We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Modern hotel. ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Croke Park

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Croke Park
Ranked #6 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
baytownbear
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location. Modern hotel. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This was the base for our Dublin visit. The location is about two miles from the historic area. It's clean and modern, much like a good Courtyard. Free parking was a big deal to us. The staff was helpful on tourist advice. We had a passable breakfast in the restaurant.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank baytownbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,958
    1,072
    199
    28
    19
See reviews for
937
1,770
163
498
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

As you know, the Professor always likes a bargain, but never at the expense of his creature comfort. The Croke Park delivers on all fronts. A really slick hotel with extremely well-appointed rooms--big tub, soft robes and slippers, and a bed that's hard to get out of. For all those whinging about the location, really? If you want to be in Disneyland, go to Disneyland. Please. It's called a neighborhood. Enjoy it. Don't be a buffoon. If you enjoy a local experience, make a left out of the hotel and imbibe in the local flavor; if you prefer your stay sanitized, make a right and head unscathed--yes, unscathed, people--to the Temple Bar area and buy your snow globes. Croke Park is an excellent hotel with fantastic prices in a location close to the city center. 'Nuf said.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank professorfrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walpole
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

The front desk was very friendly. Breakfast was delicious. The rooms were spotless & good size for a family of four. The location is perfect - right inside the city. If we ever go back, this is the only hotel we will stay at. In the heart of Dublin, but not directly in the hustle & bustle. Quieter area, very clean. Highly recommend for anyone wishing to visit Dublin. Very secure as they have added security which made us even more comfortable. The hop on hop off bus picks you up right at the hotel, recommend doing this is it's your first time there. Also, you can buy those tickets at the hotel for a discounted price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in the croke park hotel on several occasions, the staff and facilities in the hotel are excellent. Complimentary drink in the evening and bottles of water when we left are nice touches that guests remember.

Rooms spotlessly clean. Food excellent.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank davy_w1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Toured Southern Ireland 21-28 July 2014 (with 3 days in Oldcastle Co.Meath for business, 4 days touring). This review is part of that tour; where we ate, visited & stayed.

This hotel is very good and very resonably priced. It is opposite Croke Park Stadium so was fully packed out prior to our tour so we just booked our hotels as we toured. Glad we did do that because a singer called Gareth Crookes or Brookes cancelled his tour and most people then cancelled there bookings and left the hotel empty!!! We booked night before getting into Dublin and got a free upgrade to EXECUTIVE status. This included access to floor 4 where the executive lounge was and where the breakfast was. The breakfast was continental and the fridges were full of milk, orange juice, and water which you had access to 24hours.

This was a bonus and a great way to start the stay. Check in was very quick and painless, the room was clean and modern with a seperate bath and shower.

Overall the bar area and hotel were very clean and light and airy.

We wanted to do the hop-on-hop off bus tour so asked what stop we could catch it from. Luckily the hotel does a shuttle service which takes you to O'Connell Street (start of tour) for free as long as you have a ticket. It goes every 30minutes into town until about 3pm. The ticket last for 2 consecutive days for when when first activated on the machines on the bus. We only needed it for 1day so gave our ticket away to another couple to use for the last day. The tickets can be brought from the hotel for €18 each for an adult (I think!) and can be charged to your room.

Someone has mentioned that the walk into town is not pleasant, and I know what they mean. You basically have to walk for about 15minutes through the local area, past chicken shops with local youths standing around and council estates and quite(ish) streets before you see the tourist area. Coming from London I would not want to be an outsider walking the local streets. Me and the girlfriend ahd no issues walking into town whilst early and light (5pmish) but would not walk back to hotel in the evening/dark. I would recommend all to get a cab back to the hotel in the evening from O'Connell Street and it costs €9 per cab. YOUR CHOICE.

Anyway we did a few bars and restaurants in Dublin and can say it was very enjoyable.

The staff got our final bill wrong and charged us a rate which was too hiogh even though the upgrade was free and complimentary. We queried this and it was rectified immediatly and without hoo-har.

On our return to England my girlfriend got a 'tell us about your stay' email and she put on there about the bill and the staff member asked if she could call my girlfriend. The girlfriend asaid yes and she got a call from the staff member (sorry cannot ask girlfriend who it was at time of typing this) apologising again for the mistake.

Now every business makes mistakes now and then and they are the norm......it is how they are dealt with that is the defining thing that seperates hotels. This is excellent customer service and we will be returning to this hotel beginning of next year when we return to Dublin.

So, in summary, excellent hotel decor, excellent service, executive upgrade a nice touch, bit of a poor area to walk through to get into town (easily rectified with a cheap taxi for safety) and I am sure this hotel will rise up the TA table if it continues in this fashion.

You will not be disappointed staying here...and thanks to Garth Brookes for cancelling his concert!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to Executive if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1BALOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

A truly fantastic hotel in Dublin, very reasonably priced and close to O'Connell street (10 min walk), staff are great and will go out of their way to meet your needs, rooms are clean and we'll kept and breakfast is fantastic. This is one of my favourite hotels in Dublin and will definitely be back. It is also a great choice if going to the rugby or a concert at the Croke Park.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

This is the second time that we have stayed in this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed the experience on both occasions. It I'd clean, spacious with great service. Executive lounge is a real bonus, great place to have coffee and read the paper. Only downside is location as it is not on A bus route and it is not located in the best of areas.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buatais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,586 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,183 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,742 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
2.1 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croke Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croke Park

Property: The Croke Park
Address: Jones's Road, Dublin D03 E5Y8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dublin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#3 Family Hotel in Dublin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#15 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Croke Park 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just ten minutes from Dublin city centre, seven kilometres from Dublin Airport and close to Dublin's shopping district, theatres, cinemas and entertainment, it is the people at The Croke Park Hotel who make it more than just an inviting place to stay. A close knit team with a love of special occasions and a passion for providing perfect service aim to make just being there a pleasure. The best 4-star bedroom of any hotels in Dublin; a warm, sociable bistro and bar where you never know who you'll see or meet; The Croke Park Hotel also sports a leisure centre, business centre and complimentary car parking. For anyone in town for a concert, Gaelic Football or Hurling match, it doesn't get better than a ticket to the game and a room at The Croke Park Hotel. Located across the road from Croke Park Stadium, the GAA sports' Mecca, The Croke Park Hotel is the preferred leisure and business hotel for GAA enthusiasts. Recent awards include "City Hotel of the Year" in the Gold Medal Industry Awards 2014, several awards at the Responsible Travel and Tourism Awards 2014 including the Water Management Improvement Award and the Packaging Waste Award. The hotel is close enough to allow easy access to Dublin City Centre and all of its attractions but also far enough away to guarantee a perfect, quiet nights' sleep away from the city revellers. The Croke Park Hotel has an excellent transport network, with several Dublin bus routes stopping nearby. These bus routes service both Dublin Airport and city centre attractions. There is also the touristic Hop-On Hop-Off bus which has a shuttle service stopping directly outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Doyle Collection, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The Croke Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croke Park Hotel
Croke Park Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing