We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A scream in the night!”
Review of O'Sheas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
O'Sheas Hotel
Ranked #84 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Stayed here one night in May. It was a Friday night and I would suggest its probably not the best choice for a restful nights sleep. A lot of noise from the bar downstairs to the early hours (and I was briefly woken by a female fellow guest screeching like a banshee in the night). But then you could always join the party as this is what O'Shea's is famous for.
I found the staff efficient and friendly and the standard of the room in line with the budget price.

Excellent location with easy access to all the sites and the airport 747 service stops just outside.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible if you want a quieter nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

we go to dublin several times a year this time we stayed at o sheas hotel for three nights and must say we could not fault it . the manager could not do enough for us ,had one small problem in my room and it was rectified straight away without question we will definatly stay there again

Room Tip: lower rooms may have traffic noise as it is a busy street but not to bad if you sleep with windows o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparksredditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We were out for the day and decided to pop in to O'sheas for some food. I had ate there years when I used to work nearby and it was always fine so took a chance, brought my husband and children in. Food menu looked promising and reasonable enough. Staff were v friendly and took our order, In a nutshell food was dreadful. My husbands beef and guiness pie arrived with cold mash and frozen veg that were as bland as anything. The pie had hardly any beef it in it and was full of mushroom, my husband hates mushrooms and had it said on the menu that it was beef and mushroom pie he wouldnt have ordered it. My lasagna was overheated and rubbery. The waitress asked us what the food was like and husband told her about the pie. IN fairness to her, she was extremely apologetic and said she would mention it to the chef, we were interested to see would he come out and defend his food but not a hope. She came out and told us we could have pie for half price, at this stage we paid and left, but would never set foot in the place again. I would say a lot of people that eat there are passing trade so owner probably doesnt care that the food isnt good because its not for locals and he knows he will still get drop ins. Only good thingabout the place was the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank dublingirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

2 of your bar staffs manners leave an awful lot to be desired....also when we arrived for breakfast service was appalling we had to ask for our full irish...ask for tea...ask for a cup.....when we got breakfast 5 mins later we had to ask for toast??????service very slack and it wasnt only our table same thing was going on the table behind us..there was a group of us there and not ONE of us will be back.......very dissapointed guests?????

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 567eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 29 March to 1 April 2013. O’Shea’s does not have many of the features that are expected of a three star hotel. The reception is a small cubicle when you enter. It’s actually an entrance to the pub. There is a lift, so to speak. It can carry 2 adults at a time. You will struggle with your suit cases, as we did. We stayed on the third floor; so on many occasions, it was a climb up three flights. There are no telephones in the room. Internet or WiFi is not provided any where in the hotel. At night the area is quite noisy with pub revelers and the shouting and yelling carried on till 2 to 3 in the morning. The only advantage is that it is close to the shopping malls. It is quite far from the cool parts of Dublin such as the Temple Bar precinct.

Room Tip: I cant help you with this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPMENON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We picked this hotel because it's location, price, and it's pub. The location was very good (just a stone's throw from the O'Connell Street), the price was relatively cheap, and the pub was nice, with a great irish breakfast in the moring (it costs 5 euros if you book just the accommodation), cool beers and tasty snacks in the afternoon (irish stew was wonderful!). Some nights there was live irish music there.

Our room was not so clean (dusty shelves, smelly bathroom), but the bathroom was very big, and it was ok for a short stay. So if you are on a tight budget, it's not a bad idea to book a room here. I don't think it's as horrible as the others said, just don't have to expect any luxury. This is a cheap accommodation above an irish pub, nothing more.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We were 4 childhood friends on a long-weekend trip to Dublin mostly to drink pints and to visit some attractions in the city, so the location of the hotel was more important than the quality.
Rooms with basic comfort and ok space.
Maybe not the cleanest room I've been in, but usually you'll get what you pay for.
Good tasting english breakfast, besides the possibility to order continental breakfast.
Pub food and pints were very good at affordable prices.
The hotel staff weren't very helpful nor very friendly.
Bar service was ok.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redscorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#87 of 151 in Dublin
645 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#102 of 151 in Dublin
1,139 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#60 of 151 in Dublin
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maples House Hotel
#98 of 151 in Dublin
266 reviews
Ferryman Hotel
#97 of 151 in Dublin
214 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#83 of 151 in Dublin
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Sheas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Sheas Hotel

Address: 19 Talbot Street | Mountjoy, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £115 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — O'Sheas Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your O'Sheas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osheas Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing