We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in a beautiful hotel!!”
Review of The Croke Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Croke Park
Ranked #5 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed in the hotel for the gaa semi final for one night. We got checked in and the room was lovely. The hotel itself and the rooms are spotless and very well laid out!robes and slippers were laid out on the bed for us on arrival along with chocolates on the bed which was a nice touch. Also the hotel has the gaelic theme running throughout with many pictures of past matches and player profiles and portraits running throughout which was interesting. The hotel was very busy match day but a great atmosphere!the only downside was that there were security at the front door of the hotel and although i stated we were stayin in the hotel and wanted up to our rooms we were told we had to go around the back through the bar to get in to the lounge to get to our rooms which is pretty silly considering the bar was packed!we had a very peaceful nights sleep and never heard any noise from the bar or passing trains whatsoever!we went down for breakfast the next morning which was tasty, however there were a few issues. Firstly there were no bowls for fruit or cereal i asked one of the staff whose reply was a grunt. Another guest then told me they'd asked for bowls ten minutes ago so we waited and waited and waited.Fianlly they came out, however they were roasting so cereal out ofn a roasting bowl wasn't very appealing.Next they ran out of milk, mushrooms, bacon etc maybe better management is needed. The staff are mixed (irish and eastern european) the language barrier is a problem as when one of our party asked if there were any more danish pastries (they'd ran out again) we were told no by a very unfriendly man whose english wasn't good, only two seconds later for an irish staff member to bring out a huge bowl of pastries!The food itself was lovely very tasty and good selection. All in all a beautiful, clean hotel in a great location with great food great and great location-only thing that let it down was ignorant and unhelpful eastern european workers. Tip employ more irish workers as those working in the hotel were very friendly and helpful and the fact they could communicate unlike the others was a plus.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cc25N_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,046 - 4,052 of 4,764 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2010

I stayed under the Travel Zoo special. The rate was great! The hotel caters to tour bus business and budget travelers, neither of which is normally me! The lobby area is very loud and busy with all of the bus travelers and families with children.

Michael at the reception desk in the afternoons and evenings is quite the nice person. He is extremely helpful. It is clear he truly cares guests are happy.

The staff in the lounge is excellent. They are just a bunch of nice, young men who help each other with each table to be sure all food is delivered immediately and nobody has an empty glass. They are a pleasure!

The breakfast buffet is not so good. The food, marginal. The restaurant staff, excellent.

Housekeeping finishes at noon. Each day I found a note under my door stating they could not service my room because I had the "do not disturb" sign out. I think noon is quite early for a hotel to stop servicing rooms when guests with jet lag may like to sleep a little later!

The location is UGLY! The stadium is right across the street. The neighborhood not pretty either. From the lounge it is possible to see a building with razor wire and bars on it. Not exactly where I would like to stay under normal circumstances. There must have been problems at some point because the hotel is full of security cameras and a card key is needed to get the elevator to work.

Concierge I would say is what I would expect at a Motel 6, but in fairness, Dublin just lacks good tourist services. The concierge recommended the "Hop on Hop off" bus for a city tour. It moves like a snail and takes 15 minutes to go between very close stops because so many people are constantly getting on and off. Not a good tour at all!

Executive lounge is open around the clock for use of coffee machine and juice. That is a nice feature. Not very well stocked, but nice to have.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler_200950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We got a great deal on this hotel through Travelzoo - it included upgraded room, champagne on arrival, a drink for both of us on each of the 2 nights,full breakfast each day and dinner on one evening. The hotel is new and modern with very well appointed rooms and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfastsand dinner were superb. Parking is free which is almost unheard of in Dublin! The location is opposite the Croke Park GAA stadium which is in a rather unprepossessing street. However don't be put off by this as the beauty of it is that it is only 10 mins walk to O'Connell St. Also there is a very good wine bar just along the street which we ate in on one night. I would definitely go again and recommend this to any tourist of any age

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fotrestsidelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

we spent two nights at the Croke Park as part of the travelzoo offer. For the money it was great value and it was close enough to town -15 minute walk to O'connell street, 25 minute walk to Temple Bar (we paid 12 euro for a taxi to temple bar after a long day walking!).
The only downside was that our dinner reservation had not been processed but this was quickly rectified with minimum of fuss.
A definite plus point with the upgrade to a deluxe room was the access to the executive lounge- was great to have breakfast there (though only continental which was fine for us) and to have access to an outdoor space without having to go downstairs. The late checkout was very much appreciated after spending a night sampling the irish hospitality!
Dublin itself was great but if we went again we would stay closer to the temple bar area - there was very little, other than the stadium, in the hotel area.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, public areas were clean and stylish. overall a pleasant stay at a great price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honey43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Came to Dublin on business and also in order to spend some time with my elderly mother.

Ticked all the boxes for business purposes with free broadband in room and quiet locations throughout the hotel, a business centre for conf calls and an area to print out documentation if needed.

Where the hotel shone was in the genuine feeling you get that they want to help out as much as possible. My elderly mum was very happy to stay in the hotel all day and we all enjoyed their fantastic breakfast. Both bar and restaurant meals very high quality with a reasonable price tag. Attentiveness of staff great.

Checkin and checkout very good and efficient, with the huge bonus of a very respectable room rate without all the added "extras" which I have fallen victim to in other hotels.

Would thoroughly recommend and look forward to my next stay.

Thanks to Erica and all the team for their efforts in accommodating us and allowing for some great family time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickmartin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We spent the last two nights of our holiday here and had a fantastic time. There was a big match on the day we arrived so the hotel was very very busy. This is something to consider if you have small children. The staff however coped well and we were served at the bar in no time at all. Rooms were spotless, just a little small when you have a double bed and two singles. We would def go back and hope that there are somemore special offers.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bakersurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights with partner. The hotel is lovely and very comfortable with a good mix of business and leisure guests. The rooms are a good size, clean and very modern. On the whole we were pleased with the hotel and staff.
The hotel is about a 15 - 25 minute walk to the city centre but we knew that when we booked it. The reason we chose the hotel was because we had the car and it was able to garuntee parking. Drinks were quite pricey but this is the norm for Dublin. Breakfast had a great choice but felt really hectic, as if there wasn't enough staff on or they were not that well organised but when you did get served they were very polite. Loved the complimentary bottles of water we were given as we checked out, it was a really nice touch especially as we were driving back up to Belfast to get the ferry home.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisoneScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,299 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 152 in Dublin
4,778 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 152 in Dublin
3,706 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.8 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#38 of 152 in Dublin
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croke Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croke Park

Address: Jones's Road, Dublin D03 E5Y8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#3 Business Hotel in Dublin
#3 Family Hotel in Dublin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#15 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £97 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Croke Park 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just ten minutes from Dublin city centre, seven kilometres from Dublin Airport and close to Dublin's shopping district, theatres, cinemas and entertainment, it is the people at The Croke Park Hotel who make it more than just an inviting place to stay. A close knit team with a love of special occasions and a passion for providing perfect service aim to make just being there a pleasure. The best 4-star bedroom of any hotels in Dublin; a warm, sociable bistro and bar where you never know who you'll see or meet; The Croke Park Hotel also sports a leisure centre, business centre and complimentary car parking. For anyone in town for a concert, Gaelic Football or Hurling match, it doesn't get better than a ticket to the game and a room at The Croke Park Hotel. Located across the road from Croke Park Stadium, the GAA sports' Mecca, The Croke Park Hotel is the preferred leisure and business hotel for GAA enthusiasts. Recent awards include "City Hotel of the Year" in the Gold Medal Industry Awards 2014, several awards at the Responsible Travel and Tourism Awards 2014 including the Water Management Improvement Award and the Packaging Waste Award. The hotel is close enough to allow easy access to Dublin City Centre and all of its attractions but also far enough away to guarantee a perfect, quiet nights' sleep away from the city revellers. The Croke Park Hotel has an excellent transport network, with several Dublin bus routes stopping nearby. These bus routes service both Dublin Airport and city centre attractions. There is also the touristic Hop-On Hop-Off bus which has a shuttle service stopping directly outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Doyle Collection, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Croke Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croke Park Hotel
Croke Park Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing