We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gate Hotel
Ranked #118 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed here with my sister for 3 nights. The room was basic but had everything we needed. Was surprised that me and my sister both had a double bed each. Beds wear really comfortable.

The breakfast was great all staff wear friendly and helpful.

We had no problems with the wifi connection.

It can be quite loud as their is a courtyard with bars underneath the hotel, but we did not mind as we wear out enjoying ourselves.

I would definitely recommend this hotel great price for fab location.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Laurenruby21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed here because of the central location, which was perfect, just off O'Connell Street. Our room was on the second floor and was on the small side but was clean; the shower & toilet were clean with nice towels and plenty of hot water. On the downside was the fact that the room overlooked the nightclub and beer garden at the back which,until past 2a.m. Were incredibly noisy. Keep all windows tightly shut if you want any chance of a sleep before then.
Bit of a shock when we arrived to find the front door is shut, next to the club/pub entrance and you have to call the two-way intercom for them to let you in!
Overall it was ok for a short break but I wouldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the back if you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Arncliffe_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights in August. Travelling alone I opted for reasonably priced hotel rather than hostel. The staff were incredibly friendly, my room was small but definitely served its purpose. Bed Linen was clean, shower/toilet was clean. Breakfast across the courtyard at Murray's made a great start to the day. Great location, just off O'Connell Street. My room was situated on the first floor, overlooking the courtyard/beer garden. Yes, it was noisy in the evening, but 9/10 i was out enjoying the atmosphere. So noise did not bother me at all. I had no issues with this hotel at all. If you don't like noise, don't book, if you don't mind it, enjoy the atmosphere and join in. I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlaF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great location and excellent value for money. Ideal for going to Croke Park Stadium. Lovely breakfast and room was so comfortable. The only fault I had was the noise outside the hotel because of live music on at hotel. Very hard to get a night's sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room a way from live music downstrairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForeverCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Friendly staff ,great central location,excellent breakfast. This hotel has something for everyone, rooms may be a little small but clean and everything you need is provided. The beer garden at the back of hotel is very well laid out with plenty of bars, good trad session in murrays just off beer garden and rock band in fibbers all connected conveniently to the Gate hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzf68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel if you want to be out late. Is above a nightclub and our room is maxing at 86 db so no chance to sleep. Also there is no hotel car park- the website is misleading but there is a multi-storey at the back. Ok for a base as really central but wouldn't come here again, would get a hotel further out and catch one of the plentiful cabs

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank channelpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed overnight from Sligo to catch my early flight the next day, they said room would be ready at 14:00 but i didnt get in the room till close to 14:30 and thats because a young man helped the cleaning lady do the room had she been alone it wouldve taken longer, it was hot, no remote for the tv, too much noise on the street outside and the wi-fi was terrible at best.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,618 reviews
Castle Hotel
#57 of 150 in Dublin
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dergvale Hotel
#75 of 150 in Dublin
367 reviews
Cassidys Hotel
#45 of 150 in Dublin
2,623 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#90 of 150 in Dublin
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gate Hotel

Address: 80/81 Parnell Street, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £86 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Gate Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gate Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing