We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Irish Atmosphere”
Review of O'Sheas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
O'Sheas Hotel
Ranked #86 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Spent two nights in Dublin and we stumbled across this bar on the first night. We thought we would pop in for one after dinner at 9pm. Three hours later and we were still propping up the bar. The atmosphere in the pub was great and the live music by the quarter mile was fab!
We returned for another drink on the second night & was just as impressed.

Don't expect anything posh or impressive but this pub had everything we wanted and gave us a brilliant Irish experience we won't forget.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

Booked this hotel last minute for new year. Booked the day before we arrived. Contacted the hotel by email about the car parking and they got back to me really quickly.
Quick and helpful check in giving us all the info we needed.
Room we had was small and basic but everything you need. We had front room on 3rd floor with a great view. There is a hairdryer , small tv and tea/coffee facilities too.
Only bad thing was our dripping shower which we couldn't stop which was annoying.
Staff were really helpful and good banter and we even went out with one of them for a drink one night! The hotel bar has great food too.
We stayed over new year and spent the bells in the hotel as there was a cracking band playing.
Really central location about 5-10 min walk from everything.
We booked for 3 nights but ended up booking an extra night.
Would recommend for a real irish experience in a central location.

Room Tip: We had a nice view at front of building onto street as rooms at back were overlooking buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Has a really nice stay while the rooms are a bit dated and small its a nice cosy place and great value.The guy on check in was friendly and helpful. I didn't not have a drink in the bar but my husband went down while I was getting ready and sad it was a nice place to have a drink.
Would stay again!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Summerfun75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Recently went to this establishment for food after a days shopping , oh my god I was disgusted, firstly there was a que for the toilets when got to the toilets they where all blocked and had no toilet roll , disgusting , these where the main bar / restaurant facilities for the ladies , when i went to report it to the front desk I was told not his problem and go to see the bar attendant , approached the bar attendant who was nothing but an aul grouch not friendly whatsoever and couldn't give a hoot if the bathrooms where flooded , told him the facilities where blocked and he said oh are they , not a response I was hoping to here , so wanted to order food so had to go back to the unfriendly barman to order as the waitress was by passing and didn't seem to want to be there either , eventually my starters came out food was ok couldn't fault a plate of nachos , didn't bother to hang around all night for my main course so decided to leave this building and WONT be ever coming back, my overall opinion was the staff where unfriendly not pleasant unhelpful couldn't careless what was happening you
had to go up to bar to order food and still couldn't get it correct

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lanadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed on Saturday night with my friend, night out in Dublin. Great location, as we did a bit of shopping before heading out. Staff very helpful, accompanied us to the underground car park and back to the hotel, arranged a taxi for us later on. Room small enough, perfect for overnight stay. Stayed on the fourth floor, no noise from outside or ground floor pub. Recommended for couples or friends heading for a night out in Dublin.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickeyIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

For 80 euros per couple including full breakfast, i think it is good value for money. Good location, 3-4 mins walking to center, 8-10 mins walking to temple bar area. Rooms are old and tiny, but to be honest not noisy at all. It was smelly in the corridors. If you plan not to spend too much time in the room, but to see around and if you are in a budget then this is a good choice.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank sokullu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Well priced at £80 per room between 2 of us. Easy 10-15min walk to temple bar, 5 mins to connolly street. Clean, basic but adequate rooms. Friendly helpful staff. Bar with live music downstairs. Well priced full cooked breakfast. Coukd do with wifi.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethan659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#89 of 150 in Dublin
646 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#102 of 150 in Dublin
1,148 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#60 of 150 in Dublin
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maple Hotel
#134 of 150 in Dublin
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Sheas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Sheas Hotel

Address: 19 Talbot Street | Mountjoy, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £130 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — O'Sheas Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your O'Sheas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osheas Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing