We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Croke Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Croke Park
Ranked #6 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
181 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Different area for location. But the place was really nice. Staff, rooms and food were great. Very easy to walk into downtown Dublin. Rooms were clean and there was a nice big tub to soak in after a long day of sightseeing.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,951
    1,071
    199
    28
    19
See reviews for
935
1,768
162
496
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is a well appointed hotel with large rooms, great service, great breakfast (extra) and a very good bang for the buck. However, if you're looking for a hotel that is convenient to downtown Dublin this might not be your place. It is situated in a semi-industrial area and it's about a 20 minute walk into the city.

My friend and I are both big travelers so we knew this going into it and it didn't bother us a bit. In fact, it was nice to have a long walk in the morning and after a night of drinking and eating.

Cautionary note: since this hotel is literally across from the huge Croke Park Stadium, I can imagine that the area is a bit of a madhouse during concerts and sporting events.

Overall our five night stay was great. The bathroom shower leaked water all over our bathroom floor every time we showered and it was fixed promptly. Plenty of closet space and the bed was very comfortable. I always forget to bring a face cloth with me when traveling to Europe so don't forget it as none of the hotels provide one.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here in May with my best friend for a girls weekend. Wow service from the staff second to none. Rooms beautiful with gorgeous comfy beds and a shower and bath. Food in the resterraunt fantastic the fillet steak was to die for and the apple crumble was evil and decadent. Would I recommend this hotel. HELL YEAH

Room Tip: No top tips just enjoy it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife & I stayed here for our 1st trip to Ireland at the end of June. I had researched the hotels & found the Croke Park Hotel as one of the top tripadvisor rated hotels in Dublin & booked our stay here as the rates were reasonable & the reviews were good. Check in was easy & we were able to get a room even though it was 12:30pm.
The hotel is modern & appears very well-kept.

We had a superior double bed room which appeared clean & in good condition. We were staying for 10 nights but had noticed that the fire alarm in the ceiling was making very random chirping noises during the night that made getting a good nights sleep difficult. Also the double bed was slightly uncomfortable due to lack of some support in the center. We were taking day trips each day & were coming home around 9:30pm for the 1st 3 nights. We reported the chirping alarm after the 2nd night & were able to move to a new room when we returned for the day on the 4th night - the front desk was friendly & assigned us a new room on the 2nd floor.

We were pleased to find a nice superior queen bed room that had a nice patio that we never ventured out to & the bed had much better support - we slept so well in that room. We had an issue with getting our complimentary water for all the nights after we switched rooms. We had complained to the front desk but for some reason, housekeeping would not stock our room with the water. It was a little bit of a hassle to call the front desk & ask them to send some water to our room each night after returning from our long days of sightseeing for the remainder of our stay. The staff lady who brought our waters was extremely nice & courteous - she was the same one sent to our room each night but always arrived with a friendly smile. The staff at the hotel was always friendly & appeared genuinely concerned with our well-being.

The business center is down in the lobby & easily accessible for surfing the internet, online bookings, & printing boarding passes.

The location of the hotel is a little way out from most tourist areas & may be on the edge of a rougher area. We were told by the cab drivers that it may not be ideal for walking around at night for safety reasons. We took cabs the 1st few nights but bought a leap card pass & used the bus system most of the rest of our trip. We would take a cab if we were in a hurry or if it was dark out but the sun set very late at this time & we still felt safe walking home from the Drumcondra bus stop around 9:30-10pm at night as there was still very good light out & quite a few people walking & cars driving on the walk back to the hotel. There was only one time when we walked home along the canal behind the stadium when it was getting dark that we felt we could have picked an unsafe route - avoid walking along the canal at night & you should be ok.

If you do visit the Croke Park stadium, please let them know that you are staying at the Croke Park hotel & you get a discount. The stadium is so close by & worth visiting. The entrance to the stadium is not the one directly in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: We did not get a room above the 3rd floor but I read that the 4th floor rooms have access to the exe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mr.tomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in early June 2014. The room was clean and spacious with everything worked in the bathroom! There is not much around, but the hotel is within 10 minutes walk to the city. The hop-on hop-off pick up bus stopped right in front of the hotel an took us to the city centre.

There is only one dining room and a bar which served nice, simple bar food which I enjoyed very much. The bar staff was very nice too.

As I was leaving at 7 am the next morning, I requested a wake-up call at 6 am. The call never came - luckily I was able to wake up myself. I made a promise to myself to always bring an alarm clock along for my future travels!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
291 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is by the Croke Park stadium, if that matters. We stayed here as part of a vacation package. We were surprised at how upscale and luxurious this hotel really was. The staff was very friendly and helpful at every turn. The room was exceptionally nice. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was simply amazing. There was plenty of room to relax, it was quiet, and we had everything we needed to start our tour or Ireland. Our package included a full Irish breakfast and that was also exceptional. It was a buffet breakfast, but included nearly anything I could dream of eating for breakfast. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the main part of Dublin and maybe 45 minute walk to the Guinness Storehouse.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shibumi365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

What a comfortable and cool hotel! My husband and 18-year-old son and I shared a room with two big double beds - a spacious room with a big bathroom. Everything is fresh and new feeling, and the room was quiet. The hotel is right across the street from the stadium, but there is nothing else close by. We are good walkers, so had no trouble walking the 20 minutes to get into the part of the city we wanted to visit. My only complaint is that I declined breakfast when we checked in - an hour later my husband and son said I should have said yes to breakfast, so I popped back down to the front desk only to be told that the price I was offered at check-in was no longer available and breakfast would now cost 4 pounds per person more. This is a bit ridiculous. But otherwise I had no complaints - the staff were kind and helpful (other than the breakfast thing), and the hotel was a great price for a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TryAlphaAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,571 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,176 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,732 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
2.1 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croke Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croke Park

Property: The Croke Park
Address: Jones's Road, Dublin D03 E5Y8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#3 Business Hotel in Dublin
#3 Family Hotel in Dublin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#13 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Croke Park 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just ten minutes from Dublin city centre, seven kilometres from Dublin Airport and close to Dublin's shopping district, theatres, cinemas and entertainment, it is the people at The Croke Park Hotel who make it more than just an inviting place to stay. A close knit team with a love of special occasions and a passion for providing perfect service aim to make just being there a pleasure. The best 4-star bedroom of any hotels in Dublin; a warm, sociable bistro and bar where you never know who you'll see or meet; The Croke Park Hotel also sports a leisure centre, business centre and complimentary car parking. For anyone in town for a concert, Gaelic Football or Hurling match, it doesn't get better than a ticket to the game and a room at The Croke Park Hotel. Located across the road from Croke Park Stadium, the GAA sports' Mecca, The Croke Park Hotel is the preferred leisure and business hotel for GAA enthusiasts. Recent awards include "City Hotel of the Year" in the Gold Medal Industry Awards 2014, several awards at the Responsible Travel and Tourism Awards 2014 including the Water Management Improvement Award and the Packaging Waste Award. The hotel is close enough to allow easy access to Dublin City Centre and all of its attractions but also far enough away to guarantee a perfect, quiet nights' sleep away from the city revellers. The Croke Park Hotel has an excellent transport network, with several Dublin bus routes stopping nearby. These bus routes service both Dublin Airport and city centre attractions. There is also the touristic Hop-On Hop-Off bus which has a shuttle service stopping directly outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Croke Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croke Park Hotel
Croke Park Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing