We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly hotel”
Review of Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gate Hotel
Ranked #120 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights in August. Travelling alone I opted for reasonably priced hotel rather than hostel. The staff were incredibly friendly, my room was small but definitely served its purpose. Bed Linen was clean, shower/toilet was clean. Breakfast across the courtyard at Murray's made a great start to the day. Great location, just off O'Connell Street. My room was situated on the first floor, overlooking the courtyard/beer garden. Yes, it was noisy in the evening, but 9/10 i was out enjoying the atmosphere. So noise did not bother me at all. I had no issues with this hotel at all. If you don't like noise, don't book, if you don't mind it, enjoy the atmosphere and join in. I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlaF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great location and excellent value for money. Ideal for going to Croke Park Stadium. Lovely breakfast and room was so comfortable. The only fault I had was the noise outside the hotel because of live music on at hotel. Very hard to get a night's sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room a way from live music downstrairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForeverCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Friendly staff ,great central location,excellent breakfast. This hotel has something for everyone, rooms may be a little small but clean and everything you need is provided. The beer garden at the back of hotel is very well laid out with plenty of bars, good trad session in murrays just off beer garden and rock band in fibbers all connected conveniently to the Gate hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzf68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel if you want to be out late. Is above a nightclub and our room is maxing at 86 db so no chance to sleep. Also there is no hotel car park- the website is misleading but there is a multi-storey at the back. Ok for a base as really central but wouldn't come here again, would get a hotel further out and catch one of the plentiful cabs

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank channelpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed overnight from Sligo to catch my early flight the next day, they said room would be ready at 14:00 but i didnt get in the room till close to 14:30 and thats because a young man helped the cleaning lady do the room had she been alone it wouldve taken longer, it was hot, no remote for the tv, too much noise on the street outside and the wi-fi was terrible at best.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just had a one night stay in this hotel and just feel I wanted to commend them on several things, firstly the price is very fair for the location and what you get, breakfast is included and is of excellent quality. The staff are all so very friendly, welcoming and helpful, totally commend them on their customer service. This is not THE RITZ so other's comments I feel are unfair because I think the concept of what this hotel is trying to do really works. Keep the cost down and no frills...so if you are happy with this then you will not go far wrong. No complaints from us on anything. In fact we will return next year. Oh and the room, bed, bathroom very clean......

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GAILKELLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel! Great location and lovely food! Lively night life so good fun! Be careful though it says on website that they have car parking but they don't! There is a Multi storey car park nearby so it's not too bad!! Overall a great stay!! I'll b back!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Meezy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
West County Hotel
#84 of 152 in Dublin
315 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#80 of 152 in Dublin
1,190 reviews
North City Centre
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#106 of 152 in Dublin
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dergvale Hotel
#76 of 152 in Dublin
383 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 152 in Dublin
4,790 reviews
South City Centre
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gate Hotel

Address: 80/81 Parnell Street, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £74 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Gate Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gate Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing