We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel........................and if you are a GAA fan it's the nearest thing to heaven”
Review of The Croke Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Croke Park
Ranked #5 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great hotel........................and if you are a GAA fan it's the nearest thing to heaven”
Reviewed 18 February 2009

Stayed for the weekend of the AIB All Ireland Club Championships in February and cannot recommend this hotel enough. Everything about it was just great. It's promixity to Croke Park is ideal. Checki n was fast and efficient. We upgraded to an executive room and it was just superb.

I have stayed in other Four Star Hotels and they could learn a lot from this hotel. Service is excellent. The reception staff are very helpful and don't treat you as a nuisance.

All in all a great experience

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueeyegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,123
    1,129
    204
    29
    20
See reviews for
997
1,867
167
531
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2009

Booked this hotel for a six nations match and it was the perfect choice. Room was clean and spacious. We had dinner in the restaurant which was very good and breakfast was good too.

Hotel staff were extremely helpful, we appreciated the complimentary bottle of water at check out. The 15 min walk to town is pleasant. Taxi from the airport cost less than 20 EUR.

  • Liked — Welcoming
  • Disliked — Distance to the city
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Raphlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2008

We were in Dublin for an Ireland rugby match at Croke Park, and so was pleased to be able to book this hotel for the night of the match.

The quality and cleanliness of the bedroom was excellent.

We had a meal in the evening and the food is of a high quality but overpriced, but perhaps the hotel can get away with this since it is a 15/20 minuted walk into Dublin centre. Breakfast was included and once again it was very good.

There is a car park which is free to guests - get the reception to validate your parking ticket prior to leaving.

I would certainly recommend the hotel if you are attending a game or concert in Croke Park, but do allow for the volume of people in the bar and lobby as a result.

All in all this is a quality hotel.

  • Liked — quality of bedrooms
  • Disliked — prices in the restaurant
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hcarson58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2008

The weekend was to celebrate our birthdays which fall 27 & 29 September. We contacted the hotel to arrange flowers, birthday banners and balloons etc in the room. They were very helpful with regard to this. On arrival we were pleasantly suprised to find they had upgraded us to an executive room and the room was decorated as requested and the flowers were beautiful. Breakfast was excellent and plenty of choice and service was excellent. Although not central it was only a ten minute walk into the city centre. Can also recommend the open top bus tour and the tour of Croke Park, the guide was very knowledgeable and enthuiastic. All in all it was a brilliant weekend and would not hesitate to recomend this hotel and we would certainly stay there again. One point to note Dublin is very expensive to eat and drink out.

  • Liked — Helpfulness of the staff.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ustwo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2008

Yes, the hotel itself is great, especially for the price. But the area is not great unless you're up to see a match in Croke Park stadium which is opposite. It's not pretty, it feels dodgy and it's a fair walk into the centre. If it's Dublin city centre you're after then there are much better hotel choices I think, particularly the Best Western Accademy Plaza, Jurys Inn Parnell Street or the Maldron Parnell.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2008

Having just returned from my first visit to Dublin I have to let you know about the Jurys Croke Park Hotel. Situated about 10 mins walk from the hustle and bustle of the city, the hotel can be reached by the no. 41 or 16 bus for about €2 or a taxi for approx €20! You have to get off at Quinns Pub and then walk for about 5mins.....it was very cold and just starting to rain but saving 2 pints of Guinness was worth it!!

On arrival at reception we were greeted with a very nice receptionist, check in was swift and we were even given hot towels to freshen our hands! (nice touch!)

The room was very pleasant and looked out over the front of the hotel...facing Croke Park...not a very pleasant view as it is predominantly concrete! However the room and facilities were 1st class. The bed was amazing! Fantastic nights sleep....infact all 4 of them were! There is tea and coffee making facilities, a mini fridge (very expensive! and items will be charged to your room even if you pick them up and then replace them!), the bathroom has underfloor heating and a full size shower. The toiletries are lovely! (extra 3 kilos in my suitcase on the return journey!!)

We'd upgraded to an executive room giving robes and slippers, turndown service with complimentary choccies and a lavender 'hottie' bottle! This upgrade included complimentary breakfast in the executive lounge with tea, coffee and fruit juice being available all day. My only resevation about the exec longe was that it was used every day by aircrew and did get rather busy at certain times - often running out of pastries and simple things such as cutlery! However, as this was my 1st time in Dublin, the experience was extremely pleasant and I would certainly visit this hotel again. The staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.

Some must do's:

Tour of Croke Park - fascinating insite to the GAA and the ground is amazing, hard to believe that its an ameture set up! (discount given if you let them know that you are at the hotel!)

Jamiesons Distillery - volunteer to do the whiskey tasting at the end of the tour!

Guinness Brewery - best pint and the views of the city are superb!

City Bus Tour - count how many times they say Medieval and Georgian!

Citi Bar - fantastic Irish Stew and Guinness Bread!

Take lots of euros though! I can't remember when I've had to pay so much for a pint and food (even if you're getting a snack) is expensive! But the hospitality is brilliant and even the taxi drivers are very helpful.

One place that I will definately be visiting again - but when the weather warms up!!

  • Liked — The bed!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bettyswolocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2008

Excellent hotel, only problem we had was checking in - for some reason after booking through laterooms.com the hotel did not have a reservation for us, but easily sorted and we were relaxing in our executive room within 20 mts.

Bedrooms are large and airy and curtains are fab as they block out every ounce of light - the beds are huge! and the bathroom is fantasticly clean!

The fluffy dressing gowns were not that fluffy but that did not spoil our stay. The hotel bar is very reasonably priced indeed, and if you have an executive room then complimentary continental breakfast is served in the executive lounge, where you can have as little or as much as you wish.

The hotel is only a 20 mt walk or so to the town centre so not too far at all but a taxi back at night only costs around 9/10 Euros.

Neil and Kairen
Bradford
West Yorkshire
England

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KAZDAZ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,899 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.3 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4,436 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#34 of 151 in Dublin
1,892 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croke Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croke Park

Property: The Croke Park
Address: Jones's Road, Dublin D03 E5Y8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dublin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#3 Family Hotel in Dublin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Croke Park 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just ten minutes from Dublin city centre, seven kilometres from Dublin Airport and close to Dublin's shopping district, theatres, cinemas and entertainment, it is the people at The Croke Park Hotel who make it more than just an inviting place to stay. A close knit team with a love of special occasions and a passion for providing perfect service aim to make just being there a pleasure. The best 4-star bedroom of any hotels in Dublin; a warm, sociable bistro and bar where you never know who you'll see or meet; The Croke Park Hotel also sports a leisure centre, business centre and complimentary car parking. For anyone in town for a concert, Gaelic Football or Hurling match, it doesn't get better than a ticket to the game and a room at The Croke Park Hotel. Located across the road from Croke Park Stadium, the GAA sports' Mecca, The Croke Park Hotel is the preferred leisure and business hotel for GAA enthusiasts. Recent awards include "City Hotel of the Year" in the Gold Medal Industry Awards 2014, several awards at the Responsible Travel and Tourism Awards 2014 including the Water Management Improvement Award and the Packaging Waste Award. The hotel is close enough to allow easy access to Dublin City Centre and all of its attractions but also far enough away to guarantee a perfect, quiet nights' sleep away from the city revellers. The Croke Park Hotel has an excellent transport network, with several Dublin bus routes stopping nearby. These bus routes service both Dublin Airport and city centre attractions. There is also the touristic Hop-On Hop-Off bus which has a shuttle service stopping directly outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Doyle Collection, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Croke Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croke Park Hotel
Croke Park Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing