We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location next to Stadium”
Review of The Croke Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Croke Park
Ranked #6 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2012

If you are going to Croke Park this place cannot be beaten for location. It is right outside the entrance of the Hogan stand. We went to a concert in Croke Park and were back having a drink at the bar 5 minutes after the concert ended.

It is a new Hotel and there are no issues with noise even after a concert. That was something that we were concerned about but it was great, we got a good night’s sleep. Rooms and bathrooms were nice and spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was good, with the exception of the black and white pudding, they were like mini circular bricks.

We ate in the restaurant at lunch and for an evening meal. It was good but not great. Typically of hotel food, the menu descriptions promised a lot but the actual meal was disappointing. An example is the seafood chowder at lunch – it looked nice and was described nicely but it was a bit gloopy, not rich and creamy as I would have expected.

Nice friendly staff and good service throughout.

They did ratchet up the price of the rooms on concert night but I suppose that is to be expected.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,366 - 3,372 of 4,608 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay at this hotel & we would definitely stay there again. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble, we had cause to report the sink plug being stuck which was sorted within our return. The room was cleaned, tea making replenished, bed changed & made each day, to the exact standard we found the room in when we first arrived. We also checked in early, which was no problem, reception staff were always friendly and helpful.

I have read reviews about the hotel not being sound proof but we didn't experience this at all - there was a concert in Croke Park, which is opposite, and we didn't hear a sound from our room, which was at the back of the hotel - a guest that was staying at the front of the hotel said the same, no noise at all.

The walk into the centre of Dublin is about 20 minutes, there are ample buses which cost about €1.40 and taxi about €10, so not a bad location at all. The room was very spacious and had all the usual you would expect from a 4 * hotel.

Although breakfast wasn't included in our room price, I would recommend the full Irish breakfast for about €15 it was really nice and served until 10.30am which is great for an early brunch. The food at the Sideline Bistro was excellent, what more can I say. Staff, quality of food served, standard of accommodation all excellent.

Thanks Croke Park for making our stay perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I stayed at the Croke Park last April. The hotel is easily accessible from Dublin Airport, as the shuttle bus drops you off just two blocks away; as many reviewers have noted, the property is right in front of the Croke Park Stadium, an iconic landmark by itself, although the area is certainly not the most convenient one for sightseeing; granted, there are plenty of public transport options, but if you prefer to walk you'll find that the city's main attractions are a 25-30 minute-stroll away.

We had booked a double and a triple room and upon check-in we were assigned two double rooms, which meant that some of us had to share a bed. Not a problem really, but I think the hotel should not advertise a triple room unless it is in the position of providing the guests with a real triple room, i.e. one that actually has three beds.

Other than that, the rooms are spacious, very clean and with adequate facilities. The beds are wide enough (thank goodness, as I was the one who had to share) and comfortable, and the bathrooms boast both a bath-tub and a shower. There is plenty of space to store your luggage as well. Can't really comment on TV and DVD facilities as we were completely exhausted by the time we reached our rooms.

Buffet breakfast is scrumptious, really, featuring both your typical Irish breakfast ingredients as well as fruit and several other options, so we all gorged on food prior to engaging on our daily activities.

Staff, both at the front desk as well as in the breakfast room, is very nice and helpful. Breakfast staff is quite international, and you can find Spanish, Portuguese or (I think) Chinese speakers there.

There is also a small gym, good enough for a workout or some stretching for those who, like myself, made good use of the city's running possibilities (most notably Phoenix Park)

So, a good, no frills, functional hotel, with nice staff. Prices are very competitive by Dublin standards, I guess the hotel's location has got something to do with that. Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liilak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I stayed at the Croke Park hotel on 20th June, to be at an event starting in the Croke Park conference centre at 8:30 next morning. This worked out very well for me, as the location was perfect and very convenient for the conference centre.
The reception staff were friendly and efficient, and I was impressed by the hot towel on arrival and the bottle of water on check-out. My room was large and comfortable, with everything I needed. The only minor complaint is that the shower head drooped when water was flowing, but everything else was fine. Having free and reliable wifi is also important to me, and I have no complaints here.
Breakfast was good, though the staff seemed more rushed. I would have liked a selection of fresh fruit.
I would certainly stay here again, for the conference centre, and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharonGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed for 2 nights (22 & 23 June 2012) as my wife wanted to see Westlife's final two concerts and I didn't want to walk into town for the night bus home afterwards!

There are good things and bad things about the hotel. The first good thing is the staff. We could not have faulted them and they were very friendly and accommodating, which they needed to be after our first night!

The Reception area is very welcoming and I do like large open areas when you get out of lifts - they had these on each floor.

The first bad thing affected our sleep on the first night. Our room, like many others, overlooked the outside bar area in the central courtyard. Initially this was not a problem as I assumed that the hotel's management would use common sense and close the outside bar at a sensible time and move patrons inside. This did not happen and it was necessary to phone down at 1am to ask staff to bring an end to the shouting and screaming from that area. To be fair, the staff reacted very quickly and did so. We were then kept awake but the constant hum of the ice making machine located down the corridor!

The rooms are most definitely NOT soundproofed, no matter what their web site might say!

The following morning we asked to spend the next night in a room which did not overlook the outside bar. Owing to a breakdown in communications, when we returned later we had been put into a different room...overlooking an outside bar! We were quickly moved to a room at the rear of the hotel overlooking the car park and given access to the Executive Lounge.

This was much better and we got a reasonable nights sleep. However, on the Sunday morning we heard a constant tapping sound which turned out to be someone digging holes in the tarmac at the rear with a hammer and chisel. I know it has to be done, but at 8am on a Sunday morning? We didn't complain as we were already up, but we know that others did.

The rooms are large and well appointed. The beds are comfy but I'm not sure a 4 tog duvet is enough for most people, especially when there did not appear to be spare blankets in either of the rooms we stayed in.

Overall, I felt the hotel would have represented fair value for money if both nights had been charged at their usual 139 euro and the price had included breakfast. However, because there were events at Croke Park the hotel chose (understandably it has to be said) to whack up their prices to 299 euro per night. Unfortunately, this shifted it most definitely into the poor value for money bracket. Luckily we had booked the first night at their normal rates before they were aware a 2nd concert had been arranged.

So, in conclusion, the staff were great but the hotel itself is just average. Increasing prices is normal when demand is likely to be high, so if you stay there when there isn't you should have a comfortable time. Shame breakfast is extra!

Room Tip: If you want to sleep at any time during your stay, insist on a room which does not overlook an outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We were touring Ireland & the UK with friends and had a very nice stay at the Croke Park Hotel. To our delight, both sets of rooms were upgraded to Superior King Size Rooms, which included a very nice continental breakfast as well. They were well appointed rooms , clean and comfortable with all the amenities including a seperate shower in the bathroom. The hotel is a little out of the city but if you want a quieter area then it is perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

i was in the hotel on friday 22nd + was not happy with the staff they were very rude with one member of staff shouting at us!other guests were shocked at this!its a lovely hotel but i would not be rushing back!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie17_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
2.0 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,108 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
4,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,418 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,980 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croke Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croke Park

Address: Jones's Road, Dublin D03 E5Y8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#3 Family Hotel in Dublin
#3 Business Hotel in Dublin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £86 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Croke Park 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just ten minutes from Dublin city centre, seven kilometres from Dublin Airport and close to Dublin's shopping district, theatres, cinemas and entertainment, it is the people at The Croke Park Hotel who make it more than just an inviting place to stay. A close knit team with a love of special occasions and a passion for providing perfect service aim to make just being there a pleasure. The best 4-star bedroom of any hotels in Dublin; a warm, sociable bistro and bar where you never know who you'll see or meet; The Croke Park Hotel also sports a leisure centre, business centre and complimentary car parking. For anyone in town for a concert, Gaelic Football or Hurling match, it doesn't get better than a ticket to the game and a room at The Croke Park Hotel. Located across the road from Croke Park Stadium, the GAA sports' Mecca, The Croke Park Hotel is the preferred leisure and business hotel for GAA enthusiasts. Recent awards include "City Hotel of the Year" in the Gold Medal Industry Awards 2014, several awards at the Responsible Travel and Tourism Awards 2014 including the Water Management Improvement Award and the Packaging Waste Award. The hotel is close enough to allow easy access to Dublin City Centre and all of its attractions but also far enough away to guarantee a perfect, quiet nights' sleep away from the city revellers. The Croke Park Hotel has an excellent transport network, with several Dublin bus routes stopping nearby. These bus routes service both Dublin Airport and city centre attractions. There is also the touristic Hop-On Hop-Off bus which has a shuttle service stopping directly outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Croke Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croke Park Hotel
Croke Park Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing