walk in the nov weather, jurys and the clarion are much closer.

reception were ok not that friendly. The rooms were very basic not what you expect from a four star, old style chunky tv, no shower caps you have to pay for them at reception!! very few towels and no biscuits with coffee. They basically cut back on all the extras that are suposed to come with a four star hotel.

I asked for a room with a cbalcony overlooking the river-i got no balcony and a view of an post vans! There was a boardroom beside us which rte were using so people were in and out of from early in the morning to late in the evening using the toilet beside our room. Purely ridiculous! the accomodation staff had very loud conversations both mornins outside our room even with the dnd sign up.

The only ood thing about the place was the dinner 3 courses for €18 the reatsurant staff were very good. and the lifts are very fast!! other than that stay away.

€139 per night im disgusted i paid for it couldnt wait to leave.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2015

Dear dee w

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

Just wanted to say thank you ,I had a great time in Dublin and the hotel was great. It was very nice and clean. I did not find it noisy at all and was quite pleased with everything. I was able to get in the room early without an upcharge and spent the whole day going around town. The included breakfast was decent although not a fan of black pudding. However, the choices were good from fruit, cereal, oatmeal to the full Irish breakfast. Best not to have a car because they do not have parking and it is expensive to park. If people take the drive and hotel packages they should be aware of the parking situation. At breakfast someone we met was talking about the lack of parking. My experience was wonderful!

Thanks so much I would highly recommend this hotel.

Laurette Brush

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRISHAMERICAN56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOliver, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2009

Dear Irishamerican56,

It brings me great pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful experience whilst staying with us which is highlighted by the 100% rating you gave our Hotel.

Thank you again for your kind comments.

Kind Regards,

Claire Oliver
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

We stayed here for 6 nights in early September having booked the room on Hotwire for approximately $78. Our room was nice with a comfortable bed and bathroom and it was quiet. There is construction in the neighborhood, but that did not pose a problem.
We purchased a 7 day bus and Dart pass when we arrived and also a 3 day Hop on, Hop off bus pass (a little redundant but worth it). It was easy to walk to Pearce Street to catch a bus to the city center and beyond. The walk to the center was not bad, but having the bus pass made getting around easier. We used the pass to ride the Dart to some of the outlying areas such as Howth and Dun Langoire which made interesting day trips.
We ate one dinner and a couple of breakfasts at the hotel but found more interesting places to eat in the city. Trinity College as well as several museums have cafes serving breakfast and lunch for reasonable prices. Would recommend this hotel although it is not as central as some others. Hotel personnel were very accommodating.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alohafromhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireOliver, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2009

Dear Alohafromhawaii,

I am glad to hear that you found our bedrooms quite and comfortable allowing you to relax following your busy days of touring Dublin.

Thank you for taking the time to write a reveiw and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Oliver
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,571 reviews
The Gibson Hotel
#23 of 150 in Dublin
4,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Grand Canal Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane

Address: Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Maldron Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#26 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#36 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £90 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane (formerly Maldron Hotel)is a seven storey, contemporary landmark building off Sir John Rogerson's Quay in the Dublin Docklands, a stone's throw from the city center. A spacious 304 bedroom hotel, each designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure guests the beautifully appointed guest rooms offer a light spacious contemporary style at least 25 square meters. Vertigo Bar is a funky bar space within the hotel open throughout the day, Stir Restaurant offers an array of dishes to tempt your taste buds, Club Vitae Health & Fitness Club and a range of meeting space make Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane an award winning 4 star hotel. Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane is within easy access of the airport and main bus & rail stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Quality Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing