We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, ideal for a weekend in Dublin”
Review of Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gate Hotel
Ranked #116 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location, ideal for a weekend in Dublin”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed here over the weekend and after reading some mixed reviews we didn't have our hopes set too high, but I think certain people are far too pernickety!

First off, the 747 Bus from Dublin Airport drops you off right around the corner.. Its right off O'Connell St, within walking distance of everything!
Its all stairs, so avoid if you don't/can't climb a few stairs..
There's secure entry to the hotel, and the staff were very helpful.. We had breakfast once, it was an Irish breakfast (choice of cereal available) and was served very quickly..

The room was basic, small but had everything we needed, and the price was fantastic considering how expensive a city it is..
We stayed on the top floor so noise wasn't an issue, but your told in advance there's a Rock Club downstairs so request an upstairs room if this a problem..

Its an old building, so don't expect the Hilton, but its very clean and a perfect spot for a few nights in Dublin! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevandChelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    87
    76
    18
    49
See reviews for
19
76
71
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I and my friends stayed just 1 night, it is terrible, floors are all off they are so old the banisters are cracked i would say it a very old tenement house very run down, picks look lovely of rooms but the hole builden should be knocked down, 2 towels in room and their was 4 people, they say ph in room we had none and just 1 key,very noisy until 3 in morning i have stayed in lots of city centers hotels around ireland did not have problem with noise, take my advice just dont go no matter how cheap,

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TasharooDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Cork
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed one midweek night having stormed out of the Russell Court (see my review there) as an emergency, I knew nothing about the place, it was the only hotel with a triple room available at 8pm. The outside looks daunting, and there are a lot of stairs. The welcome could not have been warmer, Bernie was kind and sympathetic and showed us to a lovely, recently refurbished room on the top floor (for the quiet). This room had the most comfortable bed I ever slept in and was beautifully kept. There was a lot of noise outside but it's the city centre, that's going to happen. Great location and the breakfast was divine. The lady who served it was so lovely and friendly. This is not a luxury spot but you'll get everything you need there. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Go as high up the building as you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

It looks like it's gone to the dogs from the outside, but inside it's clean, has every proper thing a traveller'd need, and the staff are happy and helpful. And the LOCATION! The LOCATION! You just can't beat its location. It's 5-10 minutes' walk to EVERYTHING!

On your booking sheet it might say the hotel has no internet, but it does! Not too good, but serves purposes such as checking email and using google maps. Better in the morning.

One thing though: would only recommend this hotel to heavy sleepers. Seems it's upstairs to or downstairs to or near some nightclub. It didn't make a difference to me as I could sleep with an earthquake on. But do keep a note of this.

Breakfast was adorable. Proper, aromatic coffee. A smiley elderly lady would come up and ask you if you want coffee or tea, and then bring a full Irish breakfast to you -- doesn't matter if you can put down the whole thing -- beautifully cooked.

Don't know how the shower facility is. Didn't use it.

In a word, loved it. (Well of course it's not a luxury hotel, but wtf needs a luxury hotel when they're in Dublin?!)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissShihui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Hi all I dont think the hotel deserves some of the criticism,I have stayed here on and off over the past four years, most recently while sitting the nursing exams.I always found Mrs Murray very helpful and the ladys breakfast is to die for,for sure the first floor is noisy but your staying over a nightclub (the legandary ''Fibber Magees'')not a church,so go with the flow here, the customers are real nice, the hotel has been revamped so the reviews are not correct its a big complex, here something for everyone.

Room Tip: try avoid the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Hotel in need of a serious facelift. Very rundown. The location is the only good point going for this hotel. I stayed one night, after a concert. I wouldn't recommend it for weekend or week stays, very very basic.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaM005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The room was dirty, noisy, smelly, tiny, bedclothes were sticky to touch, carpets threadbare, floor uneven, electrical sockets hanging off the wall, could barely lock door. Would not let my dog stay in this hotel. Area unsafe outside.

Room Tip: Dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheyannedowling11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dergvale Hotel
#74 of 151 in Dublin
356 reviews
North City Centre
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#105 of 151 in Dublin
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Academy Plaza Hotel
#42 of 151 in Dublin
4,478 reviews
Maple Hotel
#135 of 151 in Dublin
505 reviews
Wynn's Hotel
#37 of 151 in Dublin
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gate Hotel

Property: Gate Hotel
Address: 80/81 Parnell Street, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Gate Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gate Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing