We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice coffee!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Costa Coffee

Costa Coffee
Ranked #38 of 153 Coffee & Tea in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nice coffee!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Had several Costa Coffee's during our stay in Ireland and always of a predictable high quality. Excellent place thill out for a while, great cafe atmosphere, cakes in abundance, Wi-Fi, what more could you want?

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank peterfloyd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    51
    14
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Terrific barristas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Looking for an alternative to Starbucks in Dublin? This is it. Great coffee and pastries. Beautiful place to relax. And to top it off: Belgian hot chocolate. I recommend mixing it with a latte.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“OK for coffee, but mind your belongings carefully”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a pretty standard Costa Coffee shop. Coffee is ok, and the location is very handy for those visiting Trinity College and the Book of Kells. We went there twice our first day in Dublin, This turned out to be a huge mistake because we were suffering jet lag and drowsiness by mid-afternoon. Yes, despite warnings about keeping belongings secure, we discovered as we were leaving that a camera had been stolen by someone reaching through a small decorative railing area on a wall behind our table, unseen by us. This was our first experience with theft in over 20 trips to Europe. The next day we encountered some helpful Garda folks on the street and told them of our experience as we were trying to find out if we should even bother to report the theft. Their first reaction when we mentioned Costa Coffee--"was it the one on Dawson Street?" Upon our confirmation, they both said "That place is lethal for thefts of personal belongings." It was clearly well-known to them. No doubt because of the high volume of tourists and students who visit there. If Costa were concerned, of course, there would have been some warning signs in the place, but there are none. So just a word of caution--keep your stuff very close at hand and be ever-vigilant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MHerisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyong, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a bad one!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I first got hooked on Costa Coffee in Scotland while on holidays and then in Ireland. I must say, I didn't find a bad one amongst them and I visitted a few. They were always busy but rarely over crowded and a great escape from the weather and crowds outside. Drinks were reasonably priced, though cakes, cookies and pastries were a little expensive and staff were overall friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nikibeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Costa Coffee also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Costa Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing