We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently Excellent”
Review of The Croke Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Croke Park
Ranked #7 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I have written before about this hotel, but having stayed here for 5 days in July 2011 and one night in October 2011, I feel that I should update what I said. Back in July, when I happened to mention that I was staying for the week, I inquired about a possible upgrade to the executive floor. Like everything else in this hotel, it was no problem! It’s the simple things that make the difference, for example last time I stayed here I left behind my laptop mouse, I just inquired might it have been found, and within two clicks of the computer the receptionist was able to tell me that they had it – it was delivered to my room before I unpacked my case, now that is excellent service! The executive floor gives complementary access to the executive lounge with couches, large screen sky sports (!), unlimited tea, coffee, orange juice and water, complementary newspapers, etc. Hey it was just like having my own private penthouse in the hotel as it was mostly empty! You can even have a quick continental breakfast there if you are in a rush in the morning. Breakfast is still excellent. Staff always coming up asking if you want fresh coffee, etc. Their porridge is still not up to my standard, but that is such a subjective item to get right that I won’t be too critical in that regard. My October trip was just a quick one night stay, I was in a regular room this time but other than access to the executive lounge, you would not notice any difference in the rooms. This is still my number one place to stay whenever I go to Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turasoir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,053
    1,106
    201
    28
    20
See reviews for
979
1,825
164
514
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We arrived very early in the morning on a red eye flight, and the front desk was very accommodating in getting us into our room early in the morning. The room was comfortable and clean, and the staff was very helpful (even with the All Ireland Hurling Final that afternoon!). The hotel is literally directly across the street from the stadium, and it was an easy bus ride from the center of Dublin (though it is also walkable). The breakfast buffet was very tasty and had a wide variety of options, and the concierge was helpful giving us directions even with a packed front lobby the morning after the match.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimandMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

What a great hotel! I booked for a relaxing night in Dublin and this hotel did not disappoint in any way, check in was a breeze as was the check out. Staff can only be commended for their genuine friendly and helpful attitude and it was hospitality at its best. My room was really nice and spotlessly clean there where great facilities and room service available. We needed the assistance of the concierge he was fantastic. Liverpool v Man United on the big screen in the bar with a couple of pints of Bulmers and a really lovely sandwich who could ask for more? This hotel deserves its high rating on Tripadvisor and in my opinion if they keep going the way they are they will reach number 1. Thank you and I hope your management reward you for such a great review the staff are what make the hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itchyfeet76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Hotel is across the street from the Croke Park Stadium. The hotel is super. Our room was very, very nice. One needed to use hotel room key to access the bedroom floors (both the stairs from the lobby and the lifts from the lobby). They had computer access free of charge. At designated times, the green Hop On- Hop Off bus provides a shuttle from the hotel to stop # 1 which is the beginning of the tour. Before boarding the shuttle, one must have a valid ticket for the green Hop On- Hop Off tour. It is an eight or nine block walk from the hotel to Parnell Square and about a 4 or six block walk to O’Connell Street from Parnell Square.. We walked back and forth to town from the hotel. Stop #23 for the green Hop On-Hop Off bus is for the Writers Museum which is on Parnell Square so if one takes that tour and one’s ticket is valid , one can take get off at stop # 23 and reduce your walk to the hotel to 8 blocks. There are a few businesses near the hotel: Enterprise Rent a Car and an auto tire place an Asti which is an Italian restaurant. For the most part the walk between Parnell Square and the hotel is residential with a few small B and B’s/hotels. At least two streets have traffic lights but no pedestrian lights. I would stay at this hotel again if I could afford it, and if the quality does not fail.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank driverless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

If you have a car and are planning to catch an early flight from Dublin airport, this is the hotel for you! All facilities are first rate, the staff extremely helpful, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Parking is free, and the ride to the airport is quick and easy. If you plan to explore downtown Dublin, I'd stay elsewhere. A cab costs about 15 euro to center city and it is much too far for an old man like me to walk. I understand that one can book tours that include transportation from the hotel, but I prefer to tour on my own.
Don't get me wrong. I really liked the hotel. But if you don't like Gaelic football, there's not much to do in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Questmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Lovely hotel, free parking, adjustable air conditioning/heating. Lovely food, drink a bit expensive. Excellent staff everywhere, and a detailed knowledge of local attractions. Complimentary bottle of water on leaving....lovely touch. All in all, a fantastic experience... will be back for more, and have told lots of people about our lovely experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eedila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Somewhere between a good, solid chain hotel and a boutique hotel. Very clean, very comfortable, modern, roomy, efficient. I got a pretty good price on my room (off-peak nights, no sporting events or anything going on), so I was very pleased with my stay. Drew a nice bath, enjoyed the slippers and robe, good breakfast. Perfect.

As far as location, it's not in the center of the city, but walking is totally an option (15-20 mins?) and a cab ride is less than 10 Euro. Not a lot going on in the immediate area, nor is it the most attractive area but... it was certainly nice and quiet. Good staff, too.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have access to executive lounge (water, snacks, tea, continental breakfast).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,745 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,314 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,158 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
2.1 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croke Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croke Park

Property: The Croke Park
Address: Jones's Road, Dublin D03 E5Y8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dublin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#3 Family Hotel in Dublin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#13 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Croke Park 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just ten minutes from Dublin city centre, seven kilometres from Dublin Airport and close to Dublin's shopping district, theatres, cinemas and entertainment, it is the people at The Croke Park Hotel who make it more than just an inviting place to stay. A close knit team with a love of special occasions and a passion for providing perfect service aim to make just being there a pleasure. The best 4-star bedroom of any hotels in Dublin; a warm, sociable bistro and bar where you never know who you'll see or meet; The Croke Park Hotel also sports a leisure centre, business centre and complimentary car parking. For anyone in town for a concert, Gaelic Football or Hurling match, it doesn't get better than a ticket to the game and a room at The Croke Park Hotel. Located across the road from Croke Park Stadium, the GAA sports' Mecca, The Croke Park Hotel is the preferred leisure and business hotel for GAA enthusiasts. Recent awards include "City Hotel of the Year" in the Gold Medal Industry Awards 2014, several awards at the Responsible Travel and Tourism Awards 2014 including the Water Management Improvement Award and the Packaging Waste Award. The hotel is close enough to allow easy access to Dublin City Centre and all of its attractions but also far enough away to guarantee a perfect, quiet nights' sleep away from the city revellers. The Croke Park Hotel has an excellent transport network, with several Dublin bus routes stopping nearby. These bus routes service both Dublin Airport and city centre attractions. There is also the touristic Hop-On Hop-Off bus which has a shuttle service stopping directly outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Croke Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croke Park Hotel
Croke Park Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing